wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

Why is KCB on a decline?
gatoho
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 1:15:47 AM

Why is KCB's price going down when everyone else is rising? I still wonna add to mine to even out for ones i got @ 28 ages ago.. Does someone know something i don;t or is a speculator pushing it down then to buy loads?
Foresight..
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:30:40 AM

@gatoho KCB is a very good company but i'm very pessimistic about its share price especially this year.. KCB will find it very hard to attract interest especially since its results wont be that good(flat or single digit growth) and there is alot of selling pressure on the counter...

but then again if your willing to hold it for like 2 years then things may look better since its massive investments and expansion coupled with improved economic growth will start to pay off...
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 6:32:32 AM

KCB.........a sleeping giant.Good for medium to long term.
gathinga
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 9:38:17 AM

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/6btmxl/-/index.html
News of this retrenchment may help the price to pick up slightly in the short term. Institutional investors are excited with companies cutting head count at a time of business expansion, coz if reflects better efficiencies and productivity or better uptake of existing technology
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 3:37:56 PM

gatoho wrote:
Why is KCB's price going down when everyone else is rising? I still wonna add to mine to even out for ones i got @ 28 ages ago.. Does someone know something i don;t or is a speculator pushing it down then to buy loads?

What a nonsensical assertion/question!

"is a speculator pushing it down then to buy loads?"

1) If that is 'true' then you should buy coz they are selling them cheap

2) Even if the 'speculator' pushed the price down... who will sell to them (speculator) at the lower price?

3) Stop whining & read this story:
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/r3yp2nz/-/index.html

4) KCB loan book has huge amounts of poorly performing debts... We had Uchumi, then Triton now Panpaper, kesho KPC...

gatoho
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 4:29:28 PM

Really Vitu vingi? I know you are a rank elder but you do not have to Use some words. It does happen anyway kinda like a certain Murdoch did with British papers..And anyway they say the only stupid questions are the unasked ones. Am not whining its As you can see i plan to add bucketloads... Thanks for your link but I believe I had already read it. Maybe peculiar but surely not nonsensical.
Foresight..
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:15:23 PM

gatoho wrote:
Really Vitu vingi? I know you are a rank elder but you do not have to Use some words. It does happen anyway kinda like a certain Murdoch did with British papers..And anyway they say the only stupid questions are the unasked ones. Am not whining its As you can see i plan to add bucketloads... Thanks for your link but I believe I had already read it. Maybe peculiar but surely not nonsensical.

Bwana gatoho, It is simple. Really.
[Maybe the usual crappy politics are getting to me. I work so hard, pay taxes & the thieves get away.]

Ok, back to you... Again, pole... (tho I have no idea how this relates to Murdoch) Often, folks ask questions without thinking about it a little more...

KCB is a relatively liquid stock (by Kenyan standard) so there tends to be demand/supply at all levels... and the price would adjust to any 'mismatch' pretty fast.

Someone who wants to drive the price down has to continuously sell shares at lower prices. For KCB (among other liquid shares) then buyers will show up thus defeating the ability for the speculator to mop up shares at a lower price.

Also, unless there is fraud (or a rumor), why would someone sell their shares at a lower price to the speculator?

My point is that it is self-defeating for the speculator to try to drive the price down... He might sell 1,000,000 shares to drive it from 22 to 20... but can he buy back 1,000,000 at 20/-? Probably not...

I am a fundamental (not technical) investor... So if I think 22/- is a good price (which I think it is even with all the scams/bad loans!) then no point in selling at 22/- or 20/-... In fact, if the price fell to 20/-... I am a buyer!
gatoho
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:39:33 PM

@ vitu probably it would take whole forum like a drink to explain the price thing, and its not even fraud. They jus make low offers as at any point someone wants to sell eventually pushing the price down. Really they are not speculators but long term.. Anyway no offence taken.. and work hard and fill the money.. the thieves tutakamata tu pole pole.. tuweke tairi tushome.. na kazi iendelee.
Foresight..
Wa_ithaka
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:46:00 PM

KCB didn't have a good 2009-hence the retrenchments and the falling price.
I don't believe KCB in its present shape (i.e. without a world class risk-management system) will ever get beyond being a behemoth without the requisite returns. Its cost/income is the highest of any of the listed banks and it never really talks about how its going reduce it or at least increase revenue per employee.
Retrenching 1,000 employees will probably save at most, Ksh150m per year and at that not even this year.
Then as vvs mentioned, all the potentially huge loan write-offs and don't forget the pension-thingy...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 6:08:59 PM

gatoho wrote:
@ vitu probably it would take whole forum like a drink to explain the price thing, and its not even fraud. They jus make low offers as at any point someone wants to sell eventually pushing the price down. Really they are not speculators but long term.. Anyway no offence taken.. and work hard and fill the money.. the thieves tutakamata tu pole pole.. tuweke tairi tushome.. na kazi iendelee.

