37 Pages«<1819202122>»
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
#381 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 6:38:57 PM

limanika wrote:
All matatu owners believe the traffic mess is caused by private cars. All private car owners including kidraw believe matatus are the culprit. Now why is it so hard for kidraw to stand out of the box and realize that other than the issue of roads and confusion created by traffic cops, the other main contributor to traffic chaos is large no.of private cars? Any solution that does not seek to make public transport the natural choice is just a partial one

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I did not want to be the first one to suggest that! We had this discussion in the blue section and we were called names for suggesting that we should encourage public transport while discouraging private cars

If you make it more incovenient to use public eg terminate mats at Muthurwa, Ngara etc, this will encourage more guys to come with their jalopies and traffic will increase

If you still think PSVs are the cause of heavy traffic, wait for the next matatu strike. See how the roads will be clogged up

In addition to that, eliminate stage parking. Every bus should drop and pick passengers and go. Esp at GPO, and KENCOM

Affordable public MASS transport is the key.
If you still have thousands of 33 seater ma3 ferrying people around they will still congest the stages even if they were to park for 2 minutes to pick pax and leave.

Yes but in the meantime as they build tram rails (if this ever happens) or HOV lanes, the parking on the roads needs to go.
#382 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 12:13:43 AM

What about working hours? Do we all have to report at 8am and leave at 5pm.Suppose some sectors tweak this so that their employees report earlier or later?

or even working from home?

#383 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 12:46:12 AM

limanika wrote:
All matatu owners believe the traffic mess is caused by private cars. All private car owners including kidraw believe matatus are the culprit. Now why is it so hard for kidraw to stand out of the box and realize that other than the issue of roads and confusion created by traffic cops, the other main contributor to traffic chaos is large no.of private cars? Any solution that does not seek to make public transport the natural choice is just a partial one

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I did not want to be the first one to suggest that! We had this discussion in the blue section and we were called names for suggesting that we should encourage public transport while discouraging private cars

If you make it more incovenient to use public eg terminate mats at Muthurwa, Ngara etc, this will encourage more guys to come with their jalopies and traffic will increase

If you still think PSVs are the cause of heavy traffic, wait for the next matatu strike. See how the roads will be clogged up

In addition to that, eliminate stage parking. Every bus should drop and pick passengers and go. Esp at GPO, and KENCOM

If you still have thousands of 33 seater ma3 ferrying people around they will still congest the stages even if they were to park for 2 minutes to pick pax and leave.

Yes but in the meantime as they build tram rails (if this ever happens) or HOV lanes, the parking on the roads needs to go.

The metro trains and buses will be the ultimate solution. They can ferry commuters from say CBD to KU area. KU in turn can build a large car park and make some money from it, commuters would park there and ride on a train/bus to the city. replicate that on Ngong road, Waiyaki Way, Msa road, Langata Road, RIng Road etc and you are good to go for another 50 or so years. Ban even 17 seaters they need strictly large buses & double deckers.

#384 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 9:10:12 AM

Before all these blue prints happen simple and effective enforcement of the existing traffic act and the highway code would do.
#385 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 9:27:42 AM

limanika wrote:

Anaa thng they should urgently do is to create sufficient and wide bus stops so that ma3 and other psvs will not stop right in the middle of the road to pick passengers thus causing traffic snarl up.
Then they can arrest and charge those vehicles stopping right in the middle of the road to pick pax,also those pax who boards psv at non designated stops must be arrested and charged.

limanika
#386 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 10:30:23 AM

The cars that need not be on the road every day are those belonging to city residents from high density city estates such as umoja, buru, Kasarani etc. For such estates preference should be given to high capacity buses with dedicated lanes for radius of 10 km from cbd. And if I stay in umoja and work in westlands, why would I need to alight in cbd to connect? There should be a bus from umoja traveling to westlands, another to hurlingam, upperhill etc. Jalopies only need be used by those who stay in diaspora or outskirts, where it is not possible to operate high capacity buses either due to poor roads or low population
#387 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 11:00:37 AM

For example this morning, matatus had choked the exit from Sarit roundabout to Parklands Road. This despite 5 cops stationed at the roundabout. The officer controlling traffic from Lower Kabete Road to the roundabout was perplexed, yet a layman like me saw the problem so easily.

Maybe he or his bosses own the matatus hence cannot enforce anything. NKT!
#388 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 11:02:46 AM

For example this morning, matatus had choked the exit from Sarit roundabout to Parklands Road. This despite 5 cops stationed at the roundabout. The officer controlling traffic from Lower Kabete Road to the roundabout was perplexed, yet a layman like me saw the problem so easily.

