wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Are fathers trading their daughters?
Atalaku
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 22, 2015 10:37:56 PM

Are Kikuyu fathers trading their daughters?
I have just read this http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=31658 and remembered of the incident below. Of course I don’t support the sentiments expressed in that thread.
On Thursday I led a delegation of fellow Kambas all the way to Nakuru to seek a hand in marriage for my nephew. What I witnessed is beyond belief. I am not here to disparage or condemn people’s age-old cultural practises, which I always support and which I think have held communities together. Don’t even tell me to stick to my Kamba women. I have heard that before. Love transcends all barriers. When Romeo (a Montague) decided to go for Juliet (a Capulet )1, nothing could stop him. Let me jog your memory. I guess you have all interacted or had some form of intercourse with this play. The Montagues and The Capulets were sworn enemies and their old age feud had spanned for many years. Romeo fell in love with Juliet and there was nothing that could stop him from getting his woman and of course this led a tragic end of the two lovers. Enough of that.

What I am not comfortable with are some Kikuyu merchants who have made marriage negotiations a business. When we arrived at the gate, in a convoy of four cars, we were not let in until we had paid ksh 35,000…pesa ya kufunguliwa gate. Some very good lunch was offered. Little did we know that we were going to pay for it! After being fed we were told to go home unless we had any other business. I love comedy when it comes my way!!! Now the fellow who was telling us all this, the family spokesman looked like he had been hired to raid our pockets.

From the research I had done I knew Kikuyu marriage customs are done in 3 phases
1. Kumenya mucii - getting to know the brides home.
2. Kuhanda ithigi - Literally means planting a branch of a tree, planting a beacon (why liken a girl with kaproti!).
3. Kuracia - Actual dowry payment.
These are the same phases that Kambas follow. What I did not know are those other things that had been added. When you go kumenya mucii, of course you carry something for the family…(nthungi –kiondo for women and some money to ‘start friendship’ (kutuma nduu).

This is what we were slapped with…And not even given time to go and organize ourselves because we were not expecting that. My little research http://www.elimuasilia.o...-marriage-ceremony.html did not say we were to pay entrance fee and such other demands.
a. Kufungua gate ks - 35,000
b. kuhanda ithigi - planting a beacon” Ksh 40,000
c. mwati na harika (or something like that ...not sure what it was, i lost interest)ksh 60,000
d. Kukalisha wamama chini - Ksh 10,000
e. Kuahura ksh 5,000
f. Wanaume –kuinua wanaume na kurudishana mkono - ksh 15,000
So we were given a bill of ksh 165,000, which we paid 100k to be followed by 65k the following day through mpesa.
After doing all this were now allowed to start the dowry negotiations. The dowry could be anything from ksh 500,000.

I am not saying marriage traditions are bad because I have gone through the phases and still paying dowry. What troubles me is a father putting her daughter in the market and bargaining the way you would when buying a cow or a piece of land. I know this is not how marriage customs among the Kikuyu used to be. Most of the fathers releasing their girls nowadays have commercialized this noble traditional practice. This is to the detriment of the couple and has far reaching ramifications on their future
1. Will the husband keep on reminding the girl that she was bought and therefore have no say in family matters?
2. Kikuyu women…were you supportive of these money making ventures when you were being betrothed, telling your parents that that they should extract as much as they could from your would be husband?
3. Research shows that there is a lot of family violence in Central Kenya? Could this be a contributing factor? I don’t know!
4. When parents of the girls are sick or have something that requires money, does the husband hurry up to participate (I wouldn’t!!!)
5. Are these the acceptable marriage procedures and payments nowadays?

1 Shakespeare, William, and Jill L. Levenson. Romeo and Juliet. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2000.

#2 Posted : Sunday, February 22, 2015 11:54:33 PM

This is partly the reason I believe this culture of dowry no longer makes much sense and should be done away with.
kiterunner
#3 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 12:06:28 AM

sad state
our goals are best achieved indirectly
#4 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:04:46 AM

Shida ni people are willing to pay such amounts, and the fact that you paid the cash means that you were prepared for it, they know it's cash from the family and friends, not from the young man.
sheri
#5 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:07:41 AM

What I know for sure is that you were fleeced or you went there with an attitude of am rich. That mzee leading the negotiatons noted this ha! ha!.
Alternatively the father gave the clan to much leeway in this case he lost control . when this happens the father becomes a bystander.

Or your people had a very poor negotiator if he is told 40000/- he just rushes to his wallet and gives the money. I have seen people quoting outrageous amount but end up giving 1000/- for the gate.
@Atalaku tell your friend kwa dowry hakuna usonko and your negotiation skills are questionable
sheri
#6 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:09:21 AM

@kysse he!he! nakuona dada
#7 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:16:16 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
This is partly the reason I believe this culture of dowry no longer makes much sense and should be done away with.

weee,lipeni dowry,shortcuts will haunt your kids after you are long gone,sorry this is Africa where we are bound by traditions..nowhere to hide humu ndani.
A sadist relative can emerge 100yrs later and cause hell for your greatgrand kids over a blind/nyelees goat you presented to your wife's at sunset.

Making it a business to generate money is evil.

