wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

10 Pages<12345>»
Form One Selection 2015
#41 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:04:11 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Looking at the sampled children in today's newspaper, I think the problem is that candidates and their guardians are not properly advised on how to make effective choices. How does one choose Alliance, Maranda, Lenana and Maseno? All these are highly competitive schools.

If you miss Alliance with your 407marks, you will find that by the time they try to place you in Maranda, it is already filled by those who chose it as first choice. Same for Lenana, Maseno and ALL other national schools and competitive county ones.

So, you'll be left out! The only thing the ministry can do is place you anywhere else there is a space.

People must learn that CHOICES HAVE CONSEQUENCES!

This a very stone age approach. If I chose a school as my second or third choice and I scored more marks than you, I should get a higher priority than you even if you chose it as your first choice if I miss my first choice.

It's doable only the people involved are lazy, corrupt and clueless!!!

If you chose a school as your first choice and I chose it as my third and one of us is supposed to be admitted there and I scored higher marks than you, it is common sense that I should get the slot before you, other things (affirmative action bla bla bla) being constant). The only difference should be that there are other two schools I'd rather have gone to but didn't meet the criteria.

Common sense is surely not common - as far as this so called selection process is concerned.
#42 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:05:43 AM

There are replacement algorithms that can be used.

First, All National School (and later the others) choose students based on their first choice. Each school is now "full".

Second, all National Schools "choose" students based on their second choice. If there is a student who had higher marks than one who had already been picked based on the first choice, he/she replaces that student and the one with lower marks is returned to the pool and subjected to a re - check based on his or her second choice to see if he can replace someone in his second choice school.

This is repeated for all choices one made till they get a school or the choices are exhausted

Other parameters like private/public school, quota system etc. can be programmed in.

A first year or second year student can write such code for you and all this nonsense will be in the past!!!
#43 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:08:01 AM

limanika wrote:
It appears the 25% rule was applied not just in national schools but also extra county and county. Only in district schools it didn't apply. That's why kids with over 390 from private schools could only secure in the districts...I think private schools will eventually die, naturally

You are wrong. Private secondary schools will get very good students. After 4 years, the private schools will outshine National schools.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:10:07 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
And another thing: pupils are NOT selected to join secondary schools; they CHOOSE schools of their choice. If you don't make it to your chosen schools, the ministry posts you where there is space!

That was then!!!!
limanika
#45 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:14:36 AM

Murira Ikihia wrote:
I fully sympathise with the affected kids because I was a victim of a similar scam - 38 years ago. I had scored 32 out of 36 points (equivalent to 444 today) and was picked in our local neighbourhood school - it was partly harambee with a government aided class. At the time, there were students there who would Muratina instead of tea during break-time! It almost broke my spirit but after the initial shock we adjusted and actually ended up uplifting the school performance to levels it had never seen. My take on this is: encourage those bright kids who have no choice but to live with this reality to settle down and take their revenge by working harder than those privileged ones. Take from me, it will change their lives and could even uplift these backwater institutions. Its called the school of hard knocks.
ha ha ha..not to blow your bubble but you can't compare marks and points directly. Correct m if am wrong : if back in the day you sat 3 papers, and a A ranged from 80-100%, your 32 points translate to an average of B+. In current system, ignoring all other factors, you would have gotten 325-350. You could have secured a seat in the national schools however in 2015!
limanika
#46 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:21:42 AM

limanika wrote:
It appears the 25% rule was applied not just in national schools but also extra county and county. Only in district schools it didn't apply. That's why kids with over 390 from private schools could only secure in the districts...I think private schools will eventually die, naturally

You are wrong. Private secondary schools will get very good students. After 4 years, the private schools will outshine National schools.
wembe ni ule ule, who tells you gvt will not apply same principal when selecting for public university if that happens
chiaroscuro
#47 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:25:12 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
And another thing: pupils are NOT selected to join secondary schools; they CHOOSE schools of their choice. If you don't make it to your chosen schools, the ministry posts you where there is space!

That was then!!!!

What's the point of making choices then?
#48 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:26:12 AM

Torio wrote:
This selection stinks. And it is not just private school kids. My friend's daughter - who was in a rural public school in Central - scored 400 and was selected to join Loreto Kiambu (not Limuru), which is just so-so. A girl who scored 378, and who was from the same school will be going to Precious Blood Riruta. My friend's girl had Riruta as her 1st choice. It does not make any sense.

If, as Kaimenyi says, “The government's intention is to make all secondary schools operate at the same level so that we end this belief that there are inferior and superior schools,” then what is the point of doing a national exam? Why not go majimbo all the way then, American style?

I'll give them one thing, there will be bribery left, right ...

You are new to wazua right?

Laughing out loudly, pole kwake - but I thought both schools are extra county schools so at the same level.

My friends daughter scored 342 and has been called to Kenya High.
#49 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:28:42 AM

Euge wrote:
Torio wrote:
This selection stinks. And it is not just private school kids. My friend's daughter - who was in a rural public school in Central - scored 400 and was selected to join Loreto Kiambu (not Limuru), which is just so-so. A girl who scored 378, and who was from the same school will be going to Precious Blood Riruta. My friend's girl had Riruta as her 1st choice. It does not make any sense.

