wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

4 Pages«<234
Are fathers trading their daughters?
#61 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 3:24:13 PM

I am tempted to dismiss what you've posted here as pure fiction/imagination for reasons best known to you.First,you outline the 3 steps as they should be carried out.From the onset,let it be known to you then, not one step overlaps into the other and thus they are done on three or more occasions. Unfortunately, you go ahead to describe a process where what comes long after dowry negotiations, appears first. You go ahead and carry out procedures in step two at stage one amid so many other mistakes.

Let me give you benefit of doubt and assume that you actually went through what you have described.Two things happened, your lead negotiator is a total clueless idiot or two, which i think is a very likely scenario,some of the cash you gave out freely and willingly,is lying in you lead negotiator's Mpesa/Mshwari account.Always remember, a sucker is born every day and a fool is soon parted with his/her moneysmile

I would disagree with you on the the steps and occasions (not on how they should be but what at times happens nowadays). I have witnessed all those steps done in a single day. And not all procedures are followed to the letter. Nowadays, people want to 'save' on time and do everything at a go.
#62 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 3:36:13 PM

@Forester,

Get the boy to threaten the girl over "an impossible list" and see how many demands will be dropped before negotiations begin.You will be surprised.

Totally agree with this!! Kuna mmoja aliitishwa list totaling to sh1m. The guy told the chic, "Sio kwa ubaya, but hiyo pesa wacha ninunue kaproti." The chic did a cost-benefit analysis and disappeared from her family to go and live with the man.
whiteowl
#63 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 4:26:25 PM

Parents who are only concerned about financial benefits when their daughter is being married don't care about her. They can hardly remember the face of the guy who's marrying her after the dowry negotiations/payments are over coz they were too focused on his wallet. My grandfather told me the main purpose of dowry was to create/cement a long lasting relationship between the two families. This is why some communities would request payments in installments even if whatever they are asking can be paid at one go.(I.e. 5 goats.2 goats 1st installment n 3 goats later) . This way you get to know each without money taking taking centre stage. From the posts above, dowry is nowadays a one day heist .
#64 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 4:36:27 PM

[quote=Njung'e]
I would disagree with you on the the steps and occasions (not on how they should be but what at times happens nowadays). I have witnessed all those steps done in a single day. And not all procedures are followed to the letter. Nowadays, people want to 'save' on time and do everything at a go.

Personally,i haven't witnessed one done same day into conclusion...And if it's happening,then the meaning of the whole exercise is lost!!Pray
Atalaku
#65 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 4:53:55 PM

[quote=Njung'e]

Personally,i haven't witnessed one done same day into conclusion...And if it's happening,then the meaning of the whole exercise is lost!!Pray

Yes it happens. Were told that instead of going back all the way to ukambani and come back another day we could finish several steps by just walking outof the house and pretending that we have gone to ukambani and walk back to do step 2. The walking out is going to ukambani and walking in is coming fron ukambani and that denotes a different day @jb is right. Maybe you have been too busy removing bugs from your scrotum to notice the changes in cultural practices that are happening!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#66 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 4:59:34 PM

Atalaku wrote:
[quote=Njung'e][quote=Jus Blazin][quote=Njung'e]
The walking out is going to ukambani and walking in is coming fron ukambani and that denotes a different day @jb is right. Maybe you have been too busy removing bugs from your scrotum to notice the changes in cultural practices that are happening!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

....And you believed?? Then you call that change in cultural practices??Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....My wrinkled bugged scrotum!smile
#67 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 5:00:15 PM

Atalaku wrote:
[quote=Njung'e]

Yes it happens. Were told that instead of going back all the way to ukambani and come back another day we could finish several steps by just walking outof the house and pretending that we have gone to ukambani and walk back to do step 2. The walking out is going to ukambani and walking in is coming fron ukambani and that denotes a different day @jb is right. Maybe you have been too busy removing bugs from your scrotum to notice the changes in cultural practices that are happening!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

WaahLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Atalaku
#68 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 5:22:33 PM

Atalaku wrote:
The walking out is going to ukambani and walking in is coming fron ukambani and that denotes a different day @jb is right. Maybe you have been too busy removing bugs from your scrotum to notice the changes in cultural practices that are happening!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

....And you believed?? Then you call that change in cultural practices??Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....My wrinkled bugged scrotum!smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Sorry I had forgotten that the scrotum is wrinkled and left out that word!!!
#69 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 5:48:32 PM

Atalaku wrote:
[quote=Njung'e]

Scrotal hair!

#70 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 9:12:34 PM

Atalaku wrote:

@Njung'e, it's true. Mnaambiwa mtoke, then you come back after a few minutes for the next step. If the money can be accessed now, why wait for a few months? Scr*w cultural practices.
#71 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 10:55:05 PM

Atalaku wrote:
[quote=Njung'e]