wazua Sun, Jan 12, 2025

Safcom Bigger than EABL, KCB and Equity Bank combined
Stract_Consulting
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:17:28 PM

Safaricom is at Sh15.75 a share at the NSE, having gained 12 per cent this year and translating to a capitalisation gain of Sh68 billion in the first two-and-a-half months of the year.

Since 2013, Safaricom has enjoyed a price rally that has seen its share price double, resulting in today’s market cap that is more than EABL, KCB and Equity Bank combined.

At Sh630 billion, Safaricom’s market value is equivalent to half of what the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) is expected to collect this year, and is nearly twice what Kenya is paying for ongoing construction of the standard gauge railway between Mombasa and Nairobi.

Safaricom 630 billion valuation
Be ignorant and ask a few questions - Peter Drucker
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:28:58 PM

This is not only bad for the nse but also for the kenyan economy should it catch diarrhoea
mazingira
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:29:19 PM

Stract_Consulting wrote:
Safaricom is at Sh15.75 a share at the NSE, having gained 12 per cent this year and translating to a capitalisation gain of Sh68 billion in the first two-and-a-half months of the year.

Since 2013, Safaricom has enjoyed a price rally that has seen its share price double, resulting in today’s market cap that is more than EABL, KCB and Equity Bank combined.

At Sh630 billion, Safaricom’s market value is equivalent to half of what the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) is expected to collect this year, and is nearly twice what Kenya is paying for ongoing construction of the standard gauge railway between Mombasa and Nairobi.

Safaricom 630 billion valuation

And with the chance to grow exponentially still ...
mazingira
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:34:05 PM

mlennyma wrote:
This is not only bad for the nse but also for the kenyan economy should it catch diarrhoea

True but weve got some major players i feel are about to burst at their seams UNGA has taken a hit today but should burst soon , KCB , kengen and kplc , kplc only coz there a monopoly and watch the price adjustment on power with the dollar strengthening and the fuel price increase. They will raise costs and make even more absurd profits
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:42:00 PM

I think we are all in agreement that only unfriendly gvt policies can affect safcom but not competition,it has beaten all hands down,before mj left he was asked about the depressed safcom share price and I can't forget he told people to ignore the price because it doesn't reflect the company's performance that time.the guy went and his words lives.
gk
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:48:27 PM

Bigger than Burundi n almost the size of Rwanda's economy!
Stract_Consulting
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 4:36:04 PM

mlennyma wrote:

Why is it bad news? I believe it is good news for investors?

As someone said, if Rudisha keeps winning 800M and smashing world records, should we put more hurdles on his path? Why should we punish success?
edwinmukiri
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 4:49:51 PM

And the growth is expected to continue
Bulls make money,bears make money and pigs get slaughtered.
The optimist
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 5:09:31 PM

mlennyma wrote:

The Optimist and the Pessimist are both right. A Half full glass is also half empty!
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 6:06:42 PM

mlennyma wrote:
I think we are all in agreement that only unfriendly gvt policies can affect safcom but not competition,it has beaten all hands down,before mj left he was asked about the depressed safcom share price and I can't forget he told people to ignore the price because it doesn't reflect the company's performance that time.the guy went and his words lives.

true. Their lock in sttategy plus effective marketing will keep them in the lead.

Lots of guys do not know or understand unliminet/yu offer(what's the name again?)
watesh
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 6:10:55 PM

Stract_Consulting wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

Why is it bad news? I believe it is good news for investors?

As someone said, if Rudisha keeps winning 800M and smashing world records, should we put more hurdles on his path? Why should we punish success?

I think its good for the economy. I dont see why its bad for a Kenyan company to grow really big. It should even be encouraged to grow bigger
innairobi
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 6:50:05 PM

Its also a demonstration of how tiny the Nairobi Securities Exchange is. Having one company that is so outsized relative to the exchange is usually a characteristic of small, immature exchanges. Nigeria Stock Exchange has a roughly similar problem with Dangote I think. You wont find such on something like the Johannesburg Stock Exchange.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 7:00:34 PM

this is a result of corporate thuggery. the unholy prices charged by scom are what leads to insane profits and resultant share price rally..

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Stract_Consulting
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 8:22:43 PM

this is a result of corporate thuggery. the unholy prices charged by scom are what leads to insane profits and resultant share price rally..

Really? The shareholders are happy, the government is happy as there is more tax to be earned.... It can also be assumed that the customer is happy since they keep buying Saf products and services...

#15 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 9:28:09 PM

Willing buyer willing seller!!!

Who forces anyone to stay on Safcom??

People were allowed to migrate with their numbers and go wherever they wanted and they REFUSED to go!!!

Mnatakaga aje jameni???
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:07:34 PM

Stract_Consulting wrote:

Really? The shareholders are happy, the government is happy as there is more tax to be earned.... It can also be assumed that the customer is happy since they keep buying Saf products and services...

safcom customers live a complaining life but they lack a better option due to dirty business tricks which the company uses to lock them in it.a case in point equitys mvno
ayushnehra
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:14:23 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Stract_Consulting wrote:

safcom customers live a complaining life but they lack a better option due to dirty business tricks which the company uses to lock them in it.a case in point equitys mvno

A lot of Kenyan consumer in general seem to falling for the brand overlooking the extra costs they incur..Price of ignorance..!!
Dreams are not the thing you see in your sleep..it's the thing that doesn't let you sleep. - A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
soko huru
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:29:02 PM

That's an over statement, Safcom is not that Big, I doubt if its bigger that EABL alone, How many years has it been around? Eabl have been around for a longtime Saf is only riding on a bubble that am pretty sure it will not last long, look at what they are up against, their super normal are likely to be reduced by their competitors. Things are going to change, like calling rates and data charges will always go down that means their only stable or constant revenue come from Mpesa.

How many Kenyans are not happy with Safcom? They seem to forget what got them to where they are. Bob Saf's CEO will not last long cos he has changed the company to a totally different direction that is Profit oriented, There is always one Man who Made Saf what it is today, Michael Joseph, He deeply understood the culture and behavior of Kenyans.
jwatesh
#19 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:40:08 PM

soko huru wrote:
That's an over statement, Safcom is not that Big, I doubt if its bigger that EABL alone, How many years has it been around? Eabl have been around for a longtime Saf is only riding on a bubble that am pretty sure it will not last long, look at what they are up against, their super normal are likely to be reduced by their competitors. Things are going to change, like calling rates and data charges will always go down that means their only stable or constant revenue come from Mpesa.

How many Kenyans are not happy with Safcom? They seem to forget what got them to where they are. Bob Saf's CEO will not last long cos he has changed the company to a totally different direction that is Profit oriented, There is always one Man who Made Saf what it is today, Michael Joseph, He deeply understood the culture and behavior of Kenyans.

Hahaha you clearly have beef with Safaricom. Its easier to sell airtime to a person than beer. One is more of a necessity and one is hard hit by taxes and Mututho. Safaricom can easily double its revenues, EABL not likely
Boris Boyka
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 10:41:53 PM

soko huru wrote:

d'oh! You are confused chap! haha big is not number. of years!!! Base it on market Cap. You seem emotional on money you spent on airtime. Which bubble?? call rates will reduce just like bank rates and charges have reduced...but double digit profits will be made. even if a competitor comes....she will dance to tune of safcom orelse make losses. Meza Piriton Ulale boss.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!