Are fathers trading their daughters?
Atalaku
#21 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 10:38:15 AM

Atalaku wrote:
sheri wrote:
What I know for sure is that you were fleeced or you went there with an attitude of am rich. That mzee leading the negotiatons noted this ha! ha!.
Alternatively the father gave the clan to much leeway in this case he lost control . when this happens the father becomes a bystander.

Or your people had a very poor negotiator if he is told 40000/- he just rushes to his wallet and gives the money. I have seen people quoting outrageous amount but end up giving 1000/- for the gate.
@Atalaku tell your friend kwa dowry hakuna usonko and your negotiation skills are questionable

Well...I was not the family spokesman. Mine was logistics...to get people to nakuru and I did. The only mistake I did was to arrive there in style! You know wakamba na wajaluo ni kama sawa when it comes to show off!!! Bit now we are wiser...We are having a review meeting over the weekend and I can tell you things will be different the next visit.
@sheri...the breakdown we were given was based on the elder sister who wsd married last year. The family spokesman looked like that is his full time job....He did not even want any bargaining. ..he would consult once in while with the father and any time that happened our request would be turned down.

Boss dowry payment process is negotiation. We once went to Muranga' Kaharati to be exact and they brought the opus ya opening gate, shukas for mathes, tank for mama etc before negotiations. We told them politely that we need to be welcome before we start talking. Push came to shove and from a demand of 75k, the gate was opened with 2k and shopping. Then they toned down and started talking. And all this and the couple had lived for 7 years and had a son, bure kabisa. Huko kwetu hiyo umetolea watu mzigo kubwa kwa boma!!!!!

@magigi you guys were played. Never ever try to show that you have money ati mpaka muko na deni ya 65k, poleni Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

...kutouliza ni ujinga mtupu...I wish I had brought this up before we went.
Knowledge is power...The whole thing will have to be relooked at again and re-allocation made...
#22 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 10:42:27 AM

Atalaku wrote:
sheri wrote:
What I know for sure is that you were fleeced or you went there with an attitude of am rich. That mzee leading the negotiatons noted this ha! ha!.
Alternatively the father gave the clan to much leeway in this case he lost control . when this happens the father becomes a bystander.

Or your people had a very poor negotiator if he is told 40000/- he just rushes to his wallet and gives the money. I have seen people quoting outrageous amount but end up giving 1000/- for the gate.
@Atalaku tell your friend kwa dowry hakuna usonko and your negotiation skills are questionable

Well...I was not the family spokesman. Mine was logistics...to get people to nakuru and I did. The only mistake I did was to arrive there in style! You know wakamba na wajaluo ni kama sawa when it comes to show off!!! Bit now we are wiser...We are having a review meeting over the weekend and I can tell you things will be different the next visit.
@sheri...the breakdown we were given was based on the elder sister who wsd married last year. The family spokesman looked like that is his full time job....He did not even want any bargaining. ..he would consult once in while with the father and any time that happened our request would be turned down.

Pole mzee, as you have been told earlier, you were cleaned out. The 'opening of the gate' rituals I have seen didnt have money changing hands, but goods, like abig banana branch, some ngwacis and ndumas. Terrible precedent you have set.
Now you must not be in any hurry to make a successive visit. Cool your heels for a good few months, with little to no contact, let the kin demolish the juicy 35k you left them first; This will give them the impression that you know you were fleeced and are not happy about it. Get a new hardnosed negotiator who can dig in their heels. You want a brinksman who will draw the line, refuse to be squeezed beyond a certain point and be ready to pull your side out of the negotiations and back to Ukambani. Remember, nobody wants embarassment, even the bride-to-be's family. When things appear to be only a hair away from unravelling completely, the other side will rein in their lead negotiator, who has your people on the ropes now. Twice I have seen these greedy, tough types capitulate when people started entering vehicles ready to leave.
All the same, do not carry bitterness into the negotiations, its just business, and the opposite guy just outwitted you. It doesn't mean that the family is bad.
Good luck next time.
Forester
#23 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 11:23:34 AM

Atalaku wrote:
Are Kikuyu fathers trading their daughters?
I have just read this http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=31658 and remembered of the incident below. Of course I don’t support the sentiments expressed in that thread.
On Thursday I led a delegation of fellow Kambas all the way to Nakuru to seek a hand in marriage for my nephew. What I witnessed is beyond belief. I am not here to disparage or condemn people’s age-old cultural practises, which I always support and which I think have held communities together. Don’t even tell me to stick to my Kamba women. I have heard that before. Love transcends all barriers. When Romeo (a Montague) decided to go for Juliet (a Capulet )1, nothing could stop him. Let me jog your memory. I guess you have all interacted or had some form of intercourse with this play. The Montagues and The Capulets were sworn enemies and their old age feud had spanned for many years. Romeo fell in love with Juliet and there was nothing that could stop him from getting his woman and of course this led a tragic end of the two lovers. Enough of that.

