5 Pages«<2345>
Equity Bank FY 2014 results profit after tax 29%
#61 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 9:06:03 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
jwatesh wrote:
Just bought a huge bulk of equity stock at 52 at market open, I dont think we will be seeing that price ever again

equity will still trade at 47 range bwana

having gone ex-div next week is a tough week for equity, iam watching for the above prophecy going forward.

The prophesy is okay! we won't be seeing 52 soon. He didn't specify. whether we shall see a higher or lower figure. We surely don't know what we shall see.

you can read the mind of this man,you can't buy a share in bulk anticipating a price fall.
#62 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 5:55:17 PM

47.50 is how low it came before up turn
watesh
#63 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 11:46:24 AM

Member has decided to do a meg a expansion!!!!! DRC,Somalia,Ethiopia here we come!!!!
http://www.businessdaily.../0/-/mkagc1/-/index.html
#64 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 12:03:19 PM

mlennyma wrote:
I thought banks hav reached growth pick but seems the sky will be the limit.

WOLOLO!

Yaani this Tier 1 banks are still making double digit profits growth???? And the way i had written them off!

Mid-tier banks must make us much more! Lets just hope so!

There is one thing that wazuans get wrong and they repeat over and over without being challenged. The assumption that some companies (And especially Banks in the case of Wazuans) have reached maturity level. Just the other day I saw someone being advised to avoid Equity and KCB because "...they have reached maturity and there is little growth/upward movement (something like that)...".

Nothing can be further from the truth!!! If you want to know if a company has reached maturity, ask yourself (or the people managing the company), where (according to long term plans) was the company headed? Has it reached there? If so, what is the next plan (in terms of growth). If not, how far of are they??

For Equity bank, the long term plan is to become a Pan African bank. James Mwangi will tell you this any day of the week free of charge!!! How much of Africa has Equity Bank covered? Less than 5%!!! You get my drift??? The journey has just began. We have 95% of the journey to cover.

As people are busy saying "Tanzanians will always be hostile to Kenyan business", "It will be impossible for a Kenya bank to compete in Nigeria", "The South African financial system is too developed and mature bla bla bla", the companies are busy growing!!!

If Equity and other companies are serious about their "Afican Agenda", they can grow at the current rates (or even more) for decades - not years!!

Multinationals - Like Barclays Bank - Don't hold your breath. Barclays Bank Kenya - the one whose shares you own, will be limited to Kenya. If they want to grow, they must grow within Kenya!!! And that is the disadvantage of Vodafone owning a huge percentage of Safaricom. They will not allow Safaricom to compete with them in other African (or World) countries. But that is a story for another day.

Allow me to once again tell you, I told you so.

I did so Thursday April 2014. Here is the link: Post #9

And Now to the Good News (One year later)...

Africa Here We Come!!!!
lochaz-index
#65 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 1:03:14 PM

mlennyma wrote:

WOLOLO!

Yaani this Tier 1 banks are still making double digit profits growth???? And the way i had written them off!

There is one thing that wazuans get wrong and they repeat over and over without being challenged. The assumption that some companies (And especially Banks in the case of Wazuans) have reached maturity level. Just the other day I saw someone being advised to avoid Equity and KCB because "...they have reached maturity and there is little growth/upward movement (something like that)...".

Nothing can be further from the truth!!! If you want to know if a company has reached maturity, ask yourself (or the people managing the company), where (according to long term plans) was the company headed? Has it reached there? If so, what is the next plan (in terms of growth). If not, how far of are they??

For Equity bank, the long term plan is to become a Pan African bank. James Mwangi will tell you this any day of the week free of charge!!! How much of Africa has Equity Bank covered? Less than 5%!!! You get my drift??? The journey has just began. We have 95% of the journey to cover.

As people are busy saying "Tanzanians will always be hostile to Kenyan business", "It will be impossible for a Kenya bank to compete in Nigeria", "The South African financial system is too developed and mature bla bla bla", the companies are busy growing!!!

If Equity and other companies are serious about their "Afican Agenda", they can grow at the current rates (or even more) for decades - not years!!

Multinationals - Like Barclays Bank - Don't hold your breath. Barclays Bank Kenya - the one whose shares you own, will be limited to Kenya. If they want to grow, they must grow within Kenya!!! And that is the disadvantage of Vodafone owning a huge percentage of Safaricom. They will not allow Safaricom to compete with them in other African (or World) countries. But that is a story for another day.

Africa Here We Come!!!!

@maich I agree with you 100% the management team at equity bank is nimble and agile enough to respond to changing market dynamics if not reinvent them all together. #stayinvested. Agency banking provided the quantum leap for indigineous banks over bbk and scbk. Check the mobile money and thin sim plays(if it comes to fruition) for further widening of the gap.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
watesh
#66 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 2:01:06 PM

mlennyma wrote:

WOLOLO!

Africa Here We Come!!!!

Ksh20 billion in stocks plus ksh7.2 billion loan from the IFC, all for growth...wow how much does KCB have?
#67 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 4:47:11 PM

watesh wrote:
Ksh20 billion in stocks plus ksh7.2 billion loan from the IFC, all for growth...wow how much does KCB have?

We are going places!!!

#StayInvested

This share has been bashed so much in Wazua and the "bashers" never learn.

There was a time during SK days people used to start a new thread every day to bash Equity. Oh, it is collapsing, Oh, it is a 'political' bank, oh, bla bla bla....

