wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

My road trip to Dar Es Salaam
UpcomingPaperChaser
#1 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 12:49:41 PM

I visited Dar Es Salaam from the 27th of Feb to 2nd of March for some official duties and noted several things:

-The late Mwalimu Nyerere is a very celebrated icon by everyone, including scholars. They purport that it is through his teachings that Tanzania is the way it is currently through the principle of Undugu that he emphasized on.

That is why in Tz you can have your fare or hotel food bills sorted out by a complete stranger without any strings attached just because he is practicing Undugu.

-Tanzanians live very simple lives as opposed to our complicated lives in Nairobi where u overwork yourself to make money hence compromising your social life and later dying of lifestyle diseases. Tanzanians are just satisfied provided that they have the basics; food, shelter, some education and health. I think we should borrow a leaf from them. For instance here in Kenya, personally, i wouldn't want to marry till i own a good running business, a house or at least a plot and a car. But there, as long as you can provide the basics, you are good to go.

-Tanzanians are very hospitable n polite people. We usually make fun of them here because of their politeness but experiencing it first hand was the most amazing thing i liked about Tanzania. Of the very many Tanzanians i interacted with, everyone was very gentle and polite. When you are on the streets and someone wants to pass, u will hear this, ''Samahani kaka, naomba nipite'' unlike Nairobi where u are passed on the streets and shoved aside then you are insulted!!

The waiters in hotels and bars, very polite n soft, though a bit slow. They just dont come and stand like trees beside you as it is in Nairobi, but talk to you so gently. Of all the places i visited, i was so touched by their hospitality n politeness and was just obliged to offer tips of at least Kshs.200/= (at the moment thats what i can afford)

In the hotels, the 'eaters' are also so polite. after a meal in Nairobi, you will shout to the waiter to bring you the bill but in Tz you will hear something like,''Samahani waiter, hebu njoo. Tafadhali naomba uniletee bill yangu. Shukran''

-The other thing, traffic police in TZ are just as terrible as these ones of ours. Bribes is a language that all African traffic policemen understand better. Minor traffic offenses are bailed out by tipping them with Tzshs. 2,000./= By the virtue that they are dressed in white, you might think that they are pure but no, ni wahuni tu kama their Kenyan counterparts.

-Traffic jam is terrible in Dar just like in Nairobi. With no age limit on imported cars, there are many cars in Dar, but at least they are good on the road. no overlappers and noise honkers!!!

- Real estate is currently in its booming phase with land not being so expensive like Kenya. Land is still affordable, like a very good place comparable to Kiambu Road, you can get 1/4 of an acre for 5 million only!!!! Dint see a lot of gated communities like here in Nairobi coz of the Undugu factor. There are no specific estates like in Nairobi, and in most places houses are mixed in nature, i.e, you can find a very nice mansion in the middle of an averagely built area.

-And finally, Tanzanian chics very nice, pretty and beautiful, but not more than some chics that i usually see in Nairobi, especially on Fridays around Nakumatt Lifestyle and near that Tom Mboya statute!! very fly. But the good thing, though, is that if you dont take care, an ugly Tanzanian chic could easily still find her way into your heart because of how polite n soft they treat you. If you continue having a chat with her for more than 30 minutes, you will end up loving or rather, liking her. For instance, there is one i met on the road and explained to her that i wanted her to help me with her phone to make a call to Kenya coz Suffericom wasnt roaming. After the call, we talked for sometime and she almost convinced me to take her to my hotel room, i turned down the offer coz i was with my bosses!! By i think they are the best, of course after Ethiopians!!

I enjoyed the short stay there having been booked in a 4 star hotel where sensors are configured. When you stand in front of the door, the doors open and only close after u have entered the room. likewise to the toilet doors, you stand there and they open up, likewise to the taps, place your hands and water starts flowing without you touching anything.
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#2 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 12:56:06 PM

Landing experience? You cannot travel all that way and fail to land.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#3 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:02:29 PM

Hey man, you just made my morning!! no story is worth writing if there was no landing experience!!!! hehehehehe, i could not land because i was with my bosses and i feared being monitored. But for those very beautiful, soft and fat sexy chics, you can land on them with abt Kshs.1000/=!!
#4 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:06:55 PM

Did you try to travel from Mbaghala or Ubungo to town? Ati they live simple? Ulienda wapi?
Reminds me the story of the four blind men.
#5 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:08:32 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:

I enjoyed the short stay there having been booked in a 4 star hotel where sensors are configured. When you stand in front of the door, the doors open and only close after u have entered the room. likewise to the toilet doors, you stand there and they open up, likewise to the taps, place your hands and water starts flowing without you touching anything.

