Kikuyu Translation
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 9:07:04 AM

Guys and ladies I need the English names for these two trees in Kikuyu

Murichu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 9:15:16 AM

Murichu-Mauritiu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali

Mtafiti
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 9:21:25 AM

Murichu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali

@ Alma, the Mirichu (plural)trees had a botanical name like "Aconanthera" can't remember the other one. Grows mostly in semi arid areas. Found some along the banks of Maragwa river in Kenya, a place called Kyuso in Kitui as well. Used to make arrow poison those days. Could it be the one?

I have never heard of "Muthanaguru" but knows of Muturanguru.
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 9:44:48 AM

Mtafiti wrote:

Murichu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali

@ Alma, the Mirichu (plural)trees had a botanical name like "Aconanthera" can't remember the other one. Grows mostly in semi arid areas. Found some along the banks of Maragwa river in Kenya, a place called Kyuso in Kitui as well. Used to make arrow poison those days. Could it be the one?

Like Sukaringuru?
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 11:38:05 AM

Mtafiti wrote:

Murichu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali

yes mtafiti its the one for arrow poison. Super. Just super

The other one must be that Muturangaru...it was lost in translation by a mzungu. What is that one called?
Wakanyugi
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 11:46:44 AM

Murichu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali

You might want to invest in a copy of the "Kikuyu Botanical Dictionary of Plant Names' by Dr F.N. Gachathi.

If you visit KEFRI in Muguga you might be lucky to meet Dr Gachathi himself and he will gladly answer your questions; maybe even autograph your book for you.

And Muthananguru has nothing to do with 'sukari nguru.' It is a shrub that has medicinal uses. Its botanical name is..........here RINK

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 1:05:38 PM

Ahsante sana Wakanyugi. But I have no intention of learning Kikuyu. I need the info to show off to someone. Kama unajua tafadhali saidia. Ukiendelea hivyo I'll send you an amazon link to a book about bots and ddoss attacks on wazua.
Wakanyugi
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 1:46:58 PM

Ahsante sana Wakanyugi. But I have no intention of learning Kikuyu. I need the info to show off to someone. Kama unajua tafadhali saidia. Ukiendelea hivyo I'll send you an amazon link to a book about bots and ddoss attacks on wazua.

You misunderstand. The book is not written in Kikuyu and you don't have to learn any of it.

Why do you want to take Mzee Gachathis knowledge without paying?

Anyway if you promise to buy me a beer at the next mbuzi, I will find the answer for you later today.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 3:03:45 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

You misunderstand. The book is not written in Kikuyu and you don't have to learn any of it.

Anyway if you promise to buy me a beer at the next mbuzi, I will find the answer for you later today.

Fobe pap!
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 3:07:45 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

Fobe pap!

Can you send me the link for boats to sperm my ex?
Wakanyugi
#11 Posted : Saturday, February 28, 2015 12:33:10 AM

Murichu
Muthanaguru

Saidieni tafadhali

Here you go:

- Murichu - Aconcanthera schimperi (fruits are edible but the root is deadly poison. In the past roots used for making arrow poison)

Muthananguru/Muturanguru/muondwe (could be wrong here) - Vernonia bochstetteri (has soft leaves used in the past as toilet paper. Bunch of leaves carried by elders as a symbol of authority. Leaves also used to ripen bananas. Boiled leaves have medicinal value but I forget what they cured)

Amani254
#12 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 5:51:36 AM

What a relief to see discussion on such an issue.
Wamunyota
#13 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 9:38:11 AM

Amani254 wrote:
What a relief to see discussion on such an issue.

d'oh! d'oh!
Hutia Mundu!!
Atalaku
#14 Posted : Monday, March 02, 2015 10:07:41 AM

Murugu Herbal anaweza saidia wewe....