wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

15 Pages«<89101112>»
Thika Road Expansion was a Mistake
#181 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 11:32:51 AM

People should embrace devolution and join us in the county to build an equitable Kenya
#182 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 11:52:08 AM

Get rid of bumps on Thika Road - who does this on a (super) highway - and construct foot bridges instead and you will have dealt with the traffic jam.

Also sort out entry into CBD. The Koja round about entry is one hell of a nightmare. Also instal traffic lights - and trffic cameras if necessary - around Globe round about to control traffic into and out of the roundabout. That could ease traffic flow into the CBD.

But the bumps are the biggest culprits!!!

There are no bumps on Msa Road

Remove the bumps and you will have at most 3 months of improved flow. How long does it take guys from Muthaiga to town where there are no bumps?
#183 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 12:22:49 PM

Get rid of bumps on Thika Road - who does this on a (super) highway - and construct foot bridges instead and you will have dealt with the traffic jam.

Also sort out entry into CBD. The Koja round about entry is one hell of a nightmare. Also instal traffic lights - and trffic cameras if necessary - around Globe round about to control traffic into and out of the roundabout. That could ease traffic flow into the CBD.

But the bumps are the biggest culprits!!!

There are no bumps on Msa Road

Remove the bumps and you will have at most 3 months of improved flow. How long does it take guys from Muthaiga to town where there are no bumps?

Some of the problems bedevilling Mombasa road have been addressed by underpasses and overpasses on Thika road. Address the issues noted and there be a huge difference.
african coloner
#184 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 6:44:00 PM

suba wrote:
d'oh! Let us not condemn the expansion of Thika road outright, it may not have solved the problem but has brought relief however shortlived. The good thing is we know what ought to be done but, who shall lead us to the promised lznd is the question?

for the time being, River Road and Tom Mboya should be one way, Same as Moi Avenue
knight260
#185 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:25:24 AM

If we were serious, we could ban private cars in our roads, between 6am to 6pm. Invest a little more in the public transportation( buses) and let traffic take care of it self. Save the money used to expand roads everyday,invest it in health and education. Save foreign reserves(dollars), cut back in carbon emissions.
Fyatu
#186 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 10:14:59 AM

Ja Milambo a.k.a Kalausi a.k.a. Kidero should go to Dar es Salaam and learn basic homescience...i meant urban transport management RINK
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu
#187 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 10:27:23 AM

The problem with this country Kenya is government cannot implement policy. What they have done in Dar is that instead of putting up more lanes they have put a lane dedicated to massive buses complete with bustops....where the buses operate on schedule like KBS used to operate in the 80's. No dala dala will be going to town once this project is complete. Stage ya mwisho ni ubungo (12kms from Dar CBD)

Here in Kenya its all talk and no action and most of it hogwash eti oh Nairobi is the biggest city in EA/modern city blah blah blah

Kidero's solution to the mess is basi ya gorofa kwanza to be operated by city hoppa...woi...Nairobians kwisha and now Sonko and Waititu are feuding for the sit ambayo tayari Kidero amekalia.

Are Matatu owners association bigger than Government? Who does the Govt. serve?? wana-ninchi or Matatu owners association?

eti if we do away with Mats the youth will loose jobs and resort to crime. Employ them as policemen or NYS
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
knight260
#188 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 12:49:49 PM

#189 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 1:03:09 PM

Fyatu wrote:
The problem with this country Kenya is government cannot implement policy. What they have done in Dar is that instead of putting up more lanes they have put a lane dedicated to massive buses complete with bustops....where the buses operate on schedule like KBS used to operate in the 80's. No dala dala will be going to town once this project is complete. Stage ya mwisho ni ubungo (12kms from Dar CBD)

Here in Kenya its all talk and no action and most of it hogwash eti oh Nairobi is the biggest city in EA/modern city blah blah blah

Kidero's solution to the mess is basi ya gorofa kwanza to be operated by city hoppa...woi...Nairobians kwisha and now Sonko and Waititu are feuding for the sit ambayo tayari Kidero amekalia.

Are Matatu owners association bigger than Government? Who does the Govt. serve?? wana-ninchi or Matatu owners association?

eti if we do away with Mats the youth will loose jobs and resort to crime. Employ them as policemen or NYS

Well in...
streetwise
#190 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 2:14:53 PM

Ati Kidero amekalia..

