wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

8 Pages<1234>»
First Day aboard a plane!!! best moment 2015
#21 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:53:05 PM

Gathige wrote:
Good One,

Last week has a not memorable flight too. Boarded a flight at JKIA for my usual destination( name withheld). Being an ardent wazua, had on this particular date choosen the cheapest flight ( a cool 25k between my flight and the popular flight- the one that make money for everyone except shareholders, in wazua lingo). After one hour, the pilot made announcement there was an in indication of some instruments malfunction. Two minutes later, he announces we were turning back to Nbi for the instruments to be checked. Another thirty minutes later he announces one engine had failed and we were not running on one engine. Sema kustuka. The cabin went quite and everyone just kept cool. Shortly thereafter, he announce we had commenced descent to JKIA, but believe me we were somewhere in Mt Elgon. We flew very low and thank God we finally reached Nbi. It was my longest flight ever. Half the passengers boycotted the flight the following day but was courageous enough to re-board, but a different plane. Kumbe engine mbili ni muhimu?

mmmhhh!!
#22 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:57:29 PM

WOW! I look forward to that experience - 240km/h waa, wacha investments zangu ziive - I will fly one day.
lakini nasikia it can be bumpy huko juu, is it true.

Most Africa's air space is smooth ride except some pockets in West Africa and huko Mediterranean as you head to Europe. A flight across the Atlantic & in South America can be a whole different story.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#23 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:00:50 PM

WOW! I look forward to that experience - 240km/h waa, wacha investments zangu ziive - I will fly one day.
lakini nasikia it can be bumpy huko juu, is it true.

The plane starts like imechokozwa na mtu, from a stand still to a very high speed within less than 10 seconds!!! The take off speed is what thrilled me the most, and the rattling as well. You feel like the plane is almost tearing apart coz if you look at the speed at which the ground is moving back, wacha tu!!!! just imagine that car travelling at 150km/hr venye huwa its so fast, now double that speed and u feel how thrilled i was just before the plane lifted up!!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:02:47 PM

Congrats, there is always a first time. You should have also mentioned the humidity/dense air that hits someone when they land at mbs.

Thats true bruhh, when we left Nairobi, it was quite cold but the humidity and hotness immediately u land is like a rude welcome.
T-Bag
#25 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:06:14 PM

Congrats, Was surprised by Jumbo, sodas on sale for Kshs 200.00! Me was last year, when descending my matumbo and stomach split into two waaa!!! that ka feeling!!! I had to have faith. As for taking off .. mmmmm comes second to "landing" way way wonderful
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
UpcomingPaperChaser
#26 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:06:16 PM

kenmac wrote:
Congrats boss.

were you afraid while airborne.

My first time to fly I was very afraid. I recited our Lords Prayer throughout.Luckily it was only to 1 hour and I exhaled so satisfactorily when we landed.

Couldn't and haven't understood yet why they give life jackets on planes. parachutes would make sense.

I was not so afraid as such, but i almost froze when we were in between clouds such that you cant see anything apart from thick white greyish clouds and nothing else. Hapo ndio roho ikaanza kudunda
UpcomingPaperChaser
#27 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:08:45 PM

T-Bag wrote:
Congrats, Was surprised by Jumbo, sodas on sale for Kshs 200.00! Me was last year, when descending my matumbo and stomach split into two waaa!!! that ka feeling!!! I had to have faith. As for taking off .. mmmmm comes second to "landing" way way wonderful

Those guys have their snacks overpriced bana!! soda ya 45/= selling at 200/= is just robbing Kenyans at daylight. I found take off to be quite thrilling coz of the speed man, you go so so fast you start feeling the plane might tear apart like a ferrari!!! as for landing, quite a nice one also, though so brief!!
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:12:32 PM

Congratulations man for the great virgin ride. Those who traveled to SS in late 90's know what it means to have your life hanging in balance.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:13:25 PM

Gathige wrote:
Good One,

Last week has a not memorable flight too. Boarded a flight at JKIA for my usual destination( name withheld). Being an ardent wazua, had on this particular date choosen the cheapest flight ( a cool 25k between my flight and the popular flight- the one that make money for everyone except shareholders, in wazua lingo). After one hour, the pilot made announcement there was an in indication of some instruments malfunction. Two minutes later, he announces we were turning back to Nbi for the instruments to be checked. Another thirty minutes later he announces one engine had failed and we were not running on one engine. Sema kustuka. The cabin went quite and everyone just kept cool. Shortly thereafter, he announce we had commenced descent to JKIA, but believe me we were somewhere in Mt Elgon. We flew very low and thank God we finally reached Nbi. It was my longest flight ever. Half the passengers boycotted the flight the following day but was courageous enough to re-board, but a different plane. Kumbe engine mbili ni muhimu?

Boss uko na roho basi, with such malfunctions, i cant dare fly with the company again!
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:17:20 PM

TAM Linhas Aereas flight between Rio and Belo Horizonte remains one of my most scaring 1 hour in life.I had a running stomach for a couple of days. I did the return to Rio by bus.
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:19:23 PM

Do those Propellers to TZ still operate? I think those are the worst I have ever taken Sad
UpcomingPaperChaser
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:21:13 PM

at 34,000 feet above the ground, you cant have an idea of where you have reached at all, i felt my stomach turn when i peeped out and saw that we were way above the clouds. When you start imagining the air crashes documentaries that you have watched n start wondering if the plane was to crash!!!! i prayed to God so hard.

The other frightening thing is when the pilots change the engine power!!! Wahhh, you feel as if the plane is about to stop mid air or something gone wrong!!!!! Also when making a turn, if you look out, the world outside looks so inverted like you are plunging into earth with one wing!!! The highest i have been into the sky is KICC which is 28 floors only, so being 34,000 feet up, i had reason to worry. Some clouds are bumpy as well, and u can see the plane wings shaking literally!!! wahhhhhh, but above all, the take off speed is what thrilled me the most
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:27:48 PM

Do those Propellers to TZ still operate? I think those are the worst I have ever taken Sad

There are some operating between Delhi and Chennai....woooiii..!!!!Sad Sad ...NEVER!!
#34 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:29:13 PM

Would like a flight expert to explain why planes take off like they do.

It gets on the run way as it positions itself for take off. Then takes off with speed and just when you think its about to ascend it comes to an abrupt stop!
And the engine starts running again.
In less than 5min it runs like mad before taking off like a jet.
Its the most tense moment esp if your your seat is located near the wings.
So is the first phase a warm up ya engine?

Then someone tell me how an oversized person can fit on that slender plane to Arusha- Forgotten its name.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#35 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:38:51 PM

It gets on the run way as it positions itself for take off. Then takes off with speed and just when you think its about to ascend it comes to an abrupt stop!

Then someone tell me how an oversized person can fit on that slender plane to Arusha- Forgotten its name.

Brother, i also wondered about the same because i paid a visit to the cockpit after we landed at Moi Airport Mombasa, and the captains seat looks so small and tiny, a 6'5'' person weighing 100kgs cant seat there comfortably.

And then that take off thing, its like the plane gets chokozwad because it starts from 0 speed and within 10 seconds you are going at a terrific speed!!!
#36 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:48:17 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:

Brother, i also wondered about the same because i paid a visit to the cockpit after we landed at Moi Airport Mombasa, and the captains seat looks so small and tiny, a 6'5'' person weighing 100kgs cant seat there comfortably.

And then that take off thing, its like the plane gets chokozwad because it starts from 0 speed and within 10 seconds you are going at a terrific speed!!!

Kysse amekuwa brother?Liar Liar
#37 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 10:04:32 PM

The take off sounds exciting, is it like those high rise building lifts, that ki 'whoooooo' sound that one hears especially when it's doing express mpaka top most floors. Then that Ka monumental period when the lift is coming to a stop, that Ka feeling as if it's falling.

Can't imagine the view especially over the oceans, must be breath taking. I have also heard sifa za the nuts served on the planes, nasikianga they are the best.
#38 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 10:17:16 PM

smile .....now do those unpressurized flights to North Eastern and in your next flight a flight test with a small aircraft!!!
urstill1
#39 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 10:57:21 PM

Gathige wrote:
Good One,

Boss uko na roho basi, with such malfunctions, i cant dare fly with the company again!

Must be ETH
#40 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 11:22:56 PM

I have used hiyo ya 2 propellers, I think it's the ATR, one that looks like a grasshopper and I had a terrible uncomfortable feeling in my head and ears as we were descending to land from about 20,000ft. I think it wasn't pressurised.