What I am not comfortable with are some Kikuyu merchants who have made marriage negotiations a business. When we arrived at the gate, in a convoy of four cars, we were not let in until we had paid ksh 35,000…pesa ya kufunguliwa gate. Some very good lunch was offered. Little did we know that we were going to pay for it! After being fed we were told to go home unless we had any other business. I love comedy when it comes my way!!! Now the fellow who was telling us all this, the family spokesman looked like he had been hired to raid our pockets.

From the research I had done I knew Kikuyu marriage customs are done in 3 phases
1. Kumenya mucii - getting to know the brides home.
2. Kuhanda ithigi - Literally means planting a branch of a tree, planting a beacon (why liken a girl with kaproti!).
3. Kuracia - Actual dowry payment.
These are the same phases that Kambas follow. What I did not know are those other things that had been added. When you go kumenya mucii, of course you carry something for the family…(nthungi –kiondo for women and some money to ‘start friendship’ (kutuma nduu).

This is what we were slapped with…And not even given time to go and organize ourselves because we were not expecting that. My little research http://www.elimuasilia.o...-marriage-ceremony.html did not say we were to pay entrance fee and such other demands.
a. Kufungua gate ks - 35,000
b. kuhanda ithigi - planting a beacon” Ksh 40,000
c. mwati na harika (or something like that ...not sure what it was, i lost interest)ksh 60,000
d. Kukalisha wamama chini - Ksh 10,000
e. Kuahura ksh 5,000
f. Wanaume –kuinua wanaume na kurudishana mkono - ksh 15,000
So we were given a bill of ksh 165,000, which we paid 100k to be followed by 65k the following day through mpesa.
After doing all this were now allowed to start the dowry negotiations. The dowry could be anything from ksh 500,000.

I am not saying marriage traditions are bad because I have gone through the phases and still paying dowry. What troubles me is a father putting her daughter in the market and bargaining the way you would when buying a cow or a piece of land. I know this is not how marriage customs among the Kikuyu used to be. Most of the fathers releasing their girls nowadays have commercialized this noble traditional practice. This is to the detriment of the couple and has far reaching ramifications on their future
1. Will the husband keep on reminding the girl that she was bought and therefore have no say in family matters?
2. Kikuyu women…were you supportive of these money making ventures when you were being betrothed, telling your parents that that they should extract as much as they could from your would be husband?
3. Research shows that there is a lot of family violence in Central Kenya? Could this be a contributing factor? I don’t know!
4. When parents of the girls are sick or have something that requires money, does the husband hurry up to participate (I wouldn’t!!!)
5. Are these the acceptable marriage procedures and payments nowadays?

1 Shakespeare, William, and Jill L. Levenson. Romeo and Juliet. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2000.

Why Thursday i.e. weekday?d'oh! d'oh!
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#24 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 11:35:46 AM

Knowledge is power...The whole thing will have to be relooked at again and re-allocation made...

the rule is, whenever you are going to another community to fulfil this useless outdated custom, look for a friend from that community with experience in that nonsense to assist you with the procedures etc
Trump
#25 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 11:48:52 AM

The negotiator on the girls side is a pro!i can hire him when my daughter is of age.!
Just do it!
sheri
#26 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 11:49:10 AM

the rule is, whenever you are going to another community to fulfil this useless outdated custom, look for a friend from that community with experience in that nonsense to assist you with the procedures etc

Word. If he was a kiuk angekuwa anafutwa kwa kalocal huko nakssmile smile smile ask wamunyota .
#27 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 11:50:15 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
This is partly the reason I believe this culture of dowry no longer makes much sense and should be done away with.

weee,lipeni dowry,shortcuts will haunt your kids after you are long gone,sorry this is Africa where we are bound by traditions..nowhere to hide humu ndani.
A sadist relative can emerge 100yrs later and cause hell for your greatgrand kids over a blind/nyelees goat you presented to your wife's at sunset.

Agreed. This is Africa but it is not true that we are bound by traditions. Which traditions do we keep apart from this dowry nonsense??