#8 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 1:33:04 AM

sheri wrote:
@kysse he!he! nakuona dada

By the way it can be very lucrative biz.
dowry marry divorce x 10,max 1 yr.no kids.jks.
So that kwetu ends up looking like a zoo of sorts.Ngamia from Alpha,bees from nderitu,sheep from ndondori,cats and dogs,donkeys from zubedi etc.
She will be called 'sheri kamoneymaker.'
Where's kioi?
#9 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 7:51:48 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Commercializing has made it an obstacle to marriage. No wonder many young men shun marriage Liar
Wamunyota
#10 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:04:09 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

weee,lipeni dowry,shortcuts will haunt your kids after you are long gone,sorry this is Africa where we are bound by traditions..nowhere to hide humu ndani.
A sadist relative can emerge 100yrs later and cause hell for your greatgrand kids over a blind/nyelees goat you presented to your wife's at sunset.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kysse unapenda sana NyeeLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
By the way are you related to Wanyee?smile
Hutia Mundu!!
rryyzz
#11 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:12:45 AM

sheri wrote:
What I know for sure is that you were fleeced or you went there with an attitude of am rich. That mzee leading the negotiatons noted this ha! ha!.
Alternatively the father gave the clan to much leeway in this case he lost control . when this happens the father becomes a bystander.

Or your people had a very poor negotiator if he is told 40000/- he just rushes to his wallet and gives the money. I have seen people quoting outrageous amount but end up giving 1000/- for the gate.
@Atalaku tell your friend kwa dowry hakuna usonko and your negotiation skills are questionable

Atalaku, you guys were fleeced, and like Sheri says, the old man gave the clan too much control.This is a sad state of affairs. A beautiful traditional rite has now been turned into a money minting affairShame on you Shame on you
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#12 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:18:09 AM

Wamunyota wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kysse unapenda sana NyeeLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
By the way are you related to Wanyee?smile

Forester
#13 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:34:04 AM

@Atalaku, 35k to open the gate?Sad You guys are in deep trouble. Next time you go, main dowry will be circa 800k minimum. You showed them that you are loaded, you' ll be milked kabisa. For crying out loud,change your negotiator,heck even hire one.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
timuka
#14 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:48:10 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

To some extent I tend to agree with you. However instead of doing away with the practice/rite completely, what should be done away with are the commercial aspects. Visits between the families should be encouraged without any monetary expectations by either of the families. A token of appreciation during such visits would be a welcome gesture but this should be at the discretion of the visiting party.
Wamunyota
#15 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:50:40 AM

Forester wrote:
@Atalaku, 35k to open the gate?Sad You guys are in deep trouble. Next time you go, main dowry will be circa 800k minimum. You showed them that you are loaded, you' ll be milked kabisa. For crying out loud,change your negotiator,heck even hire one.

Yenyewe hawa watu ilikuwa na pesa.Hio kufunguliwa gate haifikangi thao.You need small ma fifty notes na mia halafu upee hao wamama ili wafungue.Huo negotiator ni malenge sana.Kama walienda na ma BMW,Benze,Audi na gari zingine za nguvu,hawa wazee waliona iko pesa so bei ikapanda.
Hutia Mundu!!
#16 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:57:29 AM

Wamunyota wrote:
Forester wrote:

Yenyewe hawa watu ilikuwa na pesa.Hio kufunguliwa gate haifikangi thao.You need small ma fifty notes na mia halafu upee hao wamama ili wafungue.Huo negotiator ni malenge sana.Kama walienda na ma BMW,Benze,Audi na gari zingine za nguvu,hawa wazee waliona iko pesa so bei ikapanda.

Kama msichana ni "malaika" then that amount ya kufungua gate is saa.
Lakini akishafunguliwa mbeleni uko then hiyo ni corruption!

#17 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 9:52:24 AM

Wouldn't pay anything of the such....
Atalaku
#18 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 9:54:59 AM

sheri wrote:

Well...I was not the family spokesman. Mine was logistics...to get people to nakuru and I did. The only mistake I did was to arrive there in style! You know wakamba na wajaluo ni kama sawa when it comes to show off!!! Bit now we are wiser...We are having a review meeting over the weekend and I can tell you things will be different the next visit.
@sheri...the breakdown we were given was based on the elder sister who wsd married last year. The family spokesman looked like that is his full time job....He did not even want any bargaining. ..he would consult once in while with the father and any time that happened our request would be turned down.
#19 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 10:21:13 AM

Atalaku wrote:
sheri wrote:

Well...I was not the family spokesman. Mine was logistics...to get people to nakuru and I did. The only mistake I did was to arrive there in style! You know wakamba na wajaluo ni kama sawa when it comes to show off!!! Bit now we are wiser...We are having a review meeting over the weekend and I can tell you things will be different the next visit.
@sheri...the breakdown we were given was based on the elder sister who wsd married last year. The family spokesman looked like that is his full time job....He did not even want any bargaining. ..he would consult once in while with the father and any time that happened our request would be turned down.

Boss dowry payment process is negotiation. We once went to Muranga' Kaharati to be exact and they brought the opus ya opening gate, shukas for mathes, tank for mama etc before negotiations. We told them politely that we need to be welcome before we start talking. Push came to shove and from a demand of 75k, the gate was opened with 2k and shopping. Then they toned down and started talking. And all this and the couple had lived for 7 years and had a son, bure kabisa. Huko kwetu hiyo umetolea watu mzigo kubwa kwa boma!!!!!

@magigi you guys were played. Never ever try to show that you have money ati mpaka muko na deni ya 65k, poleni Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Atalaku
#20 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 10:25:31 AM

Shida ni people are willing to pay such amounts, and the fact that you paid the cash means that you were prepared for it, they know it's cash from the family and friends, not from the young man.

People are not willing but are coerced. ..You dont want to look funny bargaining for a price as if the girl is a commodity on sale in an open market where the highest bidder takes it. We wanted to take that route but held ourselves back just to study the situation.
...WHAT WOULD BE THE IDEAL 'TOKEN' FOR for each category?