Nairobi Africa's 'most intelligent' city
Muriel
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 9:54:34 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Internet access isn't necessarily 'intelligence'.

I am suing you for stealing my point.

Let's do an 'out of court' please. Great to hear from you.

Very well.

Out of Court Settlement it is.

Perhaps we could start by interrogating this most intelligent city thing from the perspective of the defining authority.

The Intelligent Community Forum is quoted by The Chicken Noodle Network’s Market Place Africa as defining intelligent communities as those that have taken conscious steps to create an economy that can prosper in the broadband economy.

The rankings, in the forum’s opinion, recognize the achievements of communities that have inclusive, prosperous economies on a basis of information and communication technology.

Shall we move from there?

Yes. Sounds reasonable.

Excuse me, I beg to differ.

They cannot just be allocating new meanings to words as pleases them disregarding the existing meanings.

Doing that destroys language and renders communication unintelligible.

#42 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:01:57 AM

Muriel wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Very well.

Perhaps we could start by interrogating this most intelligent city thing from the perspective of the defining authority.

The Intelligent Community Forum is quoted by The Chicken Noodle Network’s Market Place Africa as defining intelligent communities as those that have taken conscious steps to create an economy that can prosper in the broadband economy.

The rankings, in the forum’s opinion, recognize the achievements of communities that have inclusive, prosperous economies on a basis of information and communication technology.

Yes. Sounds reasonable.

They cannot just be allocating new meanings to words as pleases them disregarding the existing meanings.

Like which meanings?
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:08:19 AM

Muriel wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

@swenani, a city can have an IQ. A city can be intelligent.

As in smart phone or internet of things. But they are dumb insofar as their 'smartness' is not inherent.

A city is also a living organism.

Wewe Tycho wachana na Bangi ya Luanda!

Ni vute gani sasa? Yako ni ya wapi?

Washana na fangi,Mimi huvuta majani chai
#44 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:22:23 AM

the very fact that we have people on this forum discussing and critiquing the 'most intelligent' label of the city they hail from adds credence that there is some 'intelligence' in Nairobi! of course some of you may want to claim that i was not intelligent enough to criticise the 'most intelligent' tag/label when I first posted it but rather I decided to use Obama's meme. The reason I did this is because I had gone before you and known that most of you will intelligently criticise the 'intelligence' tag and from previous discussions gathered that the label was fitting and thus I posted it. The very fact that you have been able to follow this string of thought shows that you are indeed intelligent and adds credence to the fact that there is some 'intelligence' in Nairobi - some thing that I always thought you would be able to do coz you are indeed ...'intelligent'
#45 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:23:12 AM

Muriel wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

@swenani, a city can have an IQ. A city can be intelligent.

As in smart phone or internet of things. But they are dumb insofar as their 'smartness' is not inherent.

A city is also a living organism.

Wewe Tycho wachana na Bangi ya Luanda!

Ni vute gani sasa? Yako ni ya wapi?

Washana na fangi,Mimi huvuta majani chai

Wacha ni baki kwa fangi. Hiyo yako imenishinda.
Muriel
#46 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:25:55 AM

Muriel wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Very well.

Yes. Sounds reasonable.

Like which meanings?

Of 'intelligent'.
Muriel
#47 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:28:34 AM

the very fact that we have people on this forum discussing and critiquing the 'most intelligent' label of the city they hail from adds credence that there is some 'intelligence' in Nairobi! of course some of you may want to claim that i was not intelligent enough to criticise the 'most intelligent' tag/label when I first posted it but rather I decided to use Obama's meme. The reason I did this is because I had gone before you and known that most of you will intelligently criticise the 'intelligence' tag and from previous discussions gathered that the label was fitting and thus I posted it. The very fact that you have been able to follow this string of thought shows that you are indeed intelligent and adds credence to the fact that there is some 'intelligence' in Nairobi - some thing that I always thought you would be able to do coz you are indeed ...'intelligent'

So it was all just a phrase? An idiom? A poem?
#48 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:30:51 AM

Muriel wrote:

Granted.

But then again, in my rebuttal, I give you the (in)famous "Peculiar Kenyan Calling Habits" that has since become part of the Kenyan lexicon.

"They" give the resounding success that mpesa has become in bringing the mass man into the monetary-banking mainstream as one of the signs of this "intelligence". Yet only failure has met those that try to replicate it elsewhere.

I want to think that this is an adaptation to new phenomena and not destruction of language as you so eloquently put it.

"Peculiar Kenyan Calling Habits" did not, in my opinion, render communication unintelligible but actually enhanced it in that it defined a new behavior that could only have developed from peculiar usage of a relatively new technology.

How wrong am I?
#49 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 12:28:22 PM

@Muriel, what's the common meaning of intelligence and how different is it from the one offered here?

