wazua Mon, Mar 23, 2026

8 Pages«<45678>
Are fathers trading their daughters?
#51 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 7:07:36 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
When i wanted to get married, i asked for an appointment with my father in-law. The appointment was to notify him of our intention to marry. I told him that ,since am now enganged to the daughter, i would like us to wed as soon as possible. I went further and asked him if i can delay Dowry payment till i get a formal job. When i mentioned Dowry, he laughed. He told him ,his conscience would not allow him to get Dowry from an orphan. He gave me a free pass and paid 50 percent of our wedding expenses

I was smiling until I read the part highlighted above.That was simple gesture from man but a sad and day for men
#52 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:20:11 PM

....and always remember never to go with boys for dowry negotiations...i will tell you an interesting one some day.

Have heard this before,'guthuria'during negotiations?
could mean a no.of things..

Atalaku
#53 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 9:47:11 PM

[quote=Obi 1 Kanobi]@magigi
I would think i know where the problem is in this case.First,you got a written list and played gentlemen.Now you want a dowry manual.smile.In some families,the moment you opened your wallets would have meant some nyahunyos on your backs.Ni ng'ombe mmkuja kununua? Your team was a disaster from the startsmile

...Yes after some reflection I think we lost the plot right from the start. But their greed was unstoppable. I think there is still time to redeem ourselves...
#54 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 8:00:03 AM

....and always remember never to go with boys for dowry negotiations...i will tell you an interesting one some day.

Ihii itithiaga uthoni

@Atalaku
Wacha tuseme mlicheswa .... Nyaspondi kando.
#55 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 8:46:03 AM

Atalaku good on you for saying the truth.

And the truth is Kikuyus have taken marriage to the same levels of Kyuna's church. Hawana haya and yes you shall be given a list.

Why pretend that the obvious is not happening?

The customs may be all fine and dandy but the participants these days have no problem fleecing every young man that goes for these things. The worst thing is that even your wife will participate in your fleecing. Don't be surprised if she has already told them how much money you are carrying.

Watu waseme ukweli hapa.

Isn't it true that if your father had not finished his dowry he cannot take the daughters until his "bill" is cleared?

This tradition is upus of dowries. Total upus. Mine ni pale kwa chief magistrate. When I'm sure my kids are well educated, then we shall do that nonsense of sijui kutoa marinda kwa gate.

And it had better be a fun day as it used to be. I ain't removing money for some mzee to have karubu for a month or to pay anyone elses dowry.

Kwangu, haiwesekani. And if the chick can't get that in her head, I'll go get a Turkana.

wilyum
#56 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 9:19:15 AM

i think we are over emphasizing on kikuyus.

its not only them, even other tribes have followed suit...i married from coast and the experience is almost similar to this, kwanza huko the procedures are many, went there for 2 times and were it not for being kichwa ngumu , it would have been 4 times.
Atalaku
#57 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 12:39:12 PM

Atalaku good on you for saying the truth.

And the truth is Kikuyus have taken marriage to the same levels of Kyuna's church. Hawana haya and yes you shall be given a list.

Why pretend that the obvious is not happening?

The customs may be all fine and dandy but the participants these days have no problem fleecing every young man that goes for these things. The worst thing is that even your wife will participate in your fleecing. Don't be surprised if she has already told them how much money you are carrying.

Watu waseme ukweli hapa.

Isn't it true that if your father had not finished his dowry he cannot take the daughters until his "bill" is cleared?

This tradition is upus of dowries. Total upus. Mine ni pale kwa chief magistrate. When I'm sure my kids are well educated, then we shall do that nonsense of sijui kutoa marinda kwa gate.

And it had better be a fun day as it used to be. I ain't removing money for some mzee to have karubu for a month or to pay anyone elses dowry.

Kwangu, haiwesekani. And if the chick can't get that in her head, I'll go get a Turkana.

Atalaku
#58 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 12:46:15 PM

carygoh wrote:

Ihii itithiaga uthoni

@Atalaku

...Wacha tu...lakini nitakwambia saa hii vile tutajilipisa kisasi!!!
Forester
#59 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 2:14:08 PM

Atalaku wrote:
carygoh wrote:

Ihii itithiaga uthoni

@Atalaku

...Wacha tu...lakini nitakwambia saa hii vile tutajilipisa kisasi!!!

@Atalaku,report here after 2nd visit.
Lakini this greed is everywhere.There're some guys from Makindu who made us sweat early this month. Below is a sample of what was asked:
Step ONE
1. Mbui-7
2. Nthasya mukwa - 50k
3. Ndata ya musee - 20k
4. Mavula - 5*6 bed
5. Suka- 2 pairs
6. Nthungi ya mama
7. Beer and sodas- 5 crates each
8. Kavumbu ya wazee - 10k

Step TWO-
1.mbui 80- 4k each
2. Ng'ombe - 3 cows@ 25k each and 1 bull @ 35k
3. Honey (ngoyoo) - 20k
4. Bags of food- Maize 3 bags and beans 1 bag.
5. Maiyu meu
6. Muthinzio wa asyai-token of appreciation for parents.

Stage THREE
1. 1 nzau ya ilute muthenya wa kyathi.
2. Cooking enough food and refreshments for guests.
3. Grandparents - blankets and sheets.
4. Uncles and aunts - shirts and lessos.

5. Beer and sodas- 5 crates each.

On top of all these, the guy is required to go cook on all three stages i.e. travel all the way to Makindu from KikuyuSad . No caterer to cook,they want to see the guy cook live live (hii ni mateso),carry own water,sufurias and ingredients plus travel previous day for preparations. This is just absurd and unacceptable.

@Atalaku, care to explain some of those things asked?

Note: NOT me,already crossed the bridge way back.

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2015 2:45:49 PM

@Forester,

Get the boy to threaten the girl over "an impossible list" and see how many demands will be dropped before negotiations begin.You will be surprised.
8 Pages«<45678>