wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

please take care of your cheque book
Banker
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 07, 2015 7:56:55 PM

Good evening friends.

I thought I should share this after encountering several incidents.

There is a syndicate stealing cheque leaves from your chq book when you take your car for a carwash.

90% of men put their chq books in the dashboard closet. These guys pluck a cheque leaf plus the counterfoil so you can't notice unless you are those hawk-eyed types who follow their cheque numbers.

They draw the cheque with a forged signature and the funds are withdrawn, mostly in a different bank. The signatures are almost perfect.

Here is the sad part, just like ATM cards, when a cheque book is under your custody, the bank is not liable.

So how do the fraudsters know your signature ? At the office, I would tell you, "the matter is under investigation". But I will be honest here ; we recruit from a rotten society, so yes, we do have a few rotten apples amongst our staff.

kalenjinherdsboy
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 07, 2015 9:18:18 PM

If a bank accepts a forged or fraudulent cheque then liability is legally theirs due to negligence.
Chaka
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 07, 2015 10:41:28 PM

I am wondering whether the account holder can instruct the bank to always call him/her first before clearing any cheque?
Money Whisperer
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 08, 2015 6:04:08 PM

problem is you having one signature for everything. the one I use at the bank is only on my id and passport hizo zingine including job are different
"Money never sleeps"
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 08, 2015 6:49:09 PM

kalenjinherdsboy wrote:
If a bank accepts a forged or fraudulent cheque then liability is legally theirs due to negligence.

If cheque leave is "genuine" plucked from your chequebook then there is aspects of responsibility on the account holder if the bank pays.
Wainadi
#6 Posted : Sunday, March 08, 2015 7:17:25 PM

kalenjinherdsboy wrote:

If cheque leave is "genuine" plucked from your chequebook then there is aspects of responsibility on the account holder if the bank pays.

Kumbe Madam works in the anti- Banking fraud unit?
Its all good.
kalenjinherdsboy
#7 Posted : Sunday, March 08, 2015 8:34:35 PM

In such cases negligence has to be proven on the part of the client.

A good example of this involves an employee of the client forging a signature. The bank can then claim shared liability with the client.
#8 Posted : Sunday, March 08, 2015 9:12:39 PM

kalenjinherdsboy wrote:

In such cases negligence has to be proven on the part of the client.

A good example of this involves an employee of the client forging a signature. The bank can then claim shared liability with the client.

Exactly, that is what @Banker was bringing to the attention of wazuans to be extra careful with their chequebooks.
#9 Posted : Sunday, March 08, 2015 9:18:38 PM

Wainadi wrote:
kalenjinherdsboy wrote:

Kumbe Madam works in the anti- Banking fraud unit?

She is a teller at certain FOSA located on Moi avenue
Speculz
#10 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 7:29:53 AM

Chaka wrote:
I am wondering whether the account holder can instruct the bank to always call him/her first before clearing any cheque?

Even co-op always call before they clear a cheque, always.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#11 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 8:54:01 AM

Speculz wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Are you sure????
Speculz
#12 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 8:59:58 AM

Speculz wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Are you sure????

Yes, at least for me they do not clear a cheque without prior confirmation.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#13 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 9:02:27 AM

Speculz wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Are you sure????

Why would they waste their resources calling someone with an average operating balance of 5K every month?
#14 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 4:26:04 PM

Another thing you should do is tear off the cheque leaf before you write on it. Most people write then tear leaving an impression of the signature on the leaf underneath.

#15 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 10:36:13 PM

Another thing you should do is tear off the cheque leaf before you write on it. Most people write then tear leaving an impression of the signature on the leaf underneath.

When you educated these guys they claim you are a FOSA teller. Let them be stolen from kabisa.
Chaka
#16 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 10:53:36 PM

At this rate it seems safer to go old school..i,e use thumb print as the signature..
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 2:03:36 AM

When you educated these guys they claim you are a FOSA teller. Let them be stolen from kabisa.

smile smile smile
wazuaguest
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 7:31:05 AM

Speculz wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Are you sure????

Why would they waste their resources calling someone with an average operating balance of 5K every month?

Not for all amounts are calls made.
Africa belongs to Africans.