You are in the wrong career;You need to be a traffic cop
Muheani
#389 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 11:21:42 AM

limanika wrote:

Anaa thng they should urgently do is to create sufficient and wide bus stops so that ma3 and other psvs will not stop right in the middle of the road to pick passengers thus causing traffic snarl up.
Then they can arrest and charge those vehicles stopping right in the middle of the road to pick pax,also those pax who boards psv at non designated stops must be arrested and charged.

what english is this?
#390 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 11:25:25 AM

Muheani wrote:
limanika wrote:

what english is this?

What English is this with a small "e"

Muheani
#391 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 12:05:43 PM

Muheani wrote:
limanika wrote:

what english is this?

si i was describing your english. it cant have an "E"
#392 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 12:16:47 PM

You are in the wrong career;You need to be a traffic cop

LOL, I'm too honest and efficient. I wouldn't last a week.
#393 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 12:17:11 PM

Muheani wrote:
limanika wrote:

what english is this?

si i was describing your english. it cant have an "E"

xo xo.

#394 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 11:07:50 PM

Another thing they should urgently do is to create sufficient and wide bus stops so that ma3 and other psvs will not stop right in the middle of the road to pick passengers thus causing traffic snarl up.

Ditto!! Anybody used Juja road recently? The intended bus stops on this rate are so woefully insufficient that most can hardly accomodate three 14-seater matatus, forget the large minibuses.
#395 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:06:09 AM

PSV's are not responsible for traffic jams in Nairobi

For all the bad driving that is attributed to public service vehicles in Nairobi, they form an important part of the solution. Policymakers find it easier to blame them for congestion because most of them are never at their best behaviour.

A hard-nosed, facts-based policy aimed at reducing the average times spent in traffic by commuters would show that public service vehicles are a superior option to private automobiles.

That solution would be to manage the demand for roads by both public service vehicles and personal automobiles by instituting a congestion charge for all vehicles entering Nairobi’s downtown.

An appropriately-priced congestion charge would ensure that drivers pay for occupying roads, which often become scarce resources during the busiest hours of the day. Consequently, people would make the choice between public service vehicles or private automobiles according to their preferences.
#396 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:31:15 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Another thing they should urgently do is to create sufficient and wide bus stops so that ma3 and other psvs will not stop right in the middle of the road to pick passengers thus causing traffic snarl up.

Ditto!! Anybody used Juja road recently? The intended bus stops on this rate are so woefully insufficient that most can hardly accomodate three 14-seater matatus, forget the large minibuses.

This is incorrect. There is a MASSIVE bus/ma3 park in Westlands with ample space to accommodate upto 50 matatus. However, they all stop on the road, causing a massive bottleneck at the entry to Waiyaki Way. The only time that part of the road is clear and moving normally is when cops are at the bus park, and matatus enter the park to pick/drop passengers.

Matatus cause 50% of Nairobi's traffic, that cannot be denied.
#397 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:41:33 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

This is incorrect. There is a MASSIVE bus/ma3 park in Westlands with ample space to accommodate upto 50 matatus. However, they all stop on the road, causing a massive bottleneck at the entry to Waiyaki Way. The only time that part of the road is clear and moving normally is when cops are at the bus park, and matatus enter the park to pick/drop passengers.

Passengers cause 100% of Nairobi's traffic jam,I have seen themwaiting for Matatus just outside cooperative house instead of going to the Bus station or railwasy bus station,Matatus stop on the road because that's where the passengers are.
#398 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:57:15 AM

So this morning I was on the highway past Museum at the Uni Way roundabout. The highway ahead past Laico was clear, and all the cop handling traffic from Westlands had to do was open up and let cars flow. The rest of the cops had closed off traffic from town, from Globe etc.

We sat there for almost 5 minutes while the dumb cop was busy on his cellphone, probably checking bribes being received via Mpesa. The other cops were gesturing for him to open, but he was just too busy to bother.

Such lapses contribute to traffic just as much as matatus, handcarts and cows.
#399 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 10:03:52 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Can you imagine in Juja Road where bust stops are not available or can only accommodate one 14-seater?
Lucky you people of westy that yu got such a huge parking and yu dont use it.
The offenders must be arrested and castrated.

#400 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 10:06:05 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Passengers cause 100% of Nairobi's traffic jam,I have seen themwaiting for Matatus just outside cooperative house instead of going to the Bus station or railwasy bus station,Matatus stop on the road because that's where the passengers are.

If ma3 stop only at bus stations/stops then pax will have no option but to follow suit.