wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

18 Pages«<1112131415>»
the Luo people
#241 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:48:16 PM

there are many admirable things about Luos and this is the thread dedicated to celebrating these things and the luo persons that shine and give us all a good name abroad coz of them. it's meant to be good natured and celebratory and not chauvinistic. ukitaja RAO and Gor in this thread utafanya hii thread ikuwe kama any other political thread - useless. let's try and keep it civil... please!

You've put it in the most crystal clear manner Applause Applause

Word!
#242 Posted : Friday, November 07, 2014 11:32:16 AM

#243 Posted : Friday, November 07, 2014 2:35:26 PM

urstill1
#244 Posted : Friday, November 07, 2014 3:11:31 PM

It was meant to be for LUOs. Why derail the thread? Any way, since you wanted to counter @Masukuma's post, let me counter yours by taking your negative tribal tone a notch higher. Ochieng' is in the senior squad at only 17 and Kamau is in the youth team at 19. Both are Australians- Kenyan Austarlians!!

NB: I'm neither of the 2 tribes.
#245 Posted : Friday, November 07, 2014 4:03:20 PM

urstill1 wrote:

It was meant to be for LUOs. Why derail the thread? Any way, since you wanted to counter @Masukuma's post, let me counter yours by taking your negative tribal tone a notch higher. Ochieng' is in the senior squad at only 17 and Kamau is in the youth team at 19. Both are Australians- Kenyan Austarlians!!

@Urstill
Hold your quails... it was not from a tribal angle, just an observation that there is also a Kamau in the same team. I was celebrating Kenya..

Ptho!!!
#246 Posted : Friday, November 07, 2014 4:15:20 PM

urstill1 wrote:

@Urstill
Hold your quails... it was not from a tribal angle, just an observation that there is also a Kamau in the same team. I was celebrating Kenya..

Ptho!!!

the problem is when you do a LUO KYUK mix on this thread... matusi starts flying.
Atalaku
#247 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 10:58:23 PM

By PHILIP OCHIENG
Saturday, January 15, 2011
As a young Luo, I grew up with a particular kind of ethnic arrogance. The rest of Kenya saw the Luo as the most educated community (where, by “education”, we meant the formal classroom kind introduced by Europeans).

At independence, we probably had the highest number of high school and university graduates. Luo individuals dominated the university faculty. Full professors – the likes of Simeon Ominde, David Wasawo and Bethwell Ogot-- were all Luo.

Fish diet

Many older-generation individuals among the Kikuyu – a community whose education was disrupted considerably by the Mau Mau hostilities -- hold on to the myth that the Luo have a special kind of intelligence as a result of a diet dominated by fish.

The truth remains that, as Independence approached, an educated elite claiming to have come from a celestial place called “UK” (“United Kisumu”) swaggered like peacocks in the streets of Nairobi – well dressed, speaking good English and brandishing The East African Standard -- that time’s symbol of intellectual arrival.

The question is: What was our education worth? How is it that the community which produced brilliant minds like Clement Argwings-Kodhek, Tom Mboya, Walter Odede, Douglas Odhiambo, Thomas Odhiambo, Jaramogi Odinga, Ishmael Omondi, Nicholas Otieno and Robert Ouko, now languishes at the bottom of the ladder of progress?

In terms of phenomena and spectacles, we still excel: we remain as showy as ever. The Luo elite still makes the loudest political noise.

Around the elite, hoi polloi – the masses -- still ululate in song and dance – “Gor Biro, Yawne Yo!” -- ready to grab the next iron bar and kill whoever may stand in the hero’s way.

What happened to our education? I ask because western Kenya -- the land of the Kalenjin, Kisii, Kuria, Luhya, Luo and Teso -- is now among Kenya’s most underdeveloped parts. Poverty is rife. Malaria, water-borne diseases and Aids consign human beings to the grave by the thousand every year.

And what Joseph Kaguthi used to call “Luo Nyanza” is by far the most catastrophic. I know from a number of recent Unicef-funded seminars that Luo Nyanza has the highest number of annual child deaths in Kenya – three times as many as in Central.

There can be only one explanation. My people know only one form of politics – empty hero-worship.

Empty hero-worship

Otherwise, they would long ago have called their leaders – MP, priest, professional -- to account.

If Luo MPs receive the same amounts as other MPs from the Constituency Development Fund, why do our children still drink untreated water and – in an area inundated with water – perish from dehydration?

Why is Luoland the poorest, the most diseased, the least successful in national examinations and yet the most vociferous and most militant in support of the hero’s national power struggle?

While other communities are busy in economic self-help, the Luo are busy singing alleluia to their heroes.

As such, there is nothing wrong with ethnic arrogance. But, as Shakespeare long ago admonished, arrogance should be made of “sterner stuff”.

The Luo are a great community with a heroic history. But, at some colonial or post-colonial point – apparently as a result of “education” -- we lost our sense of genuine heroism.

A hero was he who led his people to victory over all of the commune’s enemies, namely, hunger, thirst, disease, predator and, only then, another tribe.

Hero-worship was, of course, as traditional as anywhere else. But the hero (often also heroine) fully merited it by tangible action.

The Luo must drop the habit of wallowing in political adversity and begin to produce with their own hands the only stuff – food, medicine, knowledge, technique -- that can effectively shield their children from the elements and enable the community to spring to the national political arena with respectability.
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/10smrkbz/-/index.html
#248 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 11:53:21 PM

Philip Ochieng = Jubilee mole
#249 Posted : Saturday, November 29, 2014 2:13:39 AM

Was KANU mole for the longest.

