wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Christian books and movies
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 1:16:50 PM

Hi guys

I recently started watching Christian movies and reading Christian books,especially on family life,marriage,Our relationship with God..etc and am yearning for more and more of the same! I used to be very anti-such coz i always thought they're the best and easiest way to die of boredomsmilesmile but i've changed my mind. Am slowly warming up to them and i feel wiser and believe i understand the whole romance,marriage and Christian living issue better now...

So far,i have watched:
1. Fire proof
2. Not easily broken

And read:
1. God's masterplan for a Christian marriage-Adei
2. I'll have what she's having - Bobbie Houston
3. Become a better you - Joel Osteen

What other good Christian movies,books..etc would you recommend? Especially on life,marriage and motivational stuff

I expect @Akowally,Ngwono,Jammo,Fundaah,Eli etc to each recommend something good. And please remember am not looking for very deep stuff..Well,not as yet! Some humour incorporated in the recommended movie/book will be highly appreciatedApplause
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 2:12:35 PM

Okay Leona, I'd struggle with the reads but I've watched both movies. And I've definitely watched FireProof - very good. Not easily broken is just okay - TD Jakes & All.

I'll definitely have a couple more movies for you but start with that are Christian, but these are very good recommendations same class and I've watched them all:
*Raisin in the Sun featuring Puff Daddy
*Love Comes Softly
*I am David
*Facing the Giants

Book (not read)
*Purpose Drive Life - Rick Warren

On another note, hope you're joining us on the Book Club; seems we may be starting with Half of a Yellow Sun.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 3:06:28 PM

@Muganda
Thanks for the recommendations,am armed with my pen and notebook..will go hunting for the movies & books. Na sasa...hiyo ya puffdaddy sio derailer jameni?smile
Am in for the book club, ati Half of a yellow sun? have never heard of it...& i hope it's not one of those boring books. LOL I sleep very easily..so no need for a sleep inducer!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 3:38:44 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Aaaish @leona derailer, hurting my ribs like this; you will have to sambaza me if my medical runs out.

Maybe I should have said featuring Sean Combs - you you'll love it.

Now this 'Half of a Yellow Sun', the author Chimamanda Adichie is sometimes referred to a Chinua Achebe's 'daughter' due to her writing style and won the Orange Book Prize at only 30. Another treat for sure...
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 6:22:42 AM

@leona I was also puzzled about puff diddy, clearly is a must watch needs watching to understand what link such a character has with Xstian movies
Mtublack
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 9:55:31 AM

@Leona
The Bible
Some you win some you lose
wanjirus
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 1:06:41 PM

@leona,
The family that prays together, i.e. if you‘ve not watched it, it’s the only I have and watched to prescribe, it was so inspirational.
Mpenzi
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 1:28:01 PM

Leona - check out the following by Tim La Haye:
1. Alike in Love: When Opposites Attract
2. The Act of Marriage
3. Why you Act the Way you do
4. The Spirit- Controlled Temperament
Seq Lu
#9 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 5:52:54 AM

@Muganda - Here is the Purpose Drive Life - Rick Warren

http://rapidshare.com/fi...Purpose_Driven_Life.pdf

Its a 40 days journey... lets walk together..
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
wasee
#10 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 8:38:30 AM

In addition to the Christian books and Movies, you can download Joel Osteen Podcast and burn them to a CD/DVD u be listening{they are very motivational and are updated weekly}.
check out the link
http://www.podfeed.net/p...tries+Audio+Podcast/8005
Achiever
#11 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 10:29:45 AM

You must get the purpose Driven life by Rick Warren as stated earlier....i can't tell the no of times i have read it...

Marriage act is also a gd one esp for married pple.

Any bk by Joel Osteen is worth reading...

Bwt...check out at Scripture Union....they have all you need...including christian novels...

They have a branch at Hurlingham
#12 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 10:44:53 AM

Thanks guys, so much worth looking into. Now the issue is finding the time... Time is the only currency; spend wisely
#13 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 12:34:59 PM

Thanks guys, i sure will find time and read at least half of all these. Another book added to my collection(courtesy of Wazua,and it seems like a superb selection is - 365 daily devotions for Women by Jewell Johnson

@Muganda, Time is very scarce and if you keep searching for it,you will never find it,sometimes we MUST make time...
anasazi
#14 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 12:59:32 PM

Actually, one way we can redeem time is to spend less time watching other people making money (aka movies, series etc). I have significantly reduced the time I spend on those. However, I have failed in redeeming time by not watching the EPL... Hio nimeshindwa. A man must enjoy a few time wasters here and there.

One thing I read from John Maxwell (currently reading a good book from him - Thinking for a change), is that he stopped reading fiction books a long time ago, so that he could make more time for non-fiction books that would improve his life. Now that is a tough one, if you love fiction..
Form is temporary, class is permanent
akowally
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 10:58:20 AM

Books
Getting The Most From The Bible by G. Steve Kinnard
The Name by Franklin Graham
Friends and Lovers by Sam and Geri Laing
Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren
His Needs Her Needs by William H. Harley

Movies
Too Saved
Facing the Giants (from the guys who made Fireproof)
Woman Thou art Loosed
Undescribable
How Great is Our God

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 11:07:07 AM

@leona, Did you watch the Sean Combs movie - Raisin' in the Sun (nominated for Golden Globe) - we compare notes? And in so doing learn a lesson about 'judging a book by the cover'
gathinga
#17 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 6:15:36 AM

Cant believe this discussion is on wazua. Even some guys who I thot belonged the 'other side' have digestions. Wazua, so dynamic. It rocks. Am also blessed just like Leona...though I have not started, I will check out some of these. Be blessed
akowally
#18 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 6:56:05 AM

Leona

I just watched I Can Do Bad All By Myself a few days ago. This has been done by Tyler Perry, Mary J. Blige, Gladys Knight and Marvin Winans. Has the touch of humour that you might be looking for. I would recommend you start with that one. Look for a Tyler Perry collection esp one that has this and "Why Did I Get Married" which is a great marriage movie.

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#19 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:08:38 AM

Bwana Akowally, I greet you in the name of our merciful creator.

I'd like to second your choice of "Why Did I Get Married"; definitely in the same class as "Raisin in the Sun".

But frown slightly on "I Can Do Bad All By Myself".
tuvok
#20 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 10:08:00 AM

I've read a couple of Tim La Haye's books.

You could include the Left Behind series books. I think they are 12. Managed to read all of them!

The Act of Marriage -> It's meant for married people!

Personally, I've also found myself reading less fiction and more non-fiction. For Christian reading, I've now started reading stuff that's more to do with doctrine. It's quite enlightening.

Check out christianaudio.com -> There's a free audio book for download each month.