wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Static Electricity
#1 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:06:53 AM

For a long time I have been getting some electric shocks everytime I get out of my car and touch the door to close it.It also happens when I touch my door handle when openning it.

Of late my little chicklet seems to get it too.

When I told somebody about it he told me its static electricity.(I missed the afternoon physics classesSad Sad )

I need further details.Is it risky,what can we do to stop it.
#2 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:13:34 AM

For a long time I have been getting some electric shocks everytime I get out of my car and touch the door to close it.It also happens when I touch my door handle when openning it.

When I told somebody about it he told me its static electricity.(I missed the afternoon physics classesSad Sad )

Avoid being landed in a car. The friction caused when you wriggle in sweetness on the car seat(esp artificial leather seat) produce a lot of it.

Hakuna dawa ingine.

And yes,its risky.

#3 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:35:05 AM

Happens to a couple of people I know also...
#4 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:46:18 AM

True!

Jump-steady
#5 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 12:25:19 PM

@Big lass, you are not alone. Happens to me a lot of times when i touch the car door. Used to happen to me also in the office when the floor had some tiles made of plastic but since they were changed to ceramic type, there's no more static generated on me. I would think it is the plastic mat in the car that is the culpritsmile
Ngong
#6 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 12:59:16 PM

Happens to me too, the way to avoid is to wear rubber shoes and to also not aplly certain kids of mafuta, static is always there and in your case is not serious. Thats nature and also avoid holding your phone too much and wearing polyester clothings.
Good day!
#7 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:18:00 PM

True!

#8 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:19:23 PM

Ngong wrote:
Happens to me too, the way to avoid is to wear rubber shoes and to also not aplly certain kids of mafuta, static is always there and in your case is not serious. Thats nature and also avoid holding your phone too much and wearing polyester clothings.
Good day!

Applause smile Laughing out loudly
thuks
#9 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:31:40 PM

Have the alternator belt checked, might be loose.
I care!
#10 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 1:59:12 PM

Ngong wrote:
Good day!

Ngong
#11 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 2:03:32 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Ngong wrote:
Good day!

Yeh! polyester is a good generator of static electricity.
#12 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 2:08:31 PM

Polyester clothings ndio haya basi!

#13 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 7:36:58 PM

I thought I feel this alone kumbe we are many. Mine happens even at the office while rocking on my chair ...........
#14 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:21:46 PM

[quote=Bigchick]For a long time I have been getting some electric shocks everytime I get out of my car and touch the door to close it.It also happens when I touch my door handle when openning it.

Avoid being landed in a car. The friction caused when you wriggle in sweetness on the car seat(esp artificial leather seat) produce a lot of it.

Hakuna dawa ingine.

And yes,its risky.

[/quote

Kwa gari siwezi aacha.

The sweetest moment.

Lakini wewe ni shenzi sana.
#15 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:31:17 PM

luxel
#16 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:36:06 PM

This is mostly experienced in cheap Toyotas and old Nissan. I guess the car battery is somehow touching the body. I would recommend you try a BMW.
#17 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 10:01:12 PM

Ngong wrote:
Good day!

Thanks for the advise.

Being a busy woman I tend to go for the wash and wear cloths which are mostly polyester 100%.smile smileNo ironing no drycleaning no maneno mingi.

Lakini hiyo @Welder ameonyesha huwa pure cotton white in colour.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 8:38:25 AM

luxel wrote:
This is mostly experienced in cheap Toyotas and old Nissan. I guess the car battery is somehow touching the body. I would recommend you try a BMW.

have you ever owned a car (leave a lone a bmw)? seems like you haven't.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 8:45:49 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Ngong wrote:
Good day!

#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 8:52:26 AM

luxel wrote:

Check that, If indeed it is,its very dangerous