Zamani it made sense coz if Swenani paid goats for you, you ceased being a member of your clan and became a member of the Swenanis not just by name, but your labour in their fields added to the wealth of the Swenanis. Swenani effectively bought a hand for tilling their land/looking after their livestock from your clan and that is why they paid them!

Siku hizi we no longer have clans owning any land, we own as individuals. With everybody moving to the urban centres and buying a kapuloti there, people no longer belong to the man's clan. Infact, most women are ensuring the family's attention goes to the woman's side. At best, it's a fifty-fifty, both sides are OUR parents, right?
#28 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 11:58:18 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
This is partly the reason I believe this culture of dowry no longer makes much sense and should be done away with.

ditto! I always cringe when i hear guys died in an accident when coming from negotiations.

Kuna upuuzi haitafanyika kwangu when it comes to a time of handing over my daughter

I have seen cases of enmity between families developing as a result of some of the shenanigans that occurs
#29 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:29:20 PM

http://www.sde.co.ke/m/?...iations-crying-extortion
#30 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:35:27 PM

Atalaku, bkismat, Guest (8), masukuma, nakujua, Njung'e, Swenani
#31 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:36:37 PM

I am tempted to dismiss what you've posted here as pure fiction/imagination for reasons best known to you.First,you outline the 3 steps as they should be carried out.From the onset,let it be known to you then, not one step overlaps into the other and thus they are done on three or more occasions. Unfortunately, you go ahead to describe a process where what comes long after dowry negotiations, appears first. You go ahead and carry out procedures in step two at stage one amid so many other mistakes.

Let me give you benefit of doubt and assume that you actually went through what you have described.Two things happened, your lead negotiator is a total clueless idiot or two, which i think is a very likely scenario,some of the cash you gave out freely and willingly,is lying in you lead negotiator's Mpesa/Mshwari account.Always remember, a sucker is born every day and a fool is soon parted with his/her moneysmile
#32 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:43:16 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Shida ni people are willing to pay such amounts, and the fact that you paid the cash means that you were prepared for it, they know it's cash from the family and friends, not from the young man.

People are not willing but are coerced. ..You dont want to look funny bargaining for a price as if the girl is a commodity on sale in an open market where the highest bidder takes it. We wanted to take that route but held ourselves back just to study the situation.
...WHAT WOULD BE THE IDEAL 'TOKEN' FOR for each category?

In an ideal situation it should be the visitors deciding what gift they want to give their hosts, not the other way round - otherwise the whole scenario is turned into a market/commodity thing.
#33 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:45:29 PM

I am tempted to dismiss what you've posted here as pure fiction/imagination for reasons best known to you.First,you outline the 3 steps as they should be carried out.From the onset,let it be known to you then, not one step overlaps into the other and thus they are done on three or more occasions. Unfortunately, you go ahead to describe a process where what comes long after dowry negotiations, appears first. You go ahead and carry out procedures in step two at stage one amid so many other mistakes.

Let me give you benefit of doubt and assume that you actually went through what you have described.Two things happened, your lead negotiator is an idiot and two, which i think is a very likely scenario,some of the cash you gave out freely and willingly is lying in you lead negotiator's Mpesa/Mshwari account.

#34 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:51:29 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly This must be one of your 'creative thinking' stories. Who does that? Either mulienda mukijiskia masonko or you had a very bogus negotiator, or both. In fact, most of the times, if you give the amount that is asked on the spot without trying to negotiate or to show like you are really struggling to raise that amount, its treated as madharau ndogo ndogo and could lead to much more being asked for in future.

Basically, every item that is asked for is fixed...Thenge, mwati, kenda muihuru and all those other things are known. The query that comes is in valuing how much each of them will cost. Eg If its a hundrend sheep, how much do you pay for each? Is it 10k, 5k, 1k, 500bob? Some families will quote one at 30k...then you will negotiate downwards and end up paying 3k per sheep. In some families, the two sides would have met before hand and agreed on how much they will quote...on the d-day, the negotiations are just a formality.

The negotiating part is supposed to be fun and to demonstrate the girl you are getting is worth and has been well brought up. That is why you chose her in the first place.

All said and done, there are some rogue uncles and aunts that if not controlled can spoil everything. In such cases, I blame the father for not having talked to them first.
#35 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:02:39 PM

The essence of dowry was and should be, to build links between involved families ,cultivate mutual respect and also to know one another thus avoid cases of cross marriages in two families.

