Nelson and Julius: who was greater?
#61 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2015 3:51:42 PM

Muriel wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
My last on this (promise).

I like the point that Mandela was a media created hero, like Mugabe and partly Nyerere were medial created villains. That could be so. But I think it is only part of the story. The media often latches on to something only when there is a groundswell of mass alignment, and that often only for a time. Otherwise old Jomo, Kimathi and the young Mandela would have died as villains.

There is a saying that 'Language is merely a dialect with an army.' Similarly effective media is a Newspaper or TV station with a powerful economy behind it. The media writes history but only from the perspective of those who win.

You promised.

oops you got me.

I am banishing myself to a corner right now to think in silence on what I have done. smile

I am just being a kill joy. I tried to kill this thing early but it seems its on an unstoppable roll.

You are forgiven. Go on. Duty calls.

Let the dance go on pls...really enjoying
Wakanyugi
#62 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 9:17:38 AM

Here is one more spin (thank you teacher Muriel).

@Lolest has told us that greatness acquired the easy way is greater than that acquired the hard way.

Let me turn this around and oversimplify.

Somebody makes your life hard, you react by doing or becoming way more that you could ever have imagined.

On the other hand the fellow who never had it rough goes through life without realizing his/her true potential (unless he is like Nyerere).

Who should we be thanking?

Those who pave our life paths with rocks or with cabro?
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#63 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 9:22:14 AM

#64 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 10:55:30 AM

@Much know, it's true that 'Irrimu(ghost)' has been highly problematic and especially in our country.

However, being a linguistic expression, it doesn't express something that existed but is metaphor of a desire for a certain political experience. It's on that account that I think 'Real' is too strong a word.

As you've mentioned, the range of political organization across Africa was wide, and even inter and cross cultural order was managed different from the global and international order that came with the colonialists. That context itself gave way to plenty of distortion and exaggeration. For example even now ideas like 'willing buyer, willing seller' are sources of contention with the state apparently championing for it despite resistance from some quarters.

We need to be aware of these facts indeed if we are to create a political "fakeness" that's optimally adaptive.

Tycho, there is no future, past or present participle or "African Socialism".

Question) Please point to an African Country that practice/s African socialism
a) In the past
b) In the present
c) In the future

Fake Kabisa. Fake is NOT too strong a word. Just because our ancestors spoke of "Irrimu" and "Irrimuland" does not mean our leaders were lead by "Irrimu" as mzungu claimed, and as they in turn spoke of "African Socialism"/Irrimuland, let us not talk of irrimu in a place called "serious talk"Pray

I think you're creating a straw man. Otherwise why should I answer questions that can't arise from argument?

'African socialism' is an idea. And all ideas are abstract but real. They influence behavior and cause effects.

You're free to use words like 'fake'. It tells us how you feel about the idea.

Perhaps I should also remind us that democracy and capitalism are also abstract ideas. They don't exist.
#65 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 11:08:26 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:

@Lolest has told us that greatness acquired the easy way is greater than that acquired the hard way.

Somebody makes your life hard, you react by doing or becoming way more that you could ever have imagined.

On the other hand the fellow who never had it rough goes through life without realizing his/her true potential (unless he is like Nyerere).

The argument that we can tell how someone else's experience is hard or soft is probably false. How can we tell? By analogy? Like, 'it would be very hard for me to go to prison, y went to prison. Therefore, it was very hard for him'. I see defects with this kind of logic.

#66 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 11:08:51 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:

No he didnt
Muriel
#67 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 12:31:24 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

The argument that we can tell how someone else's experience is hard or soft is probably false. How can we tell? By analogy? Like, 'it would be very hard for me to go to prison, y went to prison. Therefore, it was very hard for him'. I see defects with this kind of logic.

Laugh

Laugh

Laugh
Wakanyugi
#68 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 2:36:09 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Tycho. It is all comparative but even then...Let us use the current cases.

Many people would agree that spending years on the run, going into exile, months on the dock facing possible death, 27 years in Robben Island etc that is tough.

This was Mandelas life path.

Nyerere encountered and overcame many challenges too. But compared to Mandela, his life path was a cakewalk.

Now let me personalize this a bit:

I have never been to jail or on death row. But I have faced my share of challenges and happy times, same as everyone else.

My point is: we grow more from the challenging moments (however defined) than from the easy ones. Yet I curse almost every person who ever made life hell in the past. Shouldn't I be thanking them instead?

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi
#69 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2015 2:39:23 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

No he didnt

And there goes my well crafted thesis.

Do you realize how hard it is to try and look smart and impress the ladies?

You have let me down very badly