7 Pages<12345>»
Kenya Power HY 2015 PBT up 53%
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:33:29 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Is it morally right for a public utility which has a monopoly and levies some of the most outrageous charges to citizens to make such profit, and go ahead and publicly take pride in announcing them?

this tells me were it not for greed our economy can grow tremendously and our competitiveness can immensely improve, unfortunately kenya power is one barrier mr. ruto has to crack for not passing benefits to our economy

Look at the expanded electricity bill.
Yaani those monopoly is even charging directly for ferex losses,sijui Rural dev levies and so cruel other charges.

GoK uses KPLC as a Tax Collection Agent. It's GoK that loads on such levies, etc. As for forex adjustments, it comes from IPPs, KenGen, etc who have unhedged Forex Loans.

If KenGen could borrow at 4% in KES from Kenyans then it need not have Forex Adjustments but YOU want 11% (Tax-Free Bonds) from KenGen as well as pay in an ever weakening KES and yet are complaining when KenGen tries to get 4% USD loans?

The KES/USD used to be 7/- and is now 92/- within 30 years. That loans have to be repaid in the 'lending' currency. The same with the Yen loans from Japan.
Boris Boyka
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:47:33 PM

Why does a company hold two dividends announced without paying the first one???d'oh! these crooks are to pay FY dvnd 27 Feb...before paying it they announce an interim...Isn't it funny...ama naona vitu zangu.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#43 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 11:36:38 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Why does a company hold two dividends announced without paying the first one???d'oh! these crooks are to pay FY dvnd 27 Feb...before paying it they announce an interim...Isn't it funny...ama naona vitu zangu.

@Boris go to the clinic and buy yourself a chill pill!

There is nothing strange about the above...
#44 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 12:13:23 PM

And back to 17. What was it I said about firms owned/controlled by GoK?
Fetero
#45 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 12:44:23 PM

Kastone wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
The price is dropping.

A lot of big money got stuck during the rights issue price of 19/=

Agreed. Been 'stuck' since 2011

To you my darling KPLC, I have a short poem for you,

"My love, I speak from my heart my rose. Know yee thee that, the seed of the chinese bamboo tree,..
stays buried under the soil for 5years!Sad Sad

....oh yes, 5-long years of patience and tire and longing,...
Doomsayers curse and predict and waver and prophesy you rotted and dwarffed and died in the soil!

..Oh how wrong they are my dear! how mistaken and lost their minds be!

However,....I say again however!
In the sixth year the bamboo tree shoots up like a rocket 100metres in the sky ONLY Within 3months.Applause

Come now my harriet, come to me dear romeo and let me behold thy oils till we sing again the ballard of our marriage"

shame them who despise you, show your curves now baibe, bring the power now ohh,and let this darkness flee away for that is the mission you were born to accomplish" I rest my case remembering our vows of long ago,.."in good and bad times we shall be arms in arms, shoulder to shoulder! Wake up now My Nigga! and run like a Gazelle!smile smile

#kujipea motisha manze!12:06 PM

Ask & it'll be given to you,seek & you shall find..Mathew:7:7
mkonomtupu
#46 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:27:47 PM

Value traps you have to wait on the sidelines until you see catalyst to give it some momentum of some kind and you do momentum trading. Very good for traders
#47 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:50:30 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:

Value traps you have to wait on the sidelines until you see catalyst to give it some momentum of some kind and you do momentum trading. Very good for traders
I do not trade. The problem is that KPLC is a 'customer-facing' firm that gets all the flak for GoK's poor decisions.

KenGen raises prices & KPLC has to pass them on. Who gets blamed?
Water Boards charge KenGen for water used in Hydro. KenGen passes it on to customers via KPLC. Who gets blamed?
KenGen's forex loans attract forex adjustment that KPLC has to pass on. Who gets blamed?
GoK/CBK have a large say in forex rates. The variation is passed on to KPLC. Who gets blamed?
GoK increased taxes e.g. VAT. It is passed on to customers by KPLC as the KRA's collecting agent. Who gets blamed?
Ruto decides he wants to be re-elected in 2017. He freezes the triennial upward adjustment (inflation, etc) in fixed charges. Who gets screwed?
#48 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 2:42:56 PM

guru267 wrote:
Is it morally right for a public utility which has a monopoly and levies some of the most outrageous charges to citizens to make such profit, and go ahead and publicly take pride in announcing them?

Spoken like a true Cordashian!

Fetero
#49 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:42:55 PM

guru267 wrote:

It absolutely befits the highest Morals for anyone to (just like KPLC) run the monopoly, levy charges and make profit and then religiously announce the profits with pride. On the contrary, It would have been gravely Immoral to be in their position make profits and fail to announce. Worse still it would have been very immoral if they made a loss being in such a position....Shame on you Shame on you
Ask & it'll be given to you,seek & you shall find..Mathew:7:7
KondooEconomist
#50 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:05:43 PM

Fetero wrote:
guru267 wrote:

It absolutely befits the highest Morals for anyone to (just like KPLC) run the monopoly, levy charges and make profit and then religiously announce the profits with pride. On the contrary, It would have been gravely Immoral to be in their position make profits and fail to announce. Worse still it would have been very immoral if they made a loss being in such a position....Shame on you Shame on you

Applause Applause
#51 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 5:03:37 PM

Fetero wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause
#52 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 6:09:32 PM

Fetero wrote:
guru267 wrote:

I support 300%. Profits make everyone happy - employees, customers, suppliers, shareholders, financiers. Loses make everyone unhappy- Ask Mumias employees, shareholders, financiers, customers.
DtheK
#53 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 7:33:53 PM

We should give credit where it's due;the cost of power has dropped as compared to last year,both kplc and kengen are making money and sufficient power is being generated.South Africans i am sure do envy usS.A black outs.
#54 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 7:39:57 PM

DtheK wrote:
We should give credit where it's due;the cost of power has dropped as compared to last year,both kplc and kengen are making money and sufficient power is being generated.South Africans i am sure do envy usS.A black outs.

Not yet. Kenya generates just 1900MW as compared to SA's +30,000MW Kenya experiences blackouts just like SA, its only that to South Africans this is foreign.
kryptonite
#55 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 10:57:39 AM

DtheK wrote:

Not yet. Kenya generates just 1900MW as compared to SA's +30,000MW Kenya experiences blackouts just like SA, its only that to South Africans this is foreign.

Those numbers deceive. Right now, despite the +30,000MW generation (it's actually approximately 42,000MW), SA is on power rationing for up to 11 days per month.

This is not the first time South Africans are experiencing rolling blackouts.
The harder you work, the luckier you get
#56 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 12:41:43 PM

Fetero wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause

Obiero, agreed? smile
DtheK
#57 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 1:55:20 PM

DtheK wrote:

I meant the 1900MW is enough for Kenya which is the reason we don't have scheduled rationing like South Africa.They might make 30,000 or 42,000MW but that is not enough for them.
whiteowl
#58 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 2:15:56 PM

kryptonite wrote:
DtheK wrote:

Those numbers deceive. Right now, despite the +30,000MW generation (it's actually approximately 42,000MW), SA is on power rationing for up to 11 days per month.

yeah, it was the same story in 2008
#59 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 3:18:31 PM

kryptonite wrote:
DtheK wrote:

Because their plants are old and require some renovation. 1900MW is not enough only around 15% of Kenya is lit up.
#60 Posted : Sunday, February 22, 2015 2:49:08 AM

kryptonite wrote:
DtheK wrote:

Damn! Those SA guys have at least 15x our generation capacity!!! No wonder they have huge plants and factories vs our light industrial plants. We have a long way to go!