wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

New motor vehicle insurance premiums from March up to 7.5% from 4%
tuvok
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 8:51:44 AM

Today's Smart Company pull out in the Nation has this as it's cover story

In summary:

From March - New policy holders pay 7.5% premium up from 4%. If you do not have an accident within the next one year, a discount of 10% applies. In the second year, another 10% discount, etc.

The idea is to encourage safe driving thus resulting in reduced accidents (and a discount for you the driver)

What do wazuans think?

In as much as Insurance companies have been making losses (very few have actually made a profit), I think 7.5% is too high. I suspect that if they go forward with it, many guys will ground their cars.
The average reasonable aged car (clay court's infamous white toyota corolla :) ) is valued probably around 500k (a rough estimate). 4% was 20k, 7.5% takes this to
37500. That's an extra 1400+ bob per month.

Methinks that at some point, some drivers may opt to just pay 7.5% continuously, and drive like maniacs.

I applaud the idea behind the new policy, but think that 7.5% is too high for most motorists.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 8:59:00 AM

good idea!!! less junks on the road driving better
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 9:05:59 AM

@Tuvok,
Does this apply to public vehicles??
tuvok
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 9:06:54 AM

It is especially applicable to public vehicles.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 9:16:29 AM

even better, fewer junk matatus on the road driving carefully!
JkMwatha
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 9:43:48 AM

Those preimiums start too high.... but I think the 'no claims/no accidents' discount will work well and will foster self-discipline among drivers.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 10:27:24 AM

@Kularaha,
I don't believe higher premiums will deter scrap matatus on our roads...Hell,they will pass the premiums to "consumers".
anasazi
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 12:19:29 PM

Life is becoming harder by the day. Sasa hii premium.... too much! Thats like doubling it! Nkt
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 12:26:58 PM

Funny thing is that even after getting the discount for like 7 years, they say that the premium will never go below 4%, in short the Insurance companies have increased the premium costs for all the drivers irrespective of how careful you are, higher premiums will only drive many people into making fake claims to get back the high amounts they've been paying!!!!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 12:29:51 PM

Even with the current premium rates, the minimum premium for a car that my insurer can take is 30k. It doesn't matter that your car is a KRQ.
anasazi
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 12:32:49 PM

Do you think too many kenyans are driving? Maybe the other side of it is more people will opt not to drive. Because, truthfully, there are just too many cars on the road, and increasing by the day! Or will this be like another parking fee increase? Hakuna tofauti?
tuvok
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 12:44:30 PM

truth is if there was a scheduled and reliable transport system within Nairobi & its environs, most people would not bother driving.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 12:53:41 PM

true on the premiums..no matter how old or unmaintained the car is...
anasazi
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 2:03:50 PM

would this encourage some to undervalue their cars and hope for the best?
tuvok
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 2:13:42 PM

@KulaRaha actually I think we'll get more junks on the road - now that more people won't be able afford to maintain their vehicles.
Eddy
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 8:11:00 PM

If insurance companies have not been making money on vehicles covers, i think it is only fair to let them hike it. But isn't the 7.5% for comprehensive cover? me think though no statistics, guys on comprehensive are less than 5% - i was suprised to see a brand new prado from an embassy paying 3rd party at 5K.

I have always gotten the impression vehicle insurance in the west is pretty punishing -JK any insight on this? "Nearer home" Angola is starting with premiums at 10%, while Siera Leone also has it on 10% - i think Kenya is rated same with this countries on risk - ha!
wasee
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 4:45:10 AM

The Increase is to alot 4% to 7.5% is almost 100% increase. the insurance companies and IRA should think of better ways of cutting cost and improving their profits and not going back to the Mwananchi who is already overburdened by so many taxes and high cost of living.
tuvok
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 7:26:32 AM

It is definitely on - starting next week. Just got a notification about it. I wonder - if you are due for renewal - might be a good idea and see if you can pay for it this week (maybe at 4%) before the new rates check in.

But honestly, these guys should 'backdate' that no claims bit - coz there are guys I know who have not made any claim for 5+ years.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 6:22:45 AM

....I am in deep shit... This is unbelievable!!! How can the insurance be almost the cost of another car?
JkMwatha
#20 Posted : Sunday, March 07, 2010 7:12:38 PM

Eddy wrote:

...I have always gotten the impression vehicle insurance in the west is pretty punishing -JK any insight on this? "Nearer home" Angola is starting with premiums at 10%, while Siera Leone also has it on 10% - i think Kenya is rated same with this countries on risk - ha!

@Eddy - pole I didn't see this.

Insurance figures in UK are considered expensive when you are paying above £800...

Here are some estimates based on
•4 years Protected No Claims Bonus
•Car parked on street at night
•London Address
•Occupation
•Between a £200 and £250 Voluntary Excess
•a previous speeding Conviction
•Ford Fiesta 16V 5dr 2007 (popular UK car - so consider a 1.3- 1.5L Toyota in Kenya probably 2004 model)
•No Security/Tracking Devices or modifications
•Estimated vehicle value of £9,000
•Estimated annual mileage of 12,000 miles
•Including Legal Protection

This should cost a
- 30yr old Male - £300- £500
- 30yr old Female - £350- £600

varies depending on insurer.

Source: http://www.petrolprices.com/car-insurance.html
click on the link for more details