Let me say this without fear of contradiction. THAT SEAT IS EMPTY

You should use the word ameachilia
#191 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 12:14:58 PM

streetwise wrote:
Ati Kidero amekalia..

Let me say this without fear of contradiction. THAT SEAT IS EMPTY

You should use the word ameachilia

KiFagio
#192 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 12:59:05 PM

mukiha wrote:
If they had asked me, I'd have suggested that we spend all that money in improving the railway link between Thika and Nairobi.

The problem is not the size of the road; it is the number of cars using it. The way to reduce this number is to provide an good alternative to road transportation.

Watch this space: as soon as the expanded highway is opened, the traffic jams will return. Simple reason being that people will have moved from Nairobi to Thika enmase

Have you seen the developments going on along this highway...all waiting for it to open?

Another solution is to keep personal transport out of CBD and encourage citizens to use public means. Those who want to use personals should pay dearly for this privilege.
#193 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 2:06:50 PM

Garden City heralds another gridlocked era
#194 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:00:43 PM

KiFagio wrote:
mukiha wrote:
If they had asked me, I'd have suggested that we spend all that money in improving the railway link between Thika and Nairobi.

The problem is not the size of the road; it is the number of cars using it. The way to reduce this number is to provide an good alternative to road transportation.

Watch this space: as soon as the expanded highway is opened, the traffic jams will return. Simple reason being that people will have moved from Nairobi to Thika enmase

Have you seen the developments going on along this highway...all waiting for it to open?

Another solution is to keep personal transport out of CBD and encourage citizens to use public means. Those who want to use personals should pay dearly for this privilege.

Driving to some people is not a privilege. The car is actually a business tool to some people. They actually NEED the car to attend to several issues in a timely and relatively cheap manner.
#195 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:01:54 PM

Fyatu wrote:

Personal cars are the elephant in the room, buddy!

Tuko KCC sasa? these are vehicles coming to congest a road in your city/town.

Blaming matatus is easy to do, but just look at that 33 seater next to you in traffic. If each of those guys chose to drive to work instead of using public means you'd extend the time spent in traffic by a couple of more minutes

Work on alternative means like rail and discouraging use of personal cars. Matatu sector is an issue but a minor one. Ever wondered why traffic is heaviest during matatu strikes??
#196 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:04:43 PM

KiFagio wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Driving to some people is not a privilege. The car is actually a business tool to some people. They actually NEED the car to attend to several issues in a timely and relatively cheap manner.

Isn't that what they do in some cities to control traffic?

Very few absolutely need their cars

Gatheuzi
#197 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 7:45:27 AM

Fyatu wrote:
Ja Milambo a.k.a Kalausi a.k.a. Kidero should go to Dar es Salaam and learn basic homescience...i meant urban transport management RINK

I was in Dar last month and saw how they are doing the dedicated bus lanes. They are are at centre of the road similar to the express lane in Thika road. I did not see them operate though... still work in progress.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#198 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 7:58:08 AM

Why do people always have lazy solutions to everything?

Banning private cars from the CBD is as lazy as they come!! How many cars do we have in Nairobi? Some of the cities people are alluding to here have more cars than the entire population (people) of Kenya!

There many other solutions that would not include banning private cars or increasing parking fee even further. People only need to think. But that doesn't happen a lot in Kenya!
#199 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:29:38 AM

Banning private cars from the CBD is as lazy as they come!! How many cars do we have in Nairobi? Some of the cities people are alluding to here have more cars than the entire population (people) of Kenya!

There many other solutions that would not include banning private cars or increasing parking fee even further. People only need to think. But that doesn't happen a lot in Kenya!

What should be the solution?
Speculz
#200 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2015 8:42:52 AM

Thank you very much, Banning cars is myopic thinking, we just need people driven by thought and action, for example the people who designed the highway, did they not know that at drive in , the Gsu and printing firm were already there? Why not put an underpass? lets get to Ngara , why in heavens name does someone going to University way or Moi avenue have to go down to the roundabout? weird.

Add to that , leave private vehicles home right? okay, what will happen when we are all crowded at the stage? laws of demand and supply. Soon congestion will be back as everyone will have bought a matatu to meet the demand and reap from the hiked prices, and some people do use cars for business , time is money after all.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright