Challenges of a single 30-something woman
Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...40/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html
[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Our society is too patronizing. To wed or not to wed, to have children or not is purely her business. Lord, thank you!
Rank: Member Joined: 8/7/2010 Posts: 728 Location: Wazuaville
imagne building an airport with all bells and whistles and no plane wants to land. hata wewe utauliza maswali. for a gal it means no man has found her worth his life. its normal all over the world. in US its common for a mother daughter convo to involve the question "anybody in your life honey?" and father/son convo "so when are you sticking to one gal and settling down son?" "Money never sleeps"
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
There was a guy here by the tag @ole lenku, where did he disappear to?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
@Lady admin is among them and see how successful she is? In fact at one time she was listed Top40-Under40 alongside @Anne-Waihuru. The ones I hate are those op 30s ladies with attitude towards men and other ladies below them financially. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities.
AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. Why are you putting words on my keyboard.I do not regret my marriage,The day I will regret,I will divorce. My point is some men/women decide to stay single based on their past marriage/relationships;To them,being single has everything to do with Marriage. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT? THINGS CHANGE
Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
30 something single women are my favourite type of fish. Intelligent, sexy, smart and mature. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
KulaRaha wrote:30 something single women are my favourite type of fish. Intelligent, sexy, smart and mature. ...This is how @Jaggernaut got lost. For the time being we should abstain from 'extras' until he is found.
Atalaku wrote:KulaRaha wrote:30 something single women are my favourite type of fish. Intelligent, sexy, smart and mature. ...This is how @Jaggernaut got lost. For the time being we should abstain from 'extras' until he is found. And you have followed him to Mtwapa! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
KulaRaha wrote:30 something single women are my favourite type of fish. Intelligent, sexy, smart and mature. I agree with you 333%. Yummy, clean-shaven, picks me from the airport,drop me to my local pub,dont call me past 7pm, dont ask for rent or pesa ya thitima, ask what I will take for dinner tonight,say exactly how she would like to be eaten,knows how not to get pegged 30/12,doesnt nag me if I forget her birthday or if I miss to buy her a present and above all she doesnt tire you with going out all the time,mara sijui churchil live, sijui wine-sex&blanket etal...she is indoors queen coz she appreciates the importance of PEACE of MIND. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. Why are you putting words on my keyboard. I do not regret my marriage, The day I will regret, I will divorce. My point is some men/women decide to stay single based on their past marriage/relationships;To them,being single has everything to do with Marriage. So why are you in an overrated marriage?
Impunity wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT? THINGS CHANGE
@impunity, what I'm talking about is if you know marriage is overrated, you would not be in it. You cannot condemn it and go for it at the same time. You understand now?
AlphDoti wrote:Impunity wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT? THINGS CHANGE
@impunity, what I'm talking about is if you know marriage is overrated, you would not be in it. You cannot condemn it and go for it at the same time. You understand now? Most men marry because that is what is expected of them by society. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. Why are you putting words on my keyboard. I do not regret my marriage, The day I will regret, I will divorce. My point is some men/women decide to stay single based on their past marriage/relationships;To them,being single has everything to do with Marriage. So why are you in an overrated marriage? If i say sex is overrated,it doesn't mean that i will stop having sex If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Angelica _ann wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Impunity wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=Major_General]Esther Njambi is a 33-year-old woman who runs a wedding and events planning business. She is single and has no children. As is the case with many other Kenyan women above 30, she often finds herself the recipient of the popular question and jeer: “Why are you still single at your age? You must have been too choosy when you were young...” This question is always either accompanied by a pitiful look, or one that suggests that being over thirty and still unmarried is akin to failure.For some reason, society always assumes that a single woman of my age is ‘damaged goods’. Men are suspicious about our pasts and think we are hiding something or someone, such as a secret lover or a secret child in the village..... Full Storyhttp://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bvs4sh/-/index.html[/quote] Being in a marriage/relationship is over hyped/rated. Better be single and happy than married/in a relationship with stress 1. @swenani, so you regret your marriage (You said you're married once. Internet does not forget)? 2. This is a question of commitment or being player (fishmogering). It is a choice between the two. 3. Being single has nothing to do with marriage is bad or good. Because every situation has its good and challenges. Marriage is good if you enter with right intention, know expectations and give commitment. 4. Being single doesn't necessarily mean one is being a player. It could mean you have not found the right person, or are not just ready for it. 5. But fish-mongering around (whether married or not) and moving around claiming marriage is bad, cannot fly a smart mind. That is plain stupid. The truth is bashing marriage is to justify your fish-mongering activities. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT? THINGS CHANGE
@impunity, what I'm talking about is if you know marriage is overrated, you would not be in it. You cannot condemn it and go for it at the same time. You understand now? Most men marry because that is what is expected of them by society.  i pity them who marry because society expected them. Marriage should not be a prison
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
KulaRaha wrote:30 something single women are my favourite type of fish. Intelligent, sexy, smart and mature. There is a name for that category...
Challenges of a single 30-something woman