If, as Kaimenyi says, “The government's intention is to make all secondary schools operate at the same level so that we end this belief that there are inferior and superior schools,” then what is the point of doing a national exam? Why not go majimbo all the way then, American style?

I'll give them one thing, there will be bribery left, right ...

You are new to wazua right?

Laughing out loudly, pole kwake - but I thought both schools are extra county schools so at the same level.

My friends daughter scored 342 and has been called to Kenya High.

#team Affirmative action lot smile
#50 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:34:37 AM

First, All National School (and later the others) choose students based on their first choice. Each school is now "full".

Second, all National Schools "choose" students based on their second choice. If there is a student who had higher marks than one who had already been picked based on the first choice, he/she replaces that student and the one with lower marks is returned to the pool and subjected to a re - check based on his or her second choice to see if he can replace someone in his second choice school.

This is repeated for all choices one made till they get a school or the choices are exhausted

Other parameters like private/public school, quota system etc. can be programmed in.

A first year or second year student can write such code for you and all this nonsense will be in the past!!!

as I mentioned to you before, the problem is the pool of national schools that are selected is kidogo and the competition for the same is high, if it was a random placement to national schools then that would work, but the moment you introduce a subset in that algorithim then the output becomes constrained and the chances of a hit lowers, meaning the logic has posibilities of failing to place a kid in a national school despite meeting the passmark.

And that is what happens, just that with social networks it's being highlighted more, lakini that always happens because of that algorithim and the parameters used.
#51 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:42:58 AM

And why are we rewarding mediocrity???

Is the government telling us that individuals running private schools are doing a much better job than the government and the government is resigned to that fact?

I will tell you something free of charge. Teachers in MOST private schools are less qualified, less experienced, more overworked and earn less than their counter parts in public schools. The main reason private schools perform better is because the teachers are held accountable for the performance of their students and there is a proper follow up and audit all the way from lower classes. If you don't believe me, dare any teacher in a public school to join a private school. The can't even dare. In most public schools all you have to do is show up. Go to class, talk to yourself if you feel like and wait for end month.

The government should run public schools like private schools in terms of managing staff and setting targets!

I understand affirmative action in the case of students from Mandera and other disadvantaged areas but students in the same estate in the same county??? Seriously??? We are neighbours, we go to neighbouring school only that one is private and the other one is public and you are admitted to the school of my choice with 380 marks and I am left out with my 420 marks???
#52 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:46:39 AM

repeat!
#53 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:48:39 AM

Why are people complaining as if they don't know what is happening???

the problem is not the computer algorithm.
Those who designed the system, I am pretty sure, just translated what used to be manually done into a computer language.

e.g for national schools.
Check no. of districts/counties or the educational levels they use.
Check available spaces in National schools (which i believe are ranked. Alliance High school is not in the same league as the newly created National schools)

Check top students from this districts/counties
Check which school they picked as first choice... If top student in Machakos picked AHS, place him in AHS.. This caters for pupils even in marginalised areas...
Check if we still have space in AHS...
If there is still space.. check the passmark of remaining students. if they qualified and picked AHS please place them in AHS. If spaces are full move candidate to second choice National school.

The bright candidates, based on the districts, should fit into the national schools and provincial schools.. period!

But what is happening is, my dear Wazuans, Kenyans wont just let the systems run as programmed.
Parents go to the min of Education/heads of schools and feed their children's' names directly into the system...

In short, watu wanapeana hongo in December, even before the selection starts. Nothing to do with ranking and its removal..

#54 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:51:46 AM

as I mentioned to you before, the problem is the pool of national schools that are selected is kidogo and the competition for the same is high, if it was a random placement to national schools then that would work, but the moment you introduce a subset in that algorithim then the output becomes constrained and the chances of a hit lowers, meaning the logic has posibilities of failing to place a kid in a national school despite meeting the passmark.

And that is what happens, just that with social networks it's being highlighted more, lakini that always happens because of that algorithim and the parameters used.

With the algorithm I have just explained above no one would miss out on a school that they chose and someome in the same category with lower marks is admitted.

This is an extremely simple algorithim to implement even factoring in affirmative action, private/public schools etc. This can even be an assignment for second year Computer Science or IT students at UON or JKUAT. Of course ukipatia wa Inoorero, wewe Kwisha!!! He he he. On a lighter note.
chiaroscuro
#55 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10:52:39 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Looking at the sampled children in today's newspaper, I think the problem is that candidates and their guardians are not properly advised on how to make effective choices. How does one choose Alliance, Maranda, Lenana and Maseno? All these are highly competitive schools.

If you miss Alliance with your 407marks, you will find that by the time they try to place you in Maranda, it is already filled by those who chose it as first choice. Same for Lenana, Maseno and ALL other national schools and competitive county ones.

So, you'll be left out! The only thing the ministry can do is place you anywhere else there is a space.

This a very stone age approach. If I chose a school as my second or third choice and I scored more marks than you, I should get a higher priority than you even if you chose it as your first choice if I miss my first choice.

