Pierce
#401 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 3:51:32 PM

Wrong thread...oops
#402 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 4:23:33 PM

Pierce wrote:
Wrong thread...oops

Nilikuwa nimeshangaa!!!
holycow
#403 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 7:24:32 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Habari za siku nyingi?

As soon as I saw Wangusi smile during introductions, I knew NTV, KTN CITIZEN were in for some embarrassment. They have spent too much time deliberately misinforming the public and denying CAK a chance to clear the air.

Basically this is the story....

In 2010, open tender was advertised for digital signal distribution, two licenses were on the table.

Government policy was to reserve one for a Kenyan entity and open the other for competition.

The local stations were encouraged to form a consortium to bid for the locally reserved license and then individually bid for the open one. Because of cut-throat competition, mistrust and greed, the consortium fell apart.

Consequently, the locals put in individual bids hurriedly and half-halfheartedly - some did not even have basic requirements like bid-bonds! As Mark Masai quipped, "they slept on the job".

Eventually, the local license went to the National broadcaster (Signet) and the open one was won by Pan Africa Network Group (PANG).

3 years later, the switch-off dates are announced and the three "dinosaurs" woke up and realised they are in trouble and started making noises [much the same way the the opposition parties used to make noise after the fact each time Moi outwitted them in the elections]

Court battles ensued - Muite made millions and is looking to make more as the head to international courts! Supreme Court held that:

1] As long as the digital signal distributor does NOT change the content of a broadcast and does not charge the viewers for FTA channels, then there is no copyright infringement.

2]Advised the parties to negotiate a way of issuing digital distribution licences for own content to the "dinosaurs".

CAK issued them "Self-Provisioning" licenses to distribute their own content. But that did not bar the Nation distribution license holders from carrying the content of the three without charging viewers. In Wangusi's view, this extended their regional reach because at the moment they do not have a country wide presence.

The Self-provisioning license came with frequencies for each of the regions where the three already have transmitters - 21 sites. They cannot get additional frequencies unless they build more sites.

They were also allowed to sell own decoders in accordance with the law; in other words, they were to bring samples for type-approval and then go ahead and import the bulk.

Unfortunately, the three idiots, sorry, dinosaurs went ahead and bought one million boxes before getting type-approval. They slept on the job, yet again!

To cover their faces in the court of public opinion, the three dinosaurs have gone all out with deliberate misinformation:

1] that to watch their {boring} content, viewers will have to pay The Chinese monthly charges. Not true, PANG is not allowed to charge for the signal....and it is not charging. [I've been watching for a year now]

2] that you can only get a decoder box from a broadcaster or a signal distributor. Not true. There are over 50 independent dealers who have been selling type-approved boxes in the streets. Mine is one of them. Secondly, if this was the case, what would those who have digital-ready TVs do?

In the final analysis; I see a case of corporate impunity in the actions of these 3 dinosaurs, NTV, KTN and CITIZEN. It reminds me of the time when CITIZEN stole radio frequencies and when they asked to regularise the matter by paying requisite licenses, they refused. When CCK switched them off, they went ahead and stole some more, including those assigned to KISS FM.

Wangusi did a good job of undressing them in front of their viewers. Now let's all go out and buy decoders!

Happy digital 2015!!

Hey are you QW reincarnated?

Seems he's alive and has really reformed.

#404 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 7:42:40 PM

Wangusi is walking in town with Kaikai and Ohito still in his pockets.
#405 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 9:00:13 PM

That standard Media guy seems not to conceptualize what the digital spectrum is. Linus is being stubborn, and i think he's doing it for his bosses.
#406 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 9:22:37 PM

holycow wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Habari za siku nyingi?

Hey are you QW reincarnated?

Seems he's alive and has really reformed.

I doubt chiaro is qw. Chiaro has been in wazua for quite some time and his style is markedly different.

QW was and is special. I can't remember which fb page members were requesting the admins to eject him. Na styro yake ni ile ile kila mahali
chiaroscuro
#407 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 8:32:21 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Habari za siku nyingi?

As soon as I saw Wangusi smile during introductions, I knew NTV, KTN CITIZEN were in for some embarrassment. They have spent too much time deliberately misinforming the public and denying CAK a chance to clear the air.

Basically this is the story....

In 2010, open tender was advertised for digital signal distribution, two licenses were on the table.

Government policy was to reserve one for a Kenyan entity and open the other for competition.

The local stations were encouraged to form a consortium to bid for the locally reserved license and then individually bid for the open one. Because of cut-throat competition, mistrust and greed, the consortium fell apart.

Consequently, the locals put in individual bids hurriedly and half-halfheartedly - some did not even have basic requirements like bid-bonds! As Mark Masai quipped, "they slept on the job".

Eventually, the local license went to the National broadcaster (Signet) and the open one was won by Pan Africa Network Group (PANG).