We can kamata these wizi... lakini they are connected...

So what if they make low bids? It is their right... I often bid low & offer high... Why coz I want the best possible price...

BTW, I know what u say when u 'low offers' but in investing lingo 'offer' is to offer to sell whereas 'bid' is to offer to buy...!!!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 7:28:21 PM

gatoho wrote:

@gatoho with the benefit of your dialogue with vvs, the answer is very simple- demand vs supply. The company is fundamentally sound but even a good company takes a beating now and then. Of course You reduce your risks when you buy low.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 7:34:08 PM

i dont the bad debts are a big threat to KCB in the long run, it is one of the few backs whose assets exceeds its loans. very sound standing by kenyan banking standards
gatoho
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 10:01:57 PM

You got me there @ Vitu. Yeah I meant bid but as you can see I am In Kandara so abit behind though in the village Am Chief!
Foresight..
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 7:39:35 AM

kyt wrote:
i dont the bad debts are a big threat to KCB in the long run, it is one of the few backs whose assets exceeds its loans. very sound standing by kenyan banking standards

Wow!
1) When a bank makes a loan, it is an asset in its books... not a liability...
2) Which banks' assets do not exceed the loans given out?

People... how can you make a statement that claims "one of the few backs whose assets exceeds its loans" without proof???
[BTW, kyt wrote 'backs' & I copied it verbatim but I think s/he meant banks]

A bank whose gross loans > assets is BANKRUPT...
@kyt - So please tell me those that are NOT "one of the few backs whose assets exceeds its loans"?
cnn
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:16:23 AM

@vvs,hope you never dream of being a lecturer or something in that line.You seem to have little patience for persons showing the slightest knowledge gap or at least showing it.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:21:54 AM

cnn wrote:
@vvs,hope you never dream of being a lecturer or something in that line.You seem to have little patience for persons showing the slightest knowledge gap or at least showing it.

@cnn - I enjoy teaching but there has to be some effort from the 'learner'.

If you ask, I will try to answer... I remember a LONG answer for a question on KPLC & Mumias... and electricity transmission...

Lakini, if ur comments are ovyo ovyo... Implying that most banks in Kenya have loans > assets is not true & shows lack of basic research...

Investing means taking an interest. NSE provides results (pdf) for listed firms. Download them...
chaliwong
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 6:53:42 PM

Interest income is actually why banks are doing this business.

A bank without Assets(loans) is in the wrong business, and a bank that is lending non perfoming loans is at risk of shutting down as its not only LOOSING interest income but at risk of loosing its depositors money(Liabilities).

And is it just coincidental that KCB has been lending to this companies that are folding up?

The lending of huge amounts by banks to coporates is through the advice of Coporate managers of the bank. They have been doing a shoddy job in accessing the credit worthiness of these companies.

I want to believe and also Pray that they are at the top of the list of 1000 that are going home.
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 2:38:28 PM

@chali - I think the under-performing Loan Book at KCB is historical i.e. KCB has been lending to them for years & are unable to extricate themselves out of the mess.

With time, KCB should learn to control these 'bad' borrowers. I hope...
#19 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 10:26:52 AM

@vvs

KCB loan book has huge amounts of poorly performing debts... We had Uchumi, then Triton now Panpaper, kesho KPC...

Uchumi is out of the woods, at least there is nothing to worry about there.

Triton - KCB is well covered with the securities that were charged and of which some have already been sold - nothing much to worry about.

Panpaper - in all these, even if they go bad, the bank is only affected if it cant realise its owed amount through the securities it is holding....
#20 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 11:10:42 AM

@vvs

KCB loan book has huge amounts of poorly performing debts... We had Uchumi, then Triton now Panpaper, kesho KPC...

Uchumi is out of the woods, at least there is nothing to worry about there.

Triton - KCB is well covered with the securities that were charged and of which some have already been sold - nothing much to worry about.

Panpaper - in all these, even if they go bad, the bank is only affected if it cant realise its owed amount through the securities it is holding....

I was just showing the history... It's like they have a bad surprise for us every year!

I agree on Uchumi.

Coz of GoK, KCB will be OK on KPC though I am not sure 100% about Triton (well, those loans/amounts not covered by KPC)...

PanPaper might be a loss coz except for paper stocks... there is little value to the other securities including the outdated plant/factory. And who cares about industrial land in Webuye?
Unless GoK 'insures/guarantees' KCB for PanPaper, there is trouble in the air...