wazua Thu, Aug 7, 2025

corporal punishment
#1 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 8:44:39 PM

Sad Sad such teachers have emotional issues nkt.
sasa wataandika using toes? amenisinya tu sana.

#2 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 11:57:45 PM

True we all survived.
Even the pope recomends it

http://www.standardmedia...-to-spank-your-children]link
ayushnehra
#3 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 12:28:35 AM

Eh this one is serious abuse..Does anyone know which school this is? and anyway how is someone just taking a a video of this and sharing it instead of helping the children. A youtube lil would be helpful..!
Dreams are not the thing you see in your sleep..it's the thing that doesn't let you sleep. - A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
#4 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 7:08:42 AM

ayushnehra wrote:
Eh this one is serious abuse..Does anyone know which school this is? and anyway how is someone just taking a a video of this and sharing it instead of helping the children. A youtube lil would be helpful..!

hakuna abuse hapo, very lenient - the sticks are very thin. smile
Boris Boyka
#5 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 7:27:11 AM

ayushnehra wrote:

ata mi nashangaa kwani @ayushnehra wee ni mtoto ya chuuusi??? we have gone through that successfully. spare the rod......so unataka kujua ndio ufanyie nini hao waalimu???? Have you complainants ever taught in some of these hard core schools ukaona watoto hard core kama ile ya kujenga???
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#6 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 7:34:52 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
ayushnehra wrote:

ata mi nashangaa kwani @ayushnehra wee ni mtoto ya chuuusi??? we have gone through that successfully. spare the rod......so unataka kujua ndio ufanyie nini hao waalimu???? Have you complainants ever taught in some of these hard core schools ukaona watoto hard core kama ile ya kujenga???

kwanza those hardened kids, the parents pay school fees for the whole year plus full holiday tuition - just to get rid of the child from home.

kwanza in my high school there was this kid who used to revel in killing stray dogs, he would lay in wait late at night and when those tu dogs came in looking for left over foods - he would pounce on them with a ki mbao till it died. sasa mtoto kama huyo mwalimu ataongea aje naye.

but at the end of the day there has to be some form of punishment, and the cane works wonders hapa kenya. smile
#7 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 7:53:41 AM

ayushnehra wrote:

This is a Sunday afternoon picnic. Our teachers used to whack us, stomp on our backs as we lay down in pain and Mr Njoru even used to spit in our mouths.....
#8 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 2:40:33 PM

We've all gone through this, but looking at this video has left me with no doubt that its wrooooong !!!!!!

Did it work in making us upright citizens ?? Hell n ! that's why we have mungiki and other groups that went through the beatings committing despicable crimes.

@gordon , at teacher njoru used to do whaaat ? Boss u need therapy. Hope u are seeing a shrink.
#9 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 3:16:05 PM

We've all gone through this, but looking at this video has left me with no doubt that its wrooooong !!!!!!

Did it work in making us upright citizens ?? Hell n ! that's why we have mungiki and other groups that went through the beatings committing despicable crimes.

@gordon , at teacher njoru used to do whaaat ? Boss u need therapy. Hope u are seeing a shrink.

I am in agreement! there has to be a better way! manual labour, Mtu akichapa my daughter mikono hivi... hatafika nyumbani! of course we will end up saying "spare the rod spoil the child" - how can you beat a child that much? really? no! even mungiki's were canned, even con men we canned! anyone trying to draw a line between child abuse and upright citizens is wrong!

http://www.endcorporalpu...esearch/prohibited.html
#10 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 5:02:23 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
ayushnehra wrote:

This is a Sunday afternoon picnic. Our teachers used to whack us, stomp on our backs as we lay down in pain and Mr Njoru even used to spit in our mouths.....

omg! most teachers are pure sadists.
We had a cane manufacturing forest right in the middle of the school.
Unabeba viboko like firewood.
Late-cane
below 60%-cane
illegal trade-cane
miss preps-cane

na sijakuwa millionaire.

#11 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 6:16:40 PM

He he most of us went through this unless things have changed these days but we turned out very disciplined compared to kids these days.