@masukuma, it's possible to have 'some' intelligence in Nairobi, but isn't this expected in any city? Does intelligence have threshold values or conditions?

@mahegoat, does m-pesa qualify as a measure of intelligence given the definitions you've offered?
#50 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 1:03:00 PM

@mahegoat, does m-pesa qualify as a measure of intelligence given the definitions you've offered?

Looking at their definition:

The rankings, in the forum’s opinion, recognize the achievements of communities that have inclusive, prosperous, economies on a basis of information and communication technology.

I am inclined to think so.

The question is, do you?
#51 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 1:09:48 PM

aemathenge wrote:

and does having a smartphone with internet access mean you are a user? NAH!

And does having a Smartphone make you smart/Intelligent?
#52 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 1:12:53 PM

aemathenge wrote:

Looking at their definition:

The rankings, in the forum’s opinion, recognize the achievements of communities that have inclusive, prosperous, economies on a basis of information and communication technology.

I am inclined to think so.

The question is, do you?

For me the key words are 'communities', 'inclusive' and 'prosperous economies', 'consciously deciding' using ICT.

m-pesa is neither communally generated nor inclusive in generating economic prosperity. So it doesn't qualify.
Muriel
#53 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 1:24:51 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Muriel wrote:

Granted.

But then again, in my rebuttal, I give you the (in)famous "Peculiar Kenyan Calling Habits" that has since become part of the Kenyan lexicon.

"They" give the resounding success that mpesa has become in bringing the mass man into the monetary-banking mainstream as one of the signs of this "intelligence". Yet only failure has met those that try to replicate it elsewhere.

I want to think that this is an adaptation to new phenomena and not destruction of language as you so eloquently put it.

"Peculiar Kenyan Calling Habits" did not, in my opinion, render communication unintelligible but actually enhanced it in that it defined a new behavior that could only have developed from peculiar usage of a relatively new technology.

How wrong am I?

Mahegoat, I was thinking that 'intelligence' implies 'thinking' or making own independent decisions sometimes not even calculated or anticipated by third parties.

Hence the doing of activities, no matter how complex they are is not thinking - its merely doing what is programmed. It is automation. It is not 'intelligent' hence 'intelligence' does not apply to it. Mpesa is not intelligent. Its an automaton doing only what its handlers want it to do. It does not go a byte beyond.

Brother, that is how and why I think its different from the one offered here.
#54 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 2:15:15 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Muriel wrote:

Granted.

How wrong am I?

I have never really understood this metric! why do they consider it a failure? since it's not as big as Kenya's? how long did it take for Kenya's version to grow to these levels? what people don't get is that what makes m-pesa tick is not tech or numbers of people on a telco network but rather what we call 'network effects'. The larger it becomes the more useful it becomes. people have not taken time to try and create these network effects. it's a chicken and egg situation - agents who need customers and customers who need agents. When people just seed a society with a product and wait and no magic is created they wonder - why are people not joining it? then they say - ah! kenyans are peculiar people.
#55 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 2:18:45 PM

Houston, we have a problem !

Let me make a comprehensive study of the Forum and get back to you all.

All those billions not being made through "Intelligence"?

I am totally stymied.
#56 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 2:41:02 PM

Applause Applause Wazua is enough proof !

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly what we have is too much 'internet'
Muriel
#57 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 4:03:50 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Houston, we have a problem !

Let me make a comprehensive study of the Forum and get back to you all.

All those billions not being made through "Intelligence"?

I am totally stymied.

Laugh
Laugh
Laugh
#58 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 8:18:37 PM

The issue of 'intelligence' has been on my mind for sometime now, and am glad that there's some white space on wazua for me to think and learn from others. In that case, wazua emerges as an intelligent entity. And in similar breath does Nairobi become intelligent. And perhaps the most intelligent in Africa.

To see how wazua, or Nairobi are intelligent one has to appreciate that wazua and Nairobi have different meanings, forms, and relations on different dimensions.

Maybe I should share what I think 'intelligence' is, or rather what I have discovered it to be. Intelligence is the ability to create harmony between unconscious forces and conscious actions. Adaptation isn't about the external environment alone. Evolution is in effect, a spiritual act and process.

So in a global context Nairobi exhibits intelligence by creating harmony with the unconscious forces of globalization and internetworking by adopting the appropriate behavior like embracing digital transactions and even by showing innovation - like in the case of m-pesa.

It may be true that Nairobi is very intelligent. I concede.
#59 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:24:42 PM

digitek1 wrote:

Applause Applause Wazua is enough proof !

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly what we have is too much 'internet'

watu wanasusia kazi
#60 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:48:18 PM

How is this intelligent Nairobi using it's intelligent to set apart Nairobians?

What advantage does it accord Nairobians as compared to for instance Kampalians?