wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Nairobi Africa's 'most intelligent' city
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 8:37:41 PM

For a second year in a row, Kenya's busy capital city of Nairobi has been named the most intelligent city in Africa -- failing, however, to make it to the world's top seven finalists.

Nairobi was the only African city to appear on their shortlist of 21 hubs throughout the world for 2015.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 9:46:53 PM

17.3 million internet users ?
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 10:41:32 PM

Would be interesting to know how they arrive at this number

Nevertheless, something positive about Internet usage in KE cos there's a lot of trash that is churned out by 'online characters'
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 10:42:39 PM

Alai and troops.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 10:50:22 PM

butterflyke wrote:

Nevertheless, something positive about Internet usage in KE cos there's a lot of trash that is churned out by 'online characters'

Arrived at the number via no. of IP addresses.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 11:03:14 PM

butterflyke wrote:

So this does not necessarily translate to number of users, right? Cos one user can access the net using multiple devices meaning multiple IP addresses, ama?

Fafanua kama nimepotea njia
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 11:08:46 PM

butterflyke wrote:

So this does not necessarily translate to number of users, right? Cos one user can access the net using multiple devices meaning multiple IP addresses, ama?

Like I am currently on 3 different devices!!!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 11:49:03 PM

butterflyke wrote:

that would even be stranger, I doubt that number of IP addresses in kenya - still I assume a good number of individuals access the net via the mobile networks, and those run on shared IP's for the various gadgets connected through them.

If true that's a plus, I never thought that many kenyans have access to the net, our population is roughly 40m - considering nearly half of those are kids, that would mean a very high majority of adult kenyans have access to mtandao.

that means if pk runs his internet/social networks well he should easily chukua the top seat - judging by his past popularity online.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 12:07:52 AM

butterflyke wrote:

that would even be stranger, I doubt that number of IP addresses in kenya - still I assume a good number of individuals access the net via the mobile networks, and those run on shared IP's for the various gadgets connected through them.

If true that's a plus, I never thought that many kenyans have access to the net, our population is roughly 40m - considering nearly half of those are kids, that would mean a very high majority of adult kenyans have access to mtandao.

that means if pk runs his internet/social networks well he should easily chukua the top seat - judging by his past popularity online.

Chida ni watu wanakupigia debe digitally but wanapiga kura analogue!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 7:54:57 AM

butterflyke wrote:

does everything have to be turned into a political discussion? internet users = top seat! really?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:52:27 AM

butterflyke wrote:

does everything have to be turned into a political discussion? internet users = top seat! really?

smile was trying to put the ka 17.3 million figure into a ka context that's not very mind bending.
lakini wacha I redact the political connotations.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:58:08 AM

Alai and troops.

Plus Team Otosh and 2pm Gangnum style
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 10:01:38 AM

Internet access isn't necessarily 'intelligence'.
majimaji
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:16:57 AM

It would be good to know the trade volume in KES through the internet. I see good things to buy on the net but i do not trust on-net transactions.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:35:17 AM

I am suing you for stealing my point.
Muriel
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:58:05 AM

aemathenge wrote:

I thought I would be reading of IQ's and such like stuff ,,,,, then I find it's about internet access!
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 12:02:54 PM

Muriel wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

I thought I would be reading of IQ's and such like stuff ,,,,, then I find it's about internet access!

Do you expect a city to have an IQ?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 1:21:33 PM

Muriel wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Do you expect a city to have an IQ?

#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 2:03:32 PM

Applause Applause Wazua is enough proof !
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 2:50:42 PM

Applause Applause Wazua is enough proof !

And you are a big sample