3 years later, the switch-off dates are announced and the three "dinosaurs" woke up and realised they are in trouble and started making noises [much the same way the the opposition parties used to make noise after the fact each time Moi outwitted them in the elections]

Court battles ensued - Muite made millions and is looking to make more as the head to international courts! Supreme Court held that:

1] As long as the digital signal distributor does NOT change the content of a broadcast and does not charge the viewers for FTA channels, then there is no copyright infringement.

2]Advised the parties to negotiate a way of issuing digital distribution licences for own content to the "dinosaurs".

CAK issued them "Self-Provisioning" licenses to distribute their own content. But that did not bar the Nation distribution license holders from carrying the content of the three without charging viewers. In Wangusi's view, this extended their regional reach because at the moment they do not have a country wide presence.

The Self-provisioning license came with frequencies for each of the regions where the three already have transmitters - 21 sites. They cannot get additional frequencies unless they build more sites.

They were also allowed to sell own decoders in accordance with the law; in other words, they were to bring samples for type-approval and then go ahead and import the bulk.

Unfortunately, the three idiots, sorry, dinosaurs went ahead and bought one million boxes before getting type-approval. They slept on the job, yet again!

To cover their faces in the court of public opinion, the three dinosaurs have gone all out with deliberate misinformation:

1] that to watch their {boring} content, viewers will have to pay The Chinese monthly charges. Not true, PANG is not allowed to charge for the signal....and it is not charging. [I've been watching for a year now]

2] that you can only get a decoder box from a broadcaster or a signal distributor. Not true. There are over 50 independent dealers who have been selling type-approved boxes in the streets. Mine is one of them. Secondly, if this was the case, what would those who have digital-ready TVs do?

In the final analysis; I see a case of corporate impunity in the actions of these 3 dinosaurs, NTV, KTN and CITIZEN. It reminds me of the time when CITIZEN stole radio frequencies and when they asked to regularise the matter by paying requisite licenses, they refused. When CCK switched them off, they went ahead and stole some more, including those assigned to KISS FM.

Wangusi did a good job of undressing them in front of their viewers. Now let's all go out and buy decoders!

Happy digital 2015!!

Talking of corporate impunity.... last week, The EastAfrican was banned from circulating in Tz because the paper "has been circulating in the country without being properly registered, contrary to section 6 of the Newspaper Act number 3 of 1976"

Reminds me of the time Daily Nation managing editor Mutuma Mathiu & Co were deported from Dar for working there without a work permit!

These guys have a very bad history of disobeying the rules!
Kihara joni
#408 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 10:18:09 PM

What is the status of this process, what did the supream court decide if not when is the ruling? haki hii kenya I see all the channels back on analogue.
#409 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2015 12:55:00 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
What is the status of this process, what did the supream court decide if not when is the ruling? haki hii kenya I see all the channels back on analogue.

tumetoka digital sasa tuko analogue - the honchos have decided smile
Kihara joni
#410 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 4:04:50 PM

Can see mutunga and company has allowed migration as earlier scheduled 1st dec, 1 feb and 31st March just waiting for CA to speak up
ole3
#411 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 6:45:33 PM

lets face it Wguys, change is inevitable
#412 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 8:06:13 PM

After all said and done, Muite has made his money
#413 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 8:09:47 PM

Is it over yet, I thought there was mention of taking up the issue to an international tribunal.
#414 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 8:15:43 PM

Yep. That's how lawyers are. Get paid for making lots of useless noise. Then the mandatory switch off happens. Btw is he running for the Kabete seat........or he can't fit in the digital Kabete constituency?
#415 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 8:24:11 PM

Is it over yet, I thought there was mention of taking up the issue to an international tribunal.

I heard that Sub Standard guy mention something to do with copyright issues and going to France to some copyright court, then it occurred to me that kweli we have a sub-standard workforce. Would Google or Facebook or Yahoo take Zuku to court because Zuku supplied Wanjiku with a medium through which they can connect to the internet?

ole3
#416 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 8:30:33 PM

I heard that Sub Standard guy mention something to do with copyright issues and going to France to some copyright court, then it occurred to me that kweli we have a sub-standard workforce. Would Google or Facebook or Yahoo take Zuku to court because Zuku supplied Wanjiku with a medium through which they can connect to the internet?

lawyer gets paid his dues, circus goes revolving

anchorman/tv guy gets his dues by patting employer
Buster
#417 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 12:03:44 AM

Its past midnight and my Analogue channels are more clearer than ever...
Atalaku
#418 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 11:13:16 AM

Buster wrote:
Its past midnight and my Analogue channels are more clearer than ever...

Hata sasa. ..
#419 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 1:20:01 PM

They have been forcibly switched off.
eduu
#420 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 1:24:38 PM