If those fellows just invested instead of peddling rumours, they would have made tonnes of money by now. As it is, ni porojo tu, waiting to label you an Illuminati some time in the future. "Watesh alitoa wapi hiyo pesa yote na tulikuwa tunafanya kampuni moja? I even used to earn more than him. bla bla bla...".
watesh
#68 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 4:53:28 PM

watesh wrote:

We are going places!!!

#StayInvested

There was a time during SK days people use to start a new thread every day to bash Equity. Oh, it is collapsing, Oh, it is a 'political' bank, oh, bla bla bla....

If those fellows just invested instead of peddling rumours, they would have made tonnes of money by now. As it is, ni porojo tu, waiting to label you an Illuminati some time in the future. "Watesh alitoa wapi hiyo pesa yote na tulikuwa tunafanya kampuni moja? I even used to earn more than him. bla bla bla...".

SPOT ON!!!!
#69 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 5:50:41 PM

watesh wrote:

We are going places!!!

#StayInvested

There was a time during SK days people use to start a new thread every day to bash Equity. Oh, it is collapsing, Oh, it is a 'political' bank, oh, bla bla bla....

SPOT ON!!!!

If only they knew!! Wacha they bash...
watesh
#70 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1:13:57 PM

From the AGM on expansion:
Plans to set up in 15 countries within 10 years. First 5 Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, DRC and Ethiopia...Last 5 years, Ghana, Nigeria....plans 100million customers by 2025. Will spend sh200b within the 10 years, 20b shareswaps, 40b debt and IPO or rights issue for sh140b.....AMBITIOUS
#71 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1:17:43 PM

watesh wrote:
Plans to set up in 15 countries within 10 years. First 5 Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, DRC and Ethiopia...Last 5 years, Ghana, Nigeria....plans 100million customers by 2025. Will spend sh200b within the 10 years, 20b shareswaps, 40b debt and IPO or rights issue for sh140b.....AMBITIOUS

Achievable...
Mainat
#72 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1:30:49 PM

Interesting.
Would want to understand a little bit more about the approach in each of these diverse countries. Especially west where naijas are very competitive
watesh wrote:

Sehemu ndio nyumba
watesh
#73 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1:50:50 PM

Mainat wrote:
Interesting.
Would want to understand a little bit more about the approach in each of these diverse countries. Especially west where naijas are very competitive
watesh wrote:

In 3 of the countries it will do an acquisition of a mid tier bank, most probably in Nigeria and Ghana....in others it will start from scratch
innovator
#74 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 5:37:58 PM

dividends paid for those in their eft, i've got mine.
#75 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 8:37:40 PM

Malawi, Zambia - Small economies & easy to get in there for Equity whether via an acquisition or greenfield.

Zimbabwe - A vibrant & competitive banking sector. Easy to set up. Not so easy to grow PROFITABLE market share.

Mozambique - Small economy. I expect DTB to open up there before EB.

DRC - The same model as South Sudan. Take deposits, do not make loans except to firms with assets/guarantees in Kenya. And be very profitable.

Ethiopia - That's a long way away. No foreign banks are allowed to provide full banking facilities.

Ghana - A vibrant & competitive banking sector. Easy to set up. Not so easy to grow PROFITABLE market share.

NIgeria - A vibrant & competitive banking sector. Need heft or a local partner to set up. Not so easy to grow PROFITABLE market share. Even Stanbic bought into IBTC rather than going it alone.

I see another Helios-like deal where the Shareholders Equity comes in together with a strategic (non-interfering) partner.
watesh
#76 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 8:47:05 AM

Citibank declares Equity stocks as high risk and SELL...hahaha am never selling. The price has been over 48 since October 2014, I dont see any crisis that is affecting the bank RINK>>> http://www.businessdaily...0/-/er2mubz/-/index.html
#77 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 9:53:11 AM

[quote=watesh]Citibank declares Equity stocks as high risk and SELL...hahaha am never selling. The price has been over 48 since October 2014, I dont see any crisis that is affecting the bank RINK>>> http://www.businessdaily.../-/er2mubz/-/index.html[/quote]
they also declared kenya airways a buy at 14bob,so what??Shame on you Shame on you
#78 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 9:58:57 AM

mlennyma wrote:
[quote=watesh]Citibank declares Equity stocks as high risk and SELL...hahaha am never selling. The price has been over 48 since October 2014, I dont see any crisis that is affecting the bank RINK>>> http://www.businessdaily.../-/er2mubz/-/index.html[/quote]
they also declared kenya airways a buy at 14bob,so what??Shame on you Shame on you

That time they were part of eating on the rights issue. Citibank have been KQ bankers since IPO if 1996 and are part of institutions milking it dry kwanza during the hedging business. Wakoloni!!!
watesh
#79 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 10:48:07 AM

mlennyma wrote:

That time they were part of eating on the rights issue. Citibank have been KQ bankers since IPO if 1996 and are part of institutions milking it dry kwanza during the hedging business. Wakoloni!!!

They just want to downgrade the stock price and affect the shareswap acquisition plans that Equity is planning. This is very much dependent on the share price. Wakoloni kabisa!!! Dont want Kenyan companies expanding
hisah
#80 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 12:16:00 PM

Although Citi analysts were bearish about the stock’s price, those at local market intermediary Dyer and Blair Investment Bank were more bullish expecting accelerated growth in non-interest income while the loan book and deposits grow, though they did not declare a target price.

Two devils trying to convince the masses smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!