Msa Liti wrote:
guru267 wrote:
Strathmore is really going places

This year the first graduates of their new courses graduate!

BS Financial Economics
BS Finance
Bsc. Infomatics
Bsc. Telecommunications

And now they have LLB!

How much is fees at strath?

300k average per year for undergraduate..

1M for MBA...

A degree from the LSE is around 4100 Pounds add around 9k for local invigilation per paper around 108,000 am home and dry with a degree in Economics and Finance from one of the best business school,s in the world...flexible reading hours,exams once per year...anyway thats just me...Strath is an excellent school also...

Kweli? weka rink! hiyo inakaa kidogo sana siamini...

www.londoninternational....se/bsc-economics-finance

I personally know someone doing this @Wendz

Although the school is abbreviated as LSE, it is not the famous LSE. The "LSE' offers degree issued by University of London while LSE issues its own. This is a different school hence the 'unbelievable' fees. I think this is where Jomo studied and Nyokabi the Nyeri Women Rep. 'LSE' is a very good school though.

Whatever your smoking please stop,University of London is the main university,LSE is just a constituent college same as King,s college where most Law based degrees and post graduate studies are offered...
#62 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2014 8:06:50 AM

C&P: A public university has lost more than Sh100 million in fees fraud involving students and admission officers.

At least 565 students and an unknown number of staff have so far been implicated in on-going investigations at Moi University in Eldoret, the Nation has established.

In the racket, the officers enrol and issue registration numbers to privately-sponsored students under regular or so-called “mature” programmes that pay less fees.

Normally, a self-sponsored student pays Sh120,000 per year while regular ones pay a subsidised amount of Sh30,000.

However, through the fraudulent registration, the privately-sponsored students, commonly referred to as PSSP or parallel students, end up paying as little as the government-sponsored ones.

This means that the university has been losing close to Sh90,000 per student.

RINK
#63 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 3:24:39 PM

Some 427 students from Presbyterian University of East Africa who studied unaccredited degree programmes will be locked out of this month's graduation. The Standard has learnt that an attempt by the church-sponsored institution to have the students graduate with degrees different from those they studied for backfired two weeks ago after the move was rejected by university senate and the Commission for University Education (CUE).
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...ents-to-miss-graduation/
Muheani
#64 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 6:04:46 PM

Some 427 students from Presbyterian University of East Africa who studied unaccredited degree programmes will be locked out of this month's graduation. The Standard has learnt that an attempt by the church-sponsored institution to have the students graduate with degrees different from those they studied for backfired two weeks ago after the move was rejected by university senate and the Commission for University Education (CUE).
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...nts-to-miss-graduation/

This then Must be the worst University in Kenya
parker
#65 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 4:06:54 PM

And for these results do they apply for both town and main campuses ka for example africa nazarene university main campus ya ongata inaweza compare na campus ya tao because..you know the apple doesn't fall very far away from the tree?na btw niulize hii town campus africa nazarene ina warembo?
#66 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 4:26:52 PM

parker wrote:
And for these results do they apply for both town and main campuses ka for example africa nazarene university main campus ya ongata inaweza compare na campus ya tao because..you know the apple doesn't fall very far away from the tree?na btw niulize hii town campus africa nazarene ina warembo?

Niliskia iko na nuns warembo!
kiterunner
#67 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 7:33:24 PM

kelele.com wrote:
1 University of Nairobi

2 Strathmore University

3 Kenyatta University

4 Moi University

5 Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology

6 United States International University
Nairobi
7 KCA University

8 Kenya Methodist University

9 Daystar University

10 Egerton University

11 Maseno University

12 Catholic University of Eastern Africa

13 University of Eastern Africa, Baraton

14 Africa Nazarene University
Nairobi

15 St. Paul's University

16 Kiriri Women's University of Science and Technology

17 Great Lakes University of Kisumu
Kisumu and other locations

18 Kabarak University
Nakuru
19 Mt Kenya University

20 Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology

21 Gretsa University

22 Pan Africa Christian University
Nairobi
23 The Presbyterian University of East Africa
Kikuyu
24 Adventist University of Africa
Nairobi

What did you consider when ranking them? I find the web metric ranks quite useless although they seem to be the only available ranking systems that is regular. To make it worse they are done by someone sitting on a computer thousands of miles away using information on a website.

Here are the things I would use to rank a University (not in any specific order)
1. Quality of students admitted (I wonder where strathmore sits on that)
2. Qualifications of teaching staff
3. Research output of the staff (Quality and not quantity)
4. Impact on society and contribution to policy making
5. Relevance of curriculum

among others

My bet is no single uni in Kenya will top all the above all the time, some unis are stronger in some fields than the rest
our goals are best achieved indirectly
parker
#68 Posted : Tuesday, December 09, 2014 9:08:11 PM

parker wrote:

Niliskia iko na nuns warembo!

Boss naulizia stori za campo ya tao...
parker
#69 Posted : Wednesday, December 10, 2014 5:29:54 PM

Is nazarene town campus the same standard as the ongata rongai campus?or is it even good?
Atalaku
#70 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 11:55:23 AM

Lovely!

#71 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 12:18:10 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Lovely!

Hazitachomwa during student riots/strikes? Sad
#72 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 2:28:28 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Lovely!

I always ride on such buses when i travel mayuu and have always wondered why no one imports them in kenia. Maybe this will make whoever builds those githorai buses up his game.
bubethi
#73 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 5:32:24 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Lovely!

Hazitachomwa during student riots/strikes? Sad

Wakichoma watakatwa kwa fees - Eshiwani alikuwa akitufanyia hivyo!
#74 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:32:47 PM

#75 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:36:49 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Lovely!

I always ride on such buses when i travel mayuu and have always wondered why no one imports them in kenia. Maybe this will make whoever builds those githorai buses up his game.

With our bad roads, bad cops, reckless drivers, jams, dust....? wacha niachie hapo! Your investment would never pay back.
#76 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:54:49 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Lovely!

With our bad roads, bad cops, reckless drivers, jams, dust....? wacha niachie hapo! Your investment would never pay back.

Why are your forgetting our thuggish students?
#77 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 12:57:59 PM

10 campuses of Kisii University closed.
I never knew there was a University called Kisii anyway!

Moi university has the most number of branches, could be anything in the 40s...and are available in every shopping center near you!

PeterReborn
#78 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 1:17:50 PM

All the tribal universities should be abolished.
Consistency is better than intensity
#79 Posted : Friday, February 17, 2017 7:05:00 PM

Executive masters degree - Cancelled until further notice. Universities offering executive master courses must prove they meet the standards within six months.

Universities have also been directed to recall honorary degrees which violated standards, as well as degrees that fraudulently awarded.

The audit established that executive degrees had been abused so much that one university had gone the whole hog and started an executive bachelor’s degree.

The audit also revealed that the quality of courses offered by many universities over the school holidays was wanting.

“They do not afford adequate contact time between the learners and their lecturers. They do not give learners sufficient exposure to quality degree research, library time and interaction between the learners themselves,” added the report.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...r/1056-3816436-1372gdoz/
#80 Posted : Tuesday, May 30, 2017 8:29:32 PM

I never thought there would be a time when THE would be advertising their programs on TV.....but what is "Innovations? Distance Learning"? They must be very very desperate.