#12 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 7:10:16 PM

He he most of us went through this unless things have changed these days but we turned out very disciplined compared to kids these days.

we? who is this we? that that 'we' include mungiki? that that 'we' consist of matatu touts? who said you are the product of vibokos? for some reason we embraced and enforced (like many other examples) tools that the colonialist created to demean and put us in line.
Boris Boyka
#13 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 7:21:26 PM

we? who is this we? that that 'we' include mungiki? that that 'we' consist of matatu touts? who said you are the product of vibokos? for some reason we embraced and enforced (like many other examples) tools that the colonialist created to demean and put us in line.

am among the "we" nowadays chudwen wamekosa adaaabu ndio unaskia gaysm,mihadarati...mamas mboys,single ladies...and all bullcrap akina my dress my choice...vijana kusagg aa if wameharia longi.....WE
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 8:27:08 PM

Behavior control methods that employ corporal punishment and power assymetry between the 'punisher' and 'punished' are likely to lead to poor adaptive capacities like illustrated by @boyka.

Boris Boyka
#15 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 8:41:40 PM

Behavior control methods that employ corporal punishment and power assymetry between the 'punisher' and 'punished' are likely to lead to poor adaptive capacities like illustrated by @boyka.

Too theoretical. easier said than done. principals,laws,theories should give you a fondation and insight but ate RARELY to be applied aa they appear. @tycho have you ever analysed the behavioural groqth characterisatics of african,asian ans european children??? completely different. if you analyse well ukiona those doing violent demos majuu have african origin in them. ebu fanya hiyo ptactical research uniambie.
#16 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 9:01:55 PM

go on! enforce a colonial practice...enforce it and while at it... enjoy the black african legal professionals with their white wigs. maces in public functions.. diases as a symbol of power. inspection of guards of honour, despising your hair (either cut real low it for men or make it straight for women). go on!
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2015 9:17:18 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Too theoretical. easier said than done. principals,laws,theories should give you a fondation and insight but ate RARELY to be applied aa they appear. @tycho have you ever analysed the behavioural groqth characterisatics of african,asian ans european children??? completely different. if you analyse well ukiona those doing violent demos majuu have african origin in them. ebu fanya hiyo ptactical research uniambie.

Hahaha! Sasa hii ndio 'practical thinking'? Haya basi, Greeks have African origins.

Russians too.

What do we call people from Hong Kong? Uighurs?

Anti-gay and anti-abortion parades in Europe and America are African in origin.

'Practical'.
#18 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2015 1:16:56 PM

interesting paper Spare the Rod, Spoil the Colony: Corporal Punishment, Colonial Violence, and Generational Authority in Kenya, 1897-1952

Corporal punishment, the infliction of physical pain and injury on an individual believed to have committed wrongdoing, was commonplace throughout Kenya's colonial encounter. European settlers bruised houseboys and harvesters with steel-toed boots to instill a sense of station in Kenya's racial hierarchy. Schoolteachers "broke" pupils' backs to mold their minds. African chiefs conducted forced labor to the cadence of the kiboko (whip or cane) urging young men to dig roads faster and carry goods farther. African fathers raised walking sticks to correct absent-minded herdsboys. Colonial magistrates sentenced thousands of young Africans to caning for crimes ranging from bicycle theft to breach of contract. Today, the citizens of an independent Kenya continue to wrestle with the decision to spank mischievous sons and beat restless schoolboys.
In Kenya and elsewhere in Africa, as Africans came into increasing contact with Europeans, the diversity of individuals and institutions laying claim to this form of violence expanded. Colonial governments relied on corporal punishment to broadcast their authority, often through military barracks, schools, courts, and penal institutions. Colonial courts were especially devoted to physical violence as a method of discipline and alternative to imprisonment, fines, or other forms of punishment. Courts in most British African colonies, from native courts in Northern Nigeria and Uganda to magistrate courts in Gold Coast and Kenya, sentenced offenders to corporal punishment to varying degrees. In colonies with white settlement, such as Kenya and South Africa, a cult of the cat o' nine tails formed to humiliate disobethent African chiefs, suppress resistance, and emasculate male sexuality to salve fears of black peril. Corporal punishment was a key instrument in establishing racial hierarchies. Moreover, the use of the kiboko in Kenya and sjambok in South Africa were common methods to coerce and discipline male African labor. Whether a method to punish criminal behavior, display racial superiority, or inculcate labor discipline, corporal punishment became an "essential pedagogical tool" of the colonial encounter, teaching through physical violence. Corporal punishment was not simply an instrument of the British colonial state; it was also a weapon of African parents and elders, used to define age and generational station. It separated men from boys, adults from children; it situated them on opposing sides of the kiboko and established the authority of one over the other. Fathers and elder menfolk in Kenya relied on a diverse disciplinary repertoire, which included physical violence, to correct the behavior of young men, negotiate boundaries between generations, and preserve senior authority. Yet elder patriarchal power was not hegemonic. Generations contested ideas about age, transitions from one age to the next, and fulfillment of accompanying rights and obligations. The colonial encounter further complicated these relationships, often in contradictory ways. As it entrenched elder authority, it also expanded the number of alternatives for young people to accumulate wealth and redefine maturity beyond the purview of fathers and senior kin. Colonial rule also muddied the disciplinary landscape. Although colonial rule sometimes empowered elders, it also redistributed their right to punish the young among a host of other actors. Likewise, while it freed some young people from elder surveillance, it also brought them under the watchful eyes of a wider community of disciplinarians. The right to beat a boy, once the exclusive right of African parents and elder kin, increasingly included missionaries, schoolteachers, employers, chiefs, and the colonial state. Each of these disciplinarians considered physical violence an appropriate form of punishment for young males.
#19 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2015 4:17:34 PM

