wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Importer for Japanese Used cars?
Prime
#21 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 10:24:08 AM

My experience has been a little different. I actually would not advice anyone to buy from an auction directly unless it is either a rare car, or a vehicle in extremely high demand hence unavailability in most exporters stocklists or finally, an expensive vehicle.
Next advice is as follows. only deal with an established company, with a large stocklist. Almost all companies require you to place a bidding fee, which is usually around usd 1,000 or jpy 100,000. The problem comes in the simple fact that once you pay the downpayment you are now bound to that company. Should a good deal appear in another company then you are pretty much screwed because you cannot take it. Bidding is stress. Every single day you have to comb though several auction houses and place bids. It may even take 4-5 months to get what you want. Factoring in the commission and inland transportation costs you may realize that you have not done much of savings. Placing the bid with an established company, say sbtjapan, is a plus, given that they tend to have a very large stocklist, and should you get one available from their stocklist, then you may still use the auction bidding downpayment as part of your payment. However let no company cheat you that they can refund your auction money. They will NEVER. The cash will be in your account and you will be asked to select a unit from their stocklist.
Finally, I have interacted with a referral (Nelson) given by matatuman on a different thread. The guy is a kenyan, very nice guy. He can still source given a downpayment and he personally verifies the cars condition and grade. Part of the problem is that the auctionsheets have comments written in japanese, and the vendors never interpret them. We are only forced to go with the overall auction sheet i.e. overall grading, interior and exterior grading and the auction diagram showing where the dents are, scratches, which panel has been replaced etc.
matatuman
#22 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 11:40:54 AM

Tokyo wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mucheminjagih wrote:
Hi guys. If its your first time your importing from Japan avoid auction at all cost. Go for stock cars. Stock cars are cheaper, and delivery on time. What if you buy from auction and fails test. Buy if you want to go ahead create an account with www.jpctrade.com it has over 16auction house. My contact info@auto-eliteglobal.com

Wacha uongo bro. If you do not know how the auction works uliza utaelezewa bure. I would go for auction any day over stock. Its common knowledge that even "reputable" dealers like IBC Japan buy some grade R cars and label them as grade 4 when on their stock.

On failing test i will assume you are referring to the road worthiness inspection. Biggest issue is radiation, do some research and you will learn to avoid bidding on cars sold at auctions in Tohoku, Chibai and a couple of other places.

Chiba?

Yes Chiba,that was a typo the explanation i was given was that after the Fukushima disaster, some unscrupulous dealers have been using new license plates to disguise the origin of the vehicle and later exhibit them there. No idea why they chose Chiba but lots of units with abnormally high levels have been traced back to auction houses in that region.
matatuman
#23 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 11:48:14 AM

mucheminjagih wrote:
@Matatuman do you know that the government has appointed new companies for inspection?? Where is your showroom mine is in highridge with 50 stock cars. I import atleast 10cars monthly so offering me advice is useless. Auction cars especially when you have a tight budget you can stay bidding upto to two months and finally you result to grade R car. Second the company you will use for bidding will charge you a minimum of $600 for the service. 3rd the movement of car from auction to inspection to getting of documents and finally booking for shipment takes one month. Shipping another one month, meaning you can get a car after 4months. What I mean is auction is for bigwigs.

Boss, QISJ is not a big secret as you imagine, they were still doing the inspections even previously. Teach me something new without catching feelings. :)

10 cars a month is peanuts,hardly anything to brag about, not with a yard to maintain. Thats tied up capital staring at you. You are doing something wrong if you take 4 months to get a car from the auction. Lakini vile wewe ni mjuaji i will be mean with what i know.

One question for you, if you can't get the cheap cars from the auction without resulting to grade R. Where do you think the dealers who supply your stock get them from? Thin air??
jerry
#24 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 12:23:06 PM

Some people need to meet over a cup of Kenyan tea and settle their little differences. 10 cars per month is nothing? Even my 1 car per year is something! I value ideas more than property though and I doubt there is anybody without a good idea or opinion.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
matatuman
#25 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 12:43:54 PM

jerry wrote:
Some people need to meet over a cup of Kenyan tea and settle their little differences. 10 cars per month is nothing? Even my 1 car per year is something! I value ideas more than property though and I doubt there is anybody without a good idea or opinion.

I agree, but please quote me in context, Mucheminjagi's 10 cars are something, just not something significant enough for him to brag about. I bet you also agree from your posts on the matatu business thread that you can't be helped. The only reason you commented here is coz i told you off for your indifference in the way you run your matatu and blame third parties.
jerry
#26 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 2:47:46 PM

matatuman wrote:
jerry wrote:

I agree, but please quote me in context, Mucheminjagi's 10 cars are something, just not something significant enough for him to brag about. I bet you also agree from your posts on the matatu business thread that you can't be helped. The only reason you commented here is coz i told you off for your indifference in the way you run your matatu and blame third parties.

I partially take the blame for "mismanaging" my matatu but more so by employing an incompetent driver whom I fired on 1st of this month. I now see the meaning of "you are as good as the pple you employ". I sincerelly didn't have your earlier comment in mind when I commented on "10 cars being nothing to brag about".
#27 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 5:46:20 PM

@admin,merge these threads for continuity purposes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...osts&t=9026&p=13
mucheminjagih
#28 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 10:00:04 AM

We buy directly from users.. Auction we only buy for ordered cars with enough budget.
mucheminjagih
#29 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 10:02:28 AM

Guys please note have never commented in any matatu business and have no whatsoever interest in that industry
jerry
#30 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 10:26:26 AM

mucheminjagih wrote:
We buy directly from users.. Auction we only buy for ordered cars with enough budget.

What's your point in these two posts?
Tokyo
#31 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 10:39:39 AM

mucheminjagih wrote:

where are you based?
work to prosper
matatuman
#32 Posted : Monday, February 16, 2015 9:13:56 PM

Tokyo wrote:
mucheminjagih wrote:

where are you based?

Following this keenly, if he buys directly he would need to have the logistics and networks of guyz like Tomisho, SBT, Be Forward et al. Unless of course he knows his way around kakaku.com.
mucheminjagih
#33 Posted : Tuesday, February 17, 2015 10:35:26 AM

Our guy is located in Saitama, Japan.
Tokyo
#34 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 8:11:21 AM

mucheminjagih wrote:
Our guy is located in Saitama, Japan.

Japanese hardly sell their cars to individuals. Unless your guy buying from domestic dealers, it might be challenging considering 7yrs limit.
work to prosper
Ali Baba
#35 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 5:27:33 PM

Tokyo wrote:
[quote=mucheminjagih]Our guy is located in Saitama, Japan.

Japanese hardly sell their cars to individuals. Unless your guy buying from domestic dealers, it might be challenging considering 7yrs limit.