wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

New Pay TV player.......coming soon.
#1 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 10:32:12 AM

Smart TV.....courtesy of Next Generation Broadcasting AB (NGB) of Sweden,DBTl Kenya and KBC....Bouquets will be low priced for the masses and tens of free to air channels including our own KBC 1, KTN, Citizen, NTV and K24 ......Awaiting!!!
#2 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 10:40:55 AM

Just hope they will have some good sports channells
eduu
#3 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 6:42:32 PM

I cant wait to ditch DSTV. Its a total rip off with poor service
Digitali
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:15:31 AM

@Njunge: you are right my brother, we will be spoilt for choice. with Smart TV and so many other players aligning themselves to give us the best, the mwananchi will be King. Competition will be so tight that guys like DSTV could be pushed out of the market. I have already aquired my decoder and now just waiting for the pay channels to be rolled out in April and before then am still enjoying all the free to air channels super clear.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:54:40 AM

@Digitali,
Didn't know their decoders are out......Where to get them?
murenj
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 5:56:30 AM

someone is trying to offload the OXYGEN TV decoder to me. will it be of any use to me, as far as other free to air chanells are concerned?
ispoa
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 6:36:10 AM

@ Digitali

On what satellite are the free air channels on + the symbol rate and FEC. have a spare dish that i can mount to access it.

#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 6:50:59 AM

Ispoa,
Hii si poa....No need to post in Greek.Sasa hii ni nini?
ispoa
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 7:11:18 AM

@ njunge

Pole sana totally forgot about the gukaa'z n cucu's

Anyway just meant what satellite my dish should be mounted to point to and the frequencies on which one can tune in. Satellites have different transponders running at various frequencies so this settings are manually feed into the decoder for tuning into.

Newer decoders are preset with values for orbiting satellites. everything is automated nowadays more like dstv when power poteas and comes back it automatically searches for the channels, but mine is old school and i like it coz i can access DSTV but i am not locked in. Downside is i have to perform regular searches for any updates to channels.

However, I can live with that because I don't want 3 different decoders for 3 separate satellite dishes
Digitali
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 7:44:38 AM

@ murenj: I have no experience with the Oxygen decoders but i got it from another thread here that someone was receiving something on the free to air channels some times last year. But you need to be careful in that those have been on sale earlier before the Digital platform was put in place at Signet(KBC) and may not be fully compatible! I dont know if they have the conditional access facility i.e do they have a provision for a smart card?

@ Njunge: The decoders are in the market.These are infact from Star technologies who are the guys who set up the digital platform for (signet)KBC. Their decoders are the best and are fully compatible with their system. The new guys coming into the market are purely content providers and may or may not sell decoders and if they sell, then they have to do that in liason with KBC.Check them out at Kimathi house 3rd floor in the city centre.

@Murenj: This technology is different and does not use Satelite receivers but only uses a normal aerial to get the digital signals. please note that this is meant for the general public hence it has to be cheap. You only need a decoder and no need for a dish, your Tv aerial should do!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 8:38:18 AM

@Digitali/Ispoa,

Thanx.Sasa mimi iko sabamba.
Kijana
#12 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 10:09:59 AM

@all: I have been following the threads on the digital decoders keenly for some time. I am looking at probably selling this decoders for profit, can someone advice me where i can get them at wholesale price to stock in my small shop and to family members because as noted, everybody will need the decoder!
Digitali
#13 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 1:26:15 PM

@kijana. you are my guy, I can see you are like an eagle and you fly high and see far. I Saw what you're seeing and rushed to get a share of this business. Talk to me. will direct you to the wholesellers! give me your email address will give you more details!
Kijana
#14 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 2:00:28 PM

@digitali- get me on kijana.mzuri@yahoo.com