Market
Pennywise
Power connection fee drop..
To drop from the current Kshs 35,000 to Kshs 1,160......wooow!. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:To drop from the current Kshs 35,000 to Kshs 1,160......wooow!. Details? Who is cover the cost? That is not even the cost of a single pole! Or that is just a deposit and the rest to paid in instalments together with the monthly bills? Sounds too good to be true! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
Link please! In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Nation online. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
grolut wrote:Link please! Here is the <<link>> to Kenya Power signs deal with World Bank to cut electricity connection cost. "Connection charges will drop to Sh1,160 from Sh35,000 in the partnership with the World Bank and African Development Bank."
Very good news "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
This is effective when? Got a quotation last year Nov but did not pay.Can I apply afresh to benefit from the new rates? Extremely good news. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
MaichBlack wrote:Njung'e wrote:To drop from the current Kshs 35,000 to Kshs 1,160......wooow!. Details? Who is cover the cost? That is not even the cost of a single pole! Or that is just a deposit and the rest to paid in instalments together with the monthly bills? Sounds too good to be true! I agree. Sounds good but would be good to get more details...hope there is no 'catch' Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
I dont get the thinking behind it, if the goal is to get more individual on the grid, it would be better to channel the investment into expanding the reach of the grid, i.e increasing the power transformers and extending the power lines.
as it stands, the price restructuring only benefits those who are withing the drop distance for a connection, and yet the same group has the option of the stima loans, the cost of getting connected if one is further away from a transformer still remains prohibitive.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/27/2010 Posts: 495 Location: Nairobi
butterflyke wrote:
I agree. Sounds good but would be good to get more details...hope there is no 'catch'
Catch is, live in rural or informal then you get to enjoy the low connection charges. Kenya Power targets 150,000 connections in slum electrification projectSent from my Black Nokia 3310
I think they have mentioned its more of a loan - but I think trying to do the connections in the informal settlements might prove more expensive and very hard to accomplish (sijui if that's their catch so that someone else benefits). Just navigating the wayleaves, and proper placement of cables will be a nightmare - they should just licence the illegal vendors doing it and have them follow a guideline.
From the KP website, this does not cover the rural areas per se' ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
butterflyke wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Njung'e wrote:To drop from the current Kshs 35,000 to Kshs 1,160......wooow!. Details? Who is cover the cost? That is not even the cost of a single pole! Or that is just a deposit and the rest to paid in instalments together with the monthly bills? Sounds too good to be true! I agree. Sounds good but would be good to get more details...hope there is no 'catch' Exactly as I thought!!! Connection charges remain at Kshs. 32,480/= but if you live in an informal settlement or qualify (by being certified broke) 'someone else' pays the bulk of the money for you. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Bigchick wrote:This is effective when?
Got a quotation last year Nov but did not pay.Can I apply afresh to benefit from the new rates?
Extremely good news. Just that, good news and nothing more. In this serikali ya jubilee mtangoja sana...if the million-acre-Galana-irrigation scheme ndio imegunduliwo can only support 20,000 acres due lack of enough water. Na mtaendelea kuzipata hizi "EXTREMELY" good news. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Bigchick wrote:This is effective when?
Got a quotation last year Nov but did not pay.Can I apply afresh to benefit from the new rates?
Extremely good news. Just that, good news and nothing more. In this serikali ya jubilee mtangoja sana...if the million-acre-Galana-irrigation scheme ndio imegunduliwo can only support 20,000 acres due lack of enough water. Na mtaendelea kuzipata hizi "EXTREMELY" good news. harrydre wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-Power-connections-lowered-to-Sh15-000/-/539546/2731146/-/mheevy/-/index.html
down to 15k Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
harrydre wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-Power-connections-lowered-to-Sh15-000/-/539546/2731146/-/mheevy/-/index.html
down to 15k Quote: The plan also includes increasing the number of installed transformers countrywide and ensuring all households near every transformer are connected.
I hope they give lots of focus on increasing the number of transformers, the number of people with access to the grid is way too low - I hope the loan applies regardless of the distance to the transformer.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
nakujua wrote:harrydre wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-Power-connections-lowered-to-Sh15-000/-/539546/2731146/-/mheevy/-/index.html
down to 15k Quote: The plan also includes increasing the number of installed transformers countrywide and ensuring all households near every transformer are connected.
I hope they give lots of focus on increasing the number of transformers, the number of people with access to the grid is way too low - I hope the loan applies regardless of the distance to the transformer. Transformers!!! that is a big problem. Btw thinking of 15k regardless of distance is insane. Fanya hesabu uone assuming its your business. 15k is lowest..drops,1-2 poles. If you need 4-5 poles inconnection how much does 1 pole cost? add the other materials ansdlabour. Would be a huge loss. Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Boris Boyka wrote:nakujua wrote:harrydre wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-Power-connections-lowered-to-Sh15-000/-/539546/2731146/-/mheevy/-/index.html
I hope they give lots of focus on increasing the number of transformers, the number of people with access to the grid is way too low - I hope the loan applies regardless of the distance to the transformer. Transformers!!! that is a big problem. Btw thinking of 15k regardless of distance is insane. Fanya hesabu uone assuming its your business. 15k is lowest..drops,1-2 poles. If you need 4-5 poles inconnection how much does 1 pole cost? add the other materials ansdlabour. Would be a huge loss. Huge Loss to whom? Let ppl get the power! The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Market
Pennywise
Power connection fee drop..