wazua Fri, Apr 17, 2026

4 Pages«<234
Equity Bank Cheapskate Antics
Nimerudi
#31 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 6:43:45 PM

I wouldn't bother to compare Equity services to local mid-tier banks like Chase, much less abroad. These guys are becoming increasingly incompetent and bureacratic.

Take this example, I want an issue with my internet banking solved. I thus contact them via social media (which should be the fastest way to reach them) and they inform me to shoot them an email. Haya, wacha nitume email. They take two weeks to reply and tell me to go to my nearest branch. I get there, I'm told to go to my registered branch, as there's nothing much they can do. So I move to where I opened the account. Once there, they require a photocopy of my ID once again. I am then forced to go to the kiosk next do to get these papers.

Surely, did we not provide these documents when opening the accounts? My experience at other banks gives a very different story.

I am charged not less than 5,000 bob each month in Paypal and Forex fees. I would definitely want better service!Sad

If it wasn't for this company's monopoly on Paypal transfers to Kenya... d'oh!
watesh
#32 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 7:24:33 PM

Nimerudi wrote:
I wouldn't bother to compare Equity services to local mid-tier banks like Chase, much less abroad. These guys are becoming increasingly incompetent and bureacratic.

Take this example, I want an issue with my internet banking solved. I thus contact them via social media (which should be the fastest way to reach them) and they inform me to shoot them an email. Haya, wacha nitume email. They take two weeks to reply and tell me to go to my nearest branch. I get there, I'm told to go to my registered branch, as there's nothing much they can do. So I move to where I opened the account. Once there, they require a photocopy of my ID once again. I am then forced to go to the kiosk next do to get these papers.

Surely, did we not provide these documents when opening the accounts? My experience at other banks gives a very different story.

I am charged not less than 5,000 bob each month in Paypal and Forex fees. I would definitely want better service!Sad

The only reason am with Equity is paypal...they lack ATMs in major malls. Anyway at least we can have multiple bank accounts
#33 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 7:25:25 PM

Nimerudi wrote:

The shareholders in wazua would rather blame the client

One day the masses will realise eqty is not as mwananchi as they claim to be
DtheK
#34 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 7:59:27 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Equity has too many charges. If your account is inactive for 6 months, you will have to photocpoy your documents again and pay reactivation fees

Inactive means you are not withdrawing or paying anyone from that account. Deposits are not sufficient!

Why have an acc that you don't transact for 6 months?? You surely dont require it,funga......Money has to be in circulation...kuweka idle for over 6 months you need be penalised.

Kuweka pesa bila kutowa. Kwani wewe ni pharmacist. Banks need to have your account to be active to charge commissions in order to earn for maintaining your accounts. Dormant accounts are expensive to banks.

Really? I would like to know these expenses because I think a dormant account is just an entry in a database.And even if this was the case shouldn't the bank seek to find out more about you then make or inform you about products that make money for them and are beneficial to you also? Nauliza tu.
kanyimwa
#35 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 8:20:28 PM

I have Equity, KCB and Coop. Equity tops the other two in service. Secret is to avoid CBD branches wherever possible.
#36 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 10:58:38 PM

DtheK wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Equity has too many charges. If your account is inactive for 6 months, you will have to photocpoy your documents again and pay reactivation fees

Inactive means you are not withdrawing or paying anyone from that account. Deposits are not sufficient!

Why have an acc that you don't transact for 6 months?? You surely dont require it,funga......Money has to be in circulation...kuweka idle for over 6 months you need be penalised.

Kuweka pesa bila kutowa. Kwani wewe ni pharmacist. Banks need to have your account to be active to charge commissions in order to earn for maintaining your accounts. Dormant accounts are expensive to banks.

Really? I would like to know these expenses because I think a dormant account is just an entry in a database.And even if this was the case shouldn't the bank seek to find out more about you then make or inform you about products that make money for them and are beneficial to you also? Nauliza tu.

Its expensive because the bank makes money via transactions, the database entry has to be maintained thus the expense.
Mkimwa
#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 24, 2015 10:49:11 AM

DtheK wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

Its expensive because the bank makes money via transactions, the database entry has to be maintained thus the expense.

How is maintaining a database entry expensive? Really? In any case, if the dormant account has deposits, thats the cheapest form of funds for lending, as the bank will not pay any interest on it. The bank should use that opportunity to see how it can offer more value to the dormant customers and convert them back to active customers, rather than charging a ridiculous amount, and demanding all those funny documentation.

I remember the start of the revolution with Equity was that you just needed to show up with an ID, and walk out with a bank account. No need for 3 passport size photos, no recommendation from chief, wife, neighbour and all that stuff, no bills for elec/water or lease agreements, no minimum deposits of 50K, e.t.c. They simplified banking, and they need to continue doing so. Not sending people to Maua to ammend a small thing while they have long transferred to Mombasa. Branchless banking. They pushed it, they shouldnt retrogress. or have they learnt a few lessons along the way?

The bank needs to listen to its customers. The common man will once wake up and realize there are many options out there. It doesn't help that the other mass market banks (KCB, CooP) are living in the same age as Equity - though i think KCB has really styled up, especially with their online platform and mobile banking platforms.
4 Pages«<234