You have a loooong way to see, ama to go?

Or may be am too traveled or was born in the upper class!

Na sasa ukikunia kwa zile choo ambazo zina-autoflash when you stand from the toilet seat? Si utasema ni madeemoni!?

#6 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:08:56 PM

Hey man, you just made my morning!! no story is worth writing if there was no landing experience!!!! hehehehehe, i could not land because i was with my bosses and i feared being monitored. But for those very beautiful, soft and fat sexy chics, you can land on them with abt Kshs.1000/=!!

Mganga kutoka Tanga amekufanyia kazi kaka ee...
#7 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:11:12 PM

Fresh from campo guy
kalenjinherdsboy
#8 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:15:41 PM

You should try working with Tanzanians. Even the laziest Kenyan is an improvement on that lot.
Wamunyota
#9 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:22:18 PM

Ulikula kiti moto? Cue bar,Samaki samaki na maisha klabu?
Tanzanians envy Kenyans.They want to be us.They hate kenyans lakini mademu wao wanatupenda
Hutia Mundu!!
#10 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:23:37 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Na sasa akionjoa msungu huko kwa kina @kiash atasemaje?

UpcomingPaperChaser
#11 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:24:13 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Lolest, Impunity and Company!!

Thats so arrogant of you, its so primitive, so silly, so backward and such utterances are what make the white call us monkeys!! being fresh out of campo is a sin????? am not fresh out college my guy, just be humble. If my expression hurts you, just turn on your sleepy and empty brains. Am not ashamed of all these, shameless mouthy people
UpcomingPaperChaser
#12 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:25:54 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
Ulikula kiti moto? Cue bar,Samaki samaki na maisha klabu?
Tanzanians envy Kenyans.They want to be us.They hate kenyans lakini mademu wao wanatupenda

Thats true man, their chics love us so much. The moment they notice your Kiswahili is broken, wow!!! you get what you want
#13 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:27:07 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Thats so arrogant of you, its so primitive, so silly, so backward and such utterances are what make the white call us monkeys!! being fresh out of campo is a sin????? am not fresh out college my guy, just be humble. If my expression hurts you, just turn on your sleepy and empty brains. Am not ashamed of all these, shameless mouthy people

Seems like @Loollest! overrated you, you are actually fresh from Lang'ata Women's Prison Primary Pchool, where your mum has been incarcerated for the past 2 decades!

Sad Sad

UpcomingPaperChaser
#14 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:27:43 PM

kalenjinherdsboy wrote:
You should try working with Tanzanians. Even the laziest Kenyan is an improvement on that lot.

@kalenjinherdsboy,

Yamune? yeah, they are so lazy and drag their feet so much, the laziest Kenyan can be the most active Tanzanian
UpcomingPaperChaser
#15 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:29:25 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Seems like @Loollest! overrated you, you are actually fresh from Lang'ata Women's Prison Primary Pchool, where your mum has been incarcerated for the past 2 decades!

Sad Sad

and you are from Nairobi Aviation, where you are employed to smell peoples' farts in Githurai buses and you have been awarded a PhD in Environmental Management!!
Wamunyota
#16 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:34:46 PM

Borrowed from @Kysse
Hutia Mundu!!
#17 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:39:12 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Sad Sad

and you are from Nairobi Aviation, where you are employed to smell peoples' farts in Githurai buses and you have been awarded a PhD in Environmental Management!!

When are they releasing your mother?

kalenjinherdsboy
#18 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:46:30 PM

Yamune? yeah, they are so lazy and drag their feet so much, the laziest Kenyan can be the most active Tanzanian

Mising kabisa. They have a very casual approach to work and many international firms end up deploying Kenyan managers for that reason.

It is still a nice place to visit, the Kenyan currency is strong and Chagga women are very beautiful. In Arusha chips mayai and a cold Serengeti beer is a must.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#19 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:52:57 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Sad Sad

They will release her when you wipe your teeth clean of peoples' shit!!
#20 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:54:50 PM

Fresh from campo guy

Sad Sad

They will release her when you wipe your teeth clean of peoples' shit!!

She can them come over I give her a bright kid.