The first step would, and remains "kumenya mucii". I believe this cuts across many tribes and it's a two way process. In all cases, it would be the bridegroom entourage visiting the bride's home first. The hosts may offer food and the more elaborate the reception,the better.The hosts though,do not expect anything in return although the visitors will have carried presents.This presents are in ciondos and the ciondos are not likely to go back home empty....The presents take various forms and shapes.At no point are they a subject of any discussions or negotiations and therefore,they cannot be quantified.Here, the Agikuyus then have a saying on the same; "Ya kuheyo ndiroraguo magego".

To wind up,dowry is a matter of intense negotiations and since both families hold respect for each other,it's a give and take process.All needs be done is, once agreed, the same is put down and witnessed. There are no conditions as to how much should be given at what point or time. Dowry,therefore is pread over a lifetime.Here again, the Agikuyus have another saying,"Uthoni nduthiraga"....Hopefully,you get someone to interpret for you.
#36 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:10:26 PM

Lakini i have heard stories (bar stories to be exact) that when you go negotiating for a women coming from around Turi hapo Molo, hapo even if its kiuk vs kiuk, you will see dust. Now if its non-kiuk going to get a girl, ni kulia machozi..... bar talk lakini!
#37 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:16:24 PM

Lakini i have heard stories (bar stories to be exact) that when you go negotiating for a women coming from around Turi hapo Molo, hapo even if its kiuk vs kiuk, you will see dust. Now if its non-kiuk going to get a girl, ni kulia machozi..... bar talk lakini!

You must realize that women are not for sale and therefore,dowry is not a price.Let's say women have a zero cash value and this should remain so.When a family attaches some money price value to their daughter,take a walk but if they place a sentimental value onto the girl,you are onto something goodsmile....and always remember never to go with boys for dowry negotiations...i will tell you an interesting one some day.
Atalaku
#38 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:53:54 PM

Let me give you benefit of doubt and assume that you actually went through what you have described.Two things happened, your lead negotiator is a total clueless idiot or two, which i think is a very likely scenario,some of the cash you gave out freely and willingly,is lying in you lead negotiator's Mpesa/Mshwari account.Always remember, a sucker is born every day and a fool is soon parted with his/her moneysmile

...I have never been a hater and if I was I would not have agreed to play a part in the exercise, if what i think you are thinking is exactly what you are thinking.. I am not a Kikuyu and so I wouldn't know exactly what comes before what. To be honest on Thursday that is what happened. The father actually produced a list which he gave to the spokesperson to refer to...
...Can I hire you as a spokesman in the next visit? Rather than defend your fellow rogue fathers, you should know that these things exist and should be finding a way of doing away with them.
Atalaku
#39 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:58:13 PM

You must realize that women are not for sale and therefore,dowry is not a price.Let's say women have a zero cash value and this should remain so.When a family attaches some money price value to their daughter,take a walk but if they place a sentimental value onto the girl,you are onto something goodsmile....and always remember never to go with boys for dowry negotiations...i will tell you an interesting one some day.

...Not many think like you...Many are out to make a kill from their daughters ...just like that family I visited made a kill...
Atalaku
#40 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 2:03:51 PM

The essence of dowry was and should be, to build links between involved families ,cultivate mutual respect and also to know one another thus avoid cases of cross marriages in two families.

The first step would, and remains "kumenya mucii". I believe this cuts across many tribes and it's a two way process. In all cases, it would be the bridegroom entourage visiting the bride's home first. The hosts may offer food and the more elaborate the reception,the better.The hosts though,do not expect anything in return although the visitors will have carried presents.This presents are in ciondos and the ciondos are not likely to go back home empty....The presents take various forms and shapes.At no point are they a subject of any discussions or negotiations and therefore,they cannot be quantified.Here, the Agikuyus then have a saying on the same; "Ya kuheyo ndiroraguo magego".

To wind up,dowry is a matter of intense negotiations and since both families hold respect for each other,it's a give and take process.All needs be done is, once agreed, the same is put down and witnessed. There are no conditions as to how much should be given at what point or time. Dowry,therefore is pread over a lifetime.Here again, the Agikuyus have another saying,"Uthoni nduthiraga"....Hopefully,you get someone to interpret for you.

...Unless the family we visited must be a bogus family hapa umedanganya. This is exactly what happens in ukambani... About the visits, we were told they cannot happen unless we have planted a beacon
...Could you be aware of any published book or any other material about Kikuyu marriage customs? I would appreciate and probably I would use it as a reference point....