wazua Sun, Jan 12, 2025

Systemic Risk in NSE
maru101
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 10:53:04 AM

The systemic risk in NSE is too big, I wonder who would put in their money in itd'oh!
Still learning...
hisah
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 11:25:33 AM

maru101 wrote:
The systemic risk in NSE is too big, I wonder who would put in their money in itd'oh!

What systemic risk?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Gadaffi
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 11:46:15 AM

maru101 wrote:

Substantiate
mulla
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 11:56:50 AM

maru101 wrote:

Alot of money is pumped in the NSE and alot of financial gains are made. The NSE is not going anywhere.
MoneyMonger
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 5:27:15 PM

mulla wrote:
maru101 wrote:

Alot of money is pumped in the NSE and alot of financial gains are made. The NSE is not going anywhere.

It would help if you are more elaborate as well as specific. When you say a lot of financial gains are made, in your reasoning how does that lead to 'NSE is not going anywhere' (sorry to quote it this way; the statement was also not readily comprehensible so I could not put it across in my own words)
There is nothing as dangerous as an Idea, when there is only one Idea
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 6:30:12 PM

maru101 wrote:

They have been doing it since 1954. Keep watching from the sidelines as we make big mulla. Adios!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 7:47:53 PM

maru101 wrote:

Huyu ametumwa. Ignore her

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
iris
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 8:08:31 PM

maru101 wrote:

Huyu ametumwa. Ignore her

How were you able to tell it is her instead of him?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 10:12:18 PM

MoneyMonger wrote:
mulla wrote:
maru101 wrote:

It would help if you are more elaborate as well as specific. When you say a lot of financial gains are made, in your reasoning how does that lead to 'NSE is not going anywhere' (sorry to quote it this way; the statement was also not readily comprehensible so I could not put it across in my own words)

In the NSE we buy companies. Unless someone is telling us these companies - Equity, BAT, Safaricom, KCB, EABL, Bamburi, Kengen, Kenya Power etc. - are collapsing or are ridiculously overpriced (evidence needed) hiyo ingine yote ni pang'ang'a.

Let people watch from the sidelines as others make money. Then in a couple of years they start complaining about widening gaps and calling people illuminati coz they have money they can only dream of 'natulikuwa nao pamoja. Kwani walitoa pesa wapi?'
holycow
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 5:30:13 AM

Learnt something new. Only knew of other kinds of risk.

DEFINITION OF 'SYSTEMIC RISK'
The possibility that an event at the company level could trigger severe instability or collapse an entire industry or economy. Systemic risk was a major contributor to the financial crisis of 2008. Companies considered a systemic risk are called “too big to fail.” These institutions are very large relative to their respective industries or make up a significant part of the overall economy. A company that is highly interconnected with others is also a source of systemic risk. Systemic risk should not be confused with systematic risk.

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/s/systemic-risk.asp
maru101
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 8:46:58 AM

Thank you @holycow , what I meant is that the company is too linked to the Kenyan stock market, a drop in it triggers a severe drop in its price, so too risky. However, for those that can partake it,buy the stock from NSE, you will be rich someday
Still learning...
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 9:45:29 AM

maru101 wrote:
Thank you @holycow , what I meant is that the company is too linked to the Kenyan stock market, a drop in it triggers a severe drop in its price, so too risky. However, for those that can partake it,buy the stock from NSE, you will be rich someday

Elaborate further. NSE makes money from fees... Trading, listings and in future advising other stock exchanges.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 9:59:32 AM

maru101 wrote:

Now I am officially confused. Do you have a problem with all the shares in the NSE and stock trading in general or the NSE share specifically??
maru101
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 10:25:23 AM

@sparkly, yes I know that,but who will consult them when the market is diving? There existence is highly dependent on the Kenyan stock market
Still learning...
maru101
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 10:26:43 AM

@maichblack the NSE share specifically, as in NSE AS A COMPANY!
Still learning...
Aguytrying
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:37:38 PM

maru101 wrote:
@maichblack the NSE share specifically, as in NSE AS A COMPANY!

wouldn't the reverse also be true. when the systemic risk happens and is at its worst. that would be the best time to buy NSE share, cause when market recovers, volumes picks up so will it. also look at JSE, that's how much room it has to grow
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Thiong'o
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 1:16:24 PM

holycow wrote:
Learnt something new. Only knew of other kinds of risk.

DEFINITION OF 'SYSTEMIC RISK'
The possibility that an event at the company level could trigger severe instability or collapse an entire industry or economy. Systemic risk was a major contributor to the financial crisis of 2008. Companies considered a systemic risk are called “too big to fail.” These institutions are very large relative to their respective industries or make up a significant part of the overall economy. A company that is highly interconnected with others is also a source of systemic risk. Systemic risk should not be confused with systematic risk.

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/s/systemic-risk.asp

Some semblance here of the systemic risk and contagion effect.
maru101
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 4:03:51 PM

Very true @aguytrying,
Still learning...
whiteowl
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 4:10:12 PM

The Jimnah Mbaru's syndrome is catching on quite fast. Giving vague warnings all over!
kryptonite
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 4:24:56 PM

MoneyMonger wrote:
mulla wrote:
maru101 wrote:

If I understood mulla correctly, he meant the NSE "ain't going nowhere" yaani hakuna pahali tunaenda, tuko ngangari kabisa
The harder you work, the luckier you get