#362 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 3:10:30 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
As opposed to all that, i think most Kenyans are unhealthy. They should therefore be made to walk. All PSV vehicles shouldnt enter town, and people should walk to get them. For instance, all Thika Road pedestrians to be dropped at Ngara, all Waiyaki Way, Kangemi and Kikuyu passengers to be dropped hizo sides za Chiromo, Ngong Road waachwe hapo community, eastlanders waachwe Nyayo!! CBD itakuwa much better

... and the upcomingpaperchaser should be allowed to zoom into the cbd in his pajero io. smile
Lakini mimi iko support your recommendation, but in a more broader way - ban all cars (apart from the president's, deputy president, leader of opposition and may be the governor) from the cbd - then turn all those parking areas into markets and allow hawkers to come in and trade their wares (and charge each hawker 200 bob per day).

Have you not seen pedestrians cross the road when its clearly green for cars and red for pedestrians thus forcing motorists to slow down and cause jam at the intersection/roundabout?

Hapo sawa, but then we would need a slight change to the curriculum to include timers on the traffic lights, I think most of us pedestrians are ignorant.

That's better,we need punitive measures in place.Kenya is not a logical functioning society

Punitive measures will not instill logic in the society, especially if the reasons seem contrary to the the majority individuals 'haki yetu' way of commuting.
#363 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 3:15:52 PM

As opposed to all that, i think most Kenyans are unhealthy. They should therefore be made to walk. All PSV vehicles shouldnt enter town, and people should walk to get them. For instance, all Thika Road pedestrians to be dropped at Ngara, all Waiyaki Way, Kangemi and Kikuyu passengers to be dropped hizo sides za Chiromo, Ngong Road waachwe hapo community, eastlanders waachwe Nyayo!! CBD itakuwa much better

... and the upcomingpaperchaser should be allowed to zoom into the cbd in his pajero io. smile
Lakini mimi iko support your recommendation, but in a more broader way - ban all cars (apart from the president's, deputy president, leader of opposition and may be the governor) from the cbd - then turn all those parking areas into markets and allow hawkers to come in and trade their wares (and charge each hawker 200 bob per day).

Have you not seen pedestrians cross the road when its clearly green for cars and red for pedestrians thus forcing motorists to slow down and cause jam at the intersection/roundabout?

Hapo sawa, but then we would need a slight change to the curriculum to include timers on the traffic lights, I think most of us pedestrians are ignorant.

That's better,we need punitive measures in place.Kenya is not a logical functioning society

Punitive measures will not instill logic in the society, especially if the reasons seem contrary to the the majority individuals 'haki yetu' way of commuting.

I'm not asking for Kenyans to have logic thus why I'm proposing punitive measures
#364 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 3:24:32 PM

The first and main step in managing this traffic mess is acceptance by traffic cops that their role is to assist on the roads, rather than solicit bribes for any and every situation.

If that change of mindset can come, we have won the battle!
#365 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 3:40:22 PM

The first and main step in managing this traffic mess is acceptance by traffic cops that their role is to assist on the roads, rather than solicit bribes for any and every situation.

If that change of mindset can come, we have won the battle!

Why do we need traffic cops in the first place?I think because we are unable to think.

I do not think we will win the battle if the cops accept that their work is to assist the road users but rather it will be when we as road users acknowledge that the road is meant for all of us(handcart pushers,pedestrians, ngombe,punda,vehicles etc),other people have right of way.Most kenyans think the road was meant for them and they have the right of way
kalenjinherdsboy
#366 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 4:13:51 PM

Why do we need traffic cops in the first place?I think because we are unable to think.

I do not think we will the battle if the cops accept that their work is to assist the road users but rather it will be when we as road users acknowledge that the road is meant for all of us(handcart pushers,pedestrians, ngombe,punda,vehicles etc),other people have right of way.Most kenyans think the road was meant for them and they have the right of way

Rightly said. If road users respected the rules and applied courtesy then there would be less need for the traffic officers.