Our idea of God is the last bastion of corporal punishment. The day of judgement can no longer be the day of vindictiveness and punishment. It can only be the day of illumination when all darkness in Man is confronted and defeated.

When all fear is gone, and one can truly live and act, and grow.

And this is a day that no one can fix on a Calender.

Muriel
#20 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2015 8:09:08 AM

interesting paper Spare the Rod, Spoil the Colony: Corporal Punishment, Colonial Violence, and Generational Authority in Kenya, 1897-1952

Corporal punishment, the infliction of physical pain and injury on an individual believed to have committed wrongdoing, was commonplace throughout Kenya's colonial encounter. European settlers bruised houseboys and harvesters with steel-toed boots to instill a sense of station in Kenya's racial hierarchy. Schoolteachers "broke" pupils' backs to mold their minds. African chiefs conducted forced labor to the cadence of the kiboko (whip or cane) urging young men to dig roads faster and carry goods farther. African fathers raised walking sticks to correct absent-minded herdsboys. Colonial magistrates sentenced thousands of young Africans to caning for crimes ranging from bicycle theft to breach of contract. Today, the citizens of an independent Kenya continue to wrestle with the decision to spank mischievous sons and beat restless schoolboys.
In Kenya and elsewhere in Africa, as Africans came into increasing contact with Europeans, the diversity of individuals and institutions laying claim to this form of violence expanded. Colonial governments relied on corporal punishment to broadcast their authority, often through military barracks, schools, courts, and penal institutions. Colonial courts were especially devoted to physical violence as a method of discipline and alternative to imprisonment, fines, or other forms of punishment. Courts in most British African colonies, from native courts in Northern Nigeria and Uganda to magistrate courts in Gold Coast and Kenya, sentenced offenders to corporal punishment to varying degrees. In colonies with white settlement, such as Kenya and South Africa, a cult of the cat o' nine tails formed to humiliate disobethent African chiefs, suppress resistance, and emasculate male sexuality to salve fears of black peril. Corporal punishment was a key instrument in establishing racial hierarchies. Moreover, the use of the kiboko in Kenya and sjambok in South Africa were common methods to coerce and discipline male African labor. Whether a method to punish criminal behavior, display racial superiority, or inculcate labor discipline, corporal punishment became an "essential pedagogical tool" of the colonial encounter, teaching through physical violence. Corporal punishment was not simply an instrument of the British colonial state; it was also a weapon of African parents and elders, used to define age and generational station. It separated men from boys, adults from children; it situated them on opposing sides of the kiboko and established the authority of one over the other. Fathers and elder menfolk in Kenya relied on a diverse disciplinary repertoire, which included physical violence, to correct the behavior of young men, negotiate boundaries between generations, and preserve senior authority. Yet elder patriarchal power was not hegemonic. Generations contested ideas about age, transitions from one age to the next, and fulfillment of accompanying rights and obligations. The colonial encounter further complicated these relationships, often in contradictory ways. As it entrenched elder authority, it also expanded the number of alternatives for young people to accumulate wealth and redefine maturity beyond the purview of fathers and senior kin. Colonial rule also muddied the disciplinary landscape. Although colonial rule sometimes empowered elders, it also redistributed their right to punish the young among a host of other actors. Likewise, while it freed some young people from elder surveillance, it also brought them under the watchful eyes of a wider community of disciplinarians. The right to beat a boy, once the exclusive right of African parents and elder kin, increasingly included missionaries, schoolteachers, employers, chiefs, and the colonial state. Each of these disciplinarians considered physical violence an appropriate form of punishment for young males.

Your narration of corporal punishment as
if of colonial origins is interesting.

How did our forefathers punish before the mzungu man came?