Aende! Islamic countries are not so bad! bora asifanye vitu fulani
1) asijaribu ku-argue juu ya dini
2) asinywe pombe kiholela holela
3) asimwagie wanawake wa huko mate ama ajaribu kuwa 'katia'
He and his family will be fine! Aende na familia pia.

what are the consequences, when one is used to some things it can be hard to completely rid oneself in an instant.
is one deported, how easy/hard is it to move in and out, how is the social life huko - especially for the kids.
hata mimi my friend had been asked to move huko (dell contract), lakini aka pull out last minute.

you will always get more exposure than you thought possible. you may become more tolerant and understanding than before. by the way - it's never as bad as you think!

Hapo sawa, always good to hear from someone who has been huko - guess it's the fear of change, and being away from one's comfort zone.

The beauty of Wazua is there is valuable advice and insight on almost anything under the sun (and the laughs about airports and fish and all that....). It is always better to weigh options before making important decisions
our goals are best achieved indirectly
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 9:48:03 PM

what are the consequences, when one is used to some things it can be hard to completely rid oneself in an instant.
is one deported, how easy/hard is it to move in and out, how is the social life huko - especially for the kids.
hata mimi my friend had been asked to move huko (dell contract), lakini aka pull out last minute.

you will always get more exposure than you thought possible. you may become more tolerant and understanding than before. by the way - it's never as bad as you think!

Hapo sawa, always good to hear from someone who has been huko - guess it's the fear of change, and being away from one's comfort zone.

but when you look at the number of threads started by @Masukuma's right here that revolve around racism, you might need to think twice. Aseme kila kitu, the good, bad and ugly.
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:09:27 PM

kiterunner wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
kiterunner wrote:
The potential employer is a contractor for the city of Jeddah. After reading this thread my friend is quite likely going to turn down the contract. Thanks for your thoughts and experiences

You can sponsor a quarter crate of something original at the next mbuzi...just kidding smile

I actually will, when is it due?

Usually around August but watch out for when Wazuans start kelele ya kula mbuzi smile ....will hold you to it

cc. @Jus-Blazin
kiterunner
#44 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 3:42:22 AM

but when you look at the number of threads started by @Masukuma's right here that revolve around racism, you might need to think twice. Aseme kila kitu, the good, bad and ugly.

Racism is real out there but some people are more sensitive than others. My Kenyan colleague and I were once invited for a thanksgiving diner by our American employer. We had a great diner and when his friends joined us later and we shot pool. The guy had one of those old gramophones and kept playing the rolling stones song 'I am a monkey' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNY8eYmzdH4 over and over again. I was offended so offended and never accepted social invites from him again but kept my cool on this night. On the other hand my friend had one of the best evenings ever and hanged out with the boss socially a lot more than me.

So from my experience racism is real and comes in many shades and colours and sometimes from the most unexpected people or places. We differ in levels of tolerance and perceptions
our goals are best achieved indirectly
Tokyo
#45 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 4:29:38 AM

kiterunner wrote:

Racism is real out there but some people are more sensitive than others. My Kenyan colleague and I were once invited for a thanksgiving diner by our American employer. We had a great diner and when his friends joined us later and we shot pool. The guy had one of those old gramophones and kept playing the rolling stones song 'I am a monkey' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNY8eYmzdH4 over and over again. I was offended so offended and never accepted social invites from him again but kept my cool on this night. On the other hand my friend had one of the best evenings ever and hanged out with the boss socially a lot more than me.

So from my experience racism is real and comes in many shades and colours and sometimes from the most unexpected people or places. We differ in levels of tolerance and perceptions

Kenya leads in Racism.Elsewhere is more of prejudice than racism.
work to prosper
5 Pages«<345