These are simple things like keeping junctions clear for others and clearing the road when involved in minor accidents.
#367 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 6:26:43 PM

Until the day we as a society put to shame our "aggressive competitive" ways and attitudes we'll just have to accept and move on with the peculiar Kenya driving habits.
taka jua
#368 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 7:55:10 AM

This was tried before when all matatus from eastlands were to drop and pick passenegers at Muthurwa, all it achieved was once massive traffic jam from Donholm to Muthurwa.
kalenjinherdsboy
#369 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 8:10:52 AM

taka jua wrote:

This was tried before when all matatus from eastlands were to drop and pick passenegers at Muthurwa, all it achieved was once massive traffic jam from Donholm to Muthurwa.

This would have worked if they had enforced the original bus routes too. Buses have no business being in the city center waiting to fill up.
#370 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 8:40:47 AM

taka jua wrote:

This city is too dirty for walks. You are making wrong comparisons.
No footpaths,sewage,garbage strewn all over,thugs. Its disgusting and dangerous to walk . I d rather keep my obesity than walk some of our roads.

I dont know who are behind our city planning cz we dont have footpaths,working sewarage or drainage systems,the existing are overworked and have broken down. Nbo is not a city.

In addition we walk like wildebeasts - In all directions,rough,shoving and pushing and spitting.
ok I am done.
#371 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 10:22:46 AM

limanika
#372 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 2:29:27 PM

All matatu owners believe the traffic mess is caused by private cars. All private car owners including kidraw believe matatus are the culprit. Now why is it so hard for kidraw to stand out of the box and realize that other than the issue of roads and confusion created by traffic cops, the other main contributor to traffic chaos is large no.of private cars? Any solution that does not seek to make public transport the natural choice is just a partial one
kiash
#373 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 3:11:05 PM

taka jua wrote:

No footpaths,sewage,garbage strewn all over,thugs. Its disgusting and dangerous to walk . I d rather keep my obesity than walk some of our roads.

I dont know who are behind our city planning cz we dont have footpaths,working sewarage or drainage systems,the existing are overworked and have broken down. Nbo is not a city.

In addition we walk like wildebeasts - In all directions,rough,shoving and pushing and spitting.
ok I am done.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause
Iganamagana
#374 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 3:20:11 PM

kiash wrote:
taka jua wrote:

ok I am done.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause

Worse in this weather. What with so many sweaty Kenyans who walk without respecting personal space?
#375 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 4:19:26 PM

limanika wrote:
All matatu owners believe the traffic mess is caused by private cars. All private car owners including kidraw believe matatus are the culprit. Now why is it so hard for kidraw to stand out of the box and realize that other than the issue of roads and confusion created by traffic cops, the other main contributor to traffic chaos is large no.of private cars? Any solution that does not seek to make public transport the natural choice is just a partial one

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I did not want to be the first one to suggest that! We had this discussion in the blue section and we were called names for suggesting that we should encourage public transport while discouraging private cars

If you make it more incovenient to use public eg terminate mats at Muthurwa, Ngara etc, this will encourage more guys to come with their jalopies and traffic will increase

If you still think PSVs are the cause of heavy traffic, wait for the next matatu strike. See how the roads will be clogged up
#376 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 4:40:44 PM

limanika wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I did not want to be the first one to suggest that! We had this discussion in the blue section and we were called names for suggesting that we should encourage public transport while discouraging private cars

If you make it more incovenient to use public eg terminate mats at Muthurwa, Ngara etc, this will encourage more guys to come with their jalopies and traffic will increase

If you still think PSVs are the cause of heavy traffic, wait for the next matatu strike. See how the roads will be clogged up

In addition to that, eliminate stage parking. Every bus should drop and pick passengers and go. Esp at GPO, and KENCOM
#377 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 4:52:43 PM

limanika wrote:

In addition to that, eliminate stage parking. Every bus should drop and pick passengers and go. Esp at GPO, and KENCOM

Affordable public MASS transport is the key.
If you still have thousands of 33 seater ma3 ferrying people around they will still congest the stages even if they were to park for 2 minutes to pick pax and leave.

#378 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 5:08:01 PM

What about working hours? Do we all have to report at 8am and leave at 5pm.Suppose some sectors tweak this so that their employees report earlier or later?
#379 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 5:11:01 PM

What about working hours? Do we all have to report at 8am and leave at 5pm.Suppose some sectors tweak this so that their employees report earlier or later?

I dont know of any Kenya who will enjoy waking up at 2am in order to report to work at 4am so that they can return home at say midday!

#380 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 6:30:59 PM

This is madness....