Now,

Kanu=Jubilee=Kanu.

#250 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 7:58:07 PM

smile lakini yeye huongea ukweli mtupu!
#251 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 8:03:44 PM

Was KANU mole for the longest.

Now,

Kanu=Jubilee=Kanu.

kivairu
#252 Posted : Wednesday, December 31, 2014 10:21:12 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...24/-/ge6wbg/-/index.html

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
MKWASI
#253 Posted : Wednesday, December 31, 2014 11:52:34 AM

[quote=Atalaku]By PHILIP OCHIENG
Saturday, January 15, 2011
As a young Luo, I grew up with a particular kind of ethnic arrogance. The rest of Kenya saw the Luo as the most educated community (where, by “education”, we meant the formal classroom kind introduced by Europeans).

At independence, we probably had the highest number of high school and university graduates. Luo individuals dominated the university faculty. Full professors – the likes of Simeon Ominde, David Wasawo and Bethwell Ogot-- were all Luo.

Fish diet

Many older-generation individuals among the Kikuyu – a community whose education was disrupted considerably by the Mau Mau hostilities -- hold on to the myth that the Luo have a special kind of intelligence as a result of a diet dominated by fish.

The truth remains that, as Independence approached, an educated elite claiming to have come from a celestial place called “UK” (“United Kisumu”) swaggered like peacocks in the streets of Nairobi – well dressed, speaking good English and brandishing The East African Standard -- that time’s symbol of intellectual arrival.

The question is: What was our education worth? How is it that the community which produced brilliant minds like Clement Argwings-Kodhek, Tom Mboya, Walter Odede, Douglas Odhiambo, Thomas Odhiambo, Jaramogi Odinga, Ishmael Omondi, Nicholas Otieno and Robert Ouko, now languishes at the bottom of the ladder of progress?

In terms of phenomena and spectacles, we still excel: we remain as showy as ever. The Luo elite still makes the loudest political noise.

Around the elite, hoi polloi – the masses -- still ululate in song and dance – “Gor Biro, Yawne Yo!” -- ready to grab the next iron bar and kill whoever may stand in the hero’s way.

What happened to our education? I ask because western Kenya -- the land of the Kalenjin, Kisii, Kuria, Luhya, Luo and Teso -- is now among Kenya’s most underdeveloped parts. Poverty is rife. Malaria, water-borne diseases and Aids consign human beings to the grave by the thousand every year.

And what Joseph Kaguthi used to call “Luo Nyanza” is by far the most catastrophic. I know from a number of recent Unicef-funded seminars that Luo Nyanza has the highest number of annual child deaths in Kenya – three times as many as in Central.

There can be only one explanation. My people know only one form of politics – empty hero-worship.

Empty hero-worship

Otherwise, they would long ago have called their leaders – MP, priest, professional -- to account.

If Luo MPs receive the same amounts as other MPs from the Constituency Development Fund, why do our children still drink untreated water and – in an area inundated with water – perish from dehydration?

Why is Luoland the poorest, the most diseased, the least successful in national examinations and yet the most vociferous and most militant in support of the hero’s national power struggle?

While other communities are busy in economic self-help, the Luo are busy singing alleluia to their heroes.

As such, there is nothing wrong with ethnic arrogance. But, as Shakespeare long ago admonished, arrogance should be made of “sterner stuff”.

The Luo are a great community with a heroic history. But, at some colonial or post-colonial point – apparently as a result of “education” -- we lost our sense of genuine heroism.

A hero was he who led his people to victory over all of the commune’s enemies, namely, hunger, thirst, disease, predator and, only then, another tribe.

Hero-worship was, of course, as traditional as anywhere else. But the hero (often also heroine) fully merited it by tangible action.

The Luo must drop the habit of wallowing in political adversity and begin to produce with their own hands the only stuff – food, medicine, knowledge, technique -- that can effectively shield their children from the elements and enable the community to spring to the national political arena with respectability.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/10smrkbz/-/index.html[/quote]

Hii article well...sisemi kitu.
#254 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 8:37:38 AM

Another Luo achieves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://www.businessdaily.../-/101r22hz/-/index.html
#255 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 11:01:07 AM

[quote=mawinder]Another Luo achieves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://www.businessdaily...-/101r22hz/-/index.html[/quote]

FYI Philip isn't luo. His uncle is Arthur Moody Awori and he buried his father on Saturday. RIP Mr. Odera Snr.

But the cartoon who splashed ksh 2.43 metres at Kempinsky is.
#256 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 12:15:17 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
[quote=mawinder]Another Luo achieves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://www.businessdaily...-/101r22hz/-/index.html[/quote]

FYI Philip isn't luo. His uncle is Arthur Moody Awori and he buried his father on Saturday. RIP Mr. Odera Snr.

Correct, guy ni muluhya with swagg. Worked for Citi for a very long time in Mombasa before leaving for Stanbic then the merger. Very nice man. Don the bro is an acquaintance! Mary Okello of Makini is an Auntie to them!!!
#257 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 12:49:38 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Another Luo achieves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://www.businessdaily...-/101r22hz/-/index.html[

......and you guyz believed that marketing gimmick?
#258 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 10:22:32 AM

Akothee

#259 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 10:38:35 AM

Alone or with a mand'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Atalaku
#260 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 10:42:57 AM

If there are lips that have been pounded left, right, center, west, north, south, south west, these are the ones...
Watch