wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

8 Pages123>»
First Day aboard a plane!!! best moment 2015
UpcomingPaperChaser
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:08:17 PM

I have always been yearning to fly, not because am poor but because whenever i get time to fly, which is usually during holidays, the fare is usually so high. So high that, if i used that money to buy villagers back in the village some Busaa, it would be enough to make drunk three generations across the whole village: my age mates, age mates of my dad and grandfathers age mates!! By so doing, they will sing my name for the whole year. Mark you, 5 liters of Busaa costs slightly above Kshs. 100/=

So on 18th Feb, i was tasked with going to Mombasa for some job assignments, actually in Kilifi. Being urgent, i had to fly to Mombasa. Excitement the previous day, karibu usingizi ikatae kuja. Armed with my ID and ticket, took a cab to JKIA and arrived in good time to board Jambo Jet. The check-ins and soon we were inside the big jet.

Having watched Aircraft Investigations on MY DSTV, was a bit nervous so i sat near the emergency exit with more legroom at an extra fee of 580/=. As it took off, the speed on the run-way was quite thrilling to say the least, am used to cars traveling at 80km/hr, so attaining 240km/hr on land was quite a thriller.

Problem I noted, once u are airborne the airhostesses who look emaciated but struggling to smile entice u with the food on their trolleys asking you which u will take. Thinking the food was free, i ordered ribena 250ml only to be told it was 350/=, for the fear of embarrassment, i just had to pay for it.

Anyway, i enjoyed the flight and touched down 45 minutes later. Thanks be to Allah!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:15:26 PM

kiterunner
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:20:31 PM

nice. not many kenyans i know can admit it was their first with our know it all culture
our goals are best achieved indirectly
mibbz
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:22:29 PM

Congratulations baba! More to come including those long 14 hour flights that you sleep,wake up,talk to everyone around you and still idle a bit.
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:29:06 PM

Congrats, there is always a first time. You should have also mentioned the humidity/dense air that hits someone when they land at mbs.
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:29:39 PM

WOW! I look forward to that experience - 240km/h waa, wacha investments zangu ziive - I will fly one day.
lakini nasikia it can be bumpy huko juu, is it true.
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:30:50 PM

Congrats boss.

were you afraid while airborne.

My first time to fly I was very afraid. I recited our Lords Prayer throughout.Luckily it was only to 1 hour and I exhaled so satisfactorily when we landed.

Couldn't and haven't understood yet why they give life jackets on planes. parachutes would make sense.

#8 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:39:55 PM

WOW! I look forward to that experience - 240km/h waa, wacha investments zangu ziive - I will fly one day.

Kwani na hii pang'sng'a yako yote hapa wazua haujawahi panda ndege?
NKT.
Shame on you

#9 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:40:38 PM

Ground speed gets to about 300kmh and there is that funny feeling of your back being pushed against the seat as you accelerate for take off with the plane's body rattling as if it is about to break apart.
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:47:23 PM

Not really, unless there is turbulence and it doesnt last long or if you are doing wilson to garissa routes using small planes that don't go up kabisa.
Hizo za wilson natamani sana kupanda.

and congrats by the way,now aim higher.

KIKItheKING
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:52:23 PM

Kwani ni hii pang'sng'a yako yote hapa wazua haujawahi panda ndege?
NKT.
Shame on you

@Impunity let that man @nakujua be. Everybody has a first.
FEAR GOD
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:57:40 PM

Nice one. You didn't share about the feeling when the plane was about to land. First time, Kwanza kwa hiyo Jambonet, inakuanga a bit rough and shaky. There was a mzee I once sat next to and the way alijishikilia kwa kiti ungedhani he will pee on himself juu ya woga.
Mtafiti
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 6:24:43 PM

Congo basin is sometimes turbulent. And very scaring. Those who frequent West Africa can attest.
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 6:38:55 PM

NKT.
Shame on you

smile sasa pang'ang'a yangu na kupanda ndege zina intersect wapi, jibu swala langu.
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 6:58:45 PM

smileGood and great for your honesty!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 7:56:00 PM

NKT.
Shame on you

smile sasa pang'ang'a yangu na kupanda ndege zina intersect wapi, jibu swala langu.

Some guys will never grow up
kiterunner
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:02:22 PM

Mtafiti wrote:

Congo basin is sometimes turbulent. And very scaring. Those who frequent West Africa can attest.

Those in the know claim KQ (and many other 'local') flights are rougher because they land it 'auto'
our goals are best achieved indirectly
Feria
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:14:44 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:

Problem I noted, once u are airborne the airhostesses who look emaciated but struggling to smile entice u with the food on their trolleys asking you which u will take. Thinking the food was free, i ordered ribena 250ml only to be told it was 350/=, for the fear of embarrassment, i just had to pay for it.

Anyway, i enjoyed the flight and touched down 45 minutes later. Thanks be to Allah!!

Ribena for 350 daylight robbery! I advise you to carry your own food and alcohol and sambaza some to others for a small fee
PuthyKrasha
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:15:03 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
I have always been yearning to fly, not because am poor but because whenever i get time to fly, which is usually during holidays, the fare is usually so high. So high that, if i used that money to buy villagers back in the village some Busaa, it would be enough to make drunk three generations across the whole village: my age mates, age mates of my dad and grandfathers age mates!! By so doing, they will sing my name for the whole year. Mark you, 5 liters of Busaa costs slightly above Kshs. 100/=

So on 18th Feb, i was tasked with going to Mombasa for some job assignments, actually in Kilifi. Being urgent, i had to fly to Mombasa. Excitement the previous day, karibu usingizi ikatae kuja. Armed with my ID and ticket, took a cab to JKIA and arrived in good time to board Jambo Jet. The check-ins and soon we were inside the big jet.

Next time beba chapati and afya njuice for refreshments. save some of that cash for the busaa guys back in the bundus.
Having watched Aircraft Investigations on MY DSTV, was a bit nervous so i sat near the emergency exit with more legroom at an extra fee of 580/=. As it took off, the speed on the run-way was quite thrilling to say the least, am used to cars traveling at 80km/hr, so attaining 240km/hr on land was quite a thriller.

Next time beba chapoz and afya njuice for refreshments.. save some of that mulla for the busaa guys back at home.
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:31:11 PM

Good One,

Last week has a not memorable flight too. Boarded a flight at JKIA for my usual destination( name withheld). Being an ardent wazua, had on this particular date choosen the cheapest flight ( a cool 25k between my flight and the popular flight- the one that make money for everyone except shareholders, in wazua lingo). After one hour, the pilot made announcement there was an in indication of some instruments malfunction. Two minutes later, he announces we were turning back to Nbi for the instruments to be checked. Another thirty minutes later he announces one engine had failed and we were not running on one engine. Sema kustuka. The cabin went quite and everyone just kept cool. Shortly thereafter, he announce we had commenced descent to JKIA, but believe me we were somewhere in Mt Elgon. We flew very low and thank God we finally reached Nbi. It was my longest flight ever. Half the passengers boycotted the flight the following day but was courageous enough to re-board, but a different plane. Kumbe engine mbili ni muhimu?