If you chose a school as your first choice and I chose it as my third and one of us is supposed to be admitted there and I scored higher marks than you, it is common sense that I should get the slot before you, other things (affirmative action bla bla bla) being constant). The only difference should be that there are other two schools I'd rather have gone to but didn't meet the criteria.

Common sense is surely not common - as far as this so called selection process is concerned.

You do have a point and I hope MoE is scanning Wazua to get some ideas....

The net effect of your proposal is that all the choices are given equal priority and then placement is based on popularity of a school.

That is, suppose Adam has 410 marks and Bob 400

Adam chooses Alliance as second choice while Bob chooses it as first choice.

What you are saying is that we ignore the fact that Bob had a greater desire to go to Alliance that Adam and only look at their marks.

So we give the slot to Adam even though he didn't want to go to Alliance as much as Bob.

My opinion is that this is not fair to Bob. And secondly, we are giving too much focus on marks and ignoring the rest of the human being - his likes and dislikes etc!
#56 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 11:02:11 AM

And why are we rewarding mediocrity???

Is the government telling us that individuals running private schools are doing a much better job than the government and the government is resigned to that fact?

I will tell you something free of charge. Teachers in MOST private schools are less qualified, less experienced, more overworked and earn less than their counter parts in public schools. The main reason private schools perform better is because the teachers are held accountable for the performance of their students and there is a proper follow up and audit all the way from lower classes. If you don't believe me, dare any teacher in a public school to join a private school. The can't even dare. In most public schools all you have to do is show up. Go to class, talk to yourself if you feel like and wait for end month.

The government should run public schools like private schools in terms of managing staff and setting targets!

I understand affirmative action in the case of students from Mandera and other disadvantaged areas but students in the same estate in the same county??? Seriously??? We are neighbours, we go to neighbouring school only that one is private and the other one is public and you are admitted to the school of my choice with 380 marks and I am left out with my 420 marks???

I think we are missing the point, in the current setup affirmative action is a must, and its easy to yell that its unfair to private schools - but at the end of the day the schools are different, in private schools they have a limit to the number of kids they admit, actually they are discriminative in that they only admit kids who can afford the fees, that's not the case for public schools.

if you want the government to run public schools like private ones, then we will end up discriminating against a section of the population, and the quotas are fair to try and bring in a balance.
#57 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 11:02:36 AM

@poundfoolish - There is no system. Just pure madness. Two years or so ago, the BEST student in Mombasa missed out on his National School of choice and was admitted to a newly upgraded National School I think somewhere in Taveta I think that he didn't even know existed. The so called quota system should have guaranteed him a place in his first choice National school. His marks should also have guaranteed him a place. How do you get upwards of 420 marks, you are the best in your county and still don't make it to the National School of choice? Kwani quota system ni nini? Ama ni kuota system???
chiaroscuro
#58 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 11:12:09 AM

It has never been proven that national schools offer better education than county ones. That is, do they improve the academic prowess of their pupils? Nobody has ever attempted to measure it. However, there is some indication that pupils who get admitted to national schools do not make as much improvement in performance as those who go to county ones.

In other words, the preference for national schools is based to a large extent on belief, not scientific evidence. Education researchers must wake up and guide the nation!
#59 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 11:12:16 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:

You do have a point and I hope MoE is scanning Wazua to get some ideas....

The net effect of your proposal is that all the choices are given equal priority and then placement is based on popularity of a school.

That is, suppose Adam has 410 marks and Bob 400

Adam chooses Alliance as second choice while Bob chooses it as first choice.
algorithim
What you are saying is that we ignore the fact that Bob had a greater desire to go to Alliance that Adam and only look at their marks.

So we give the slot to Adam even though he didn't want to go to Alliance as much as Bob.

My opinion is that this is not fair to Bob. And secondly, we are giving too much focus on marks and ignoring the rest of the human being - his likes and dislikes etc!

you have put it very well, the parameters that go into the algorithm are limiting the places, to have the scenario that @MaichBlack is advocating for, then we would need to change the parameters, but as you put it the current ranking of the choices is a parameter that has to be considered when doing the placement otherwise it would be a case of defining a variable and then not using it.
The kids selection lists as used currently has led to the current scenario where some think that its unfair, but if we were to start guessing where a kid might prefer to go outside their selection then the algorithm becomes very complex especially given the current input.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 11:20:46 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
It has never been proven that national schools offer better education than county ones. That is, do they improve the academic prowess of their pupils? Nobody has ever attempted to measure it. However, there is some indication that pupils who get admitted to national schools do not make as much improvement in performance as those who go to county ones.

In other words, the preference for national schools is based to a large extent on belief, not scientific evidence. Education researchers must wake up and guide the nation!

national schools, especially the ones causing all the havoc have a sentimental, more of an emotional angle to them - for instance a school like precious blood riruta (not a national school) which in the past has always outperformed the national schools lacks that brand (for lack of a better word) associated with the others.

Serious thought has to go into the secondary school education system in kenya, its worrying that we are making kids compete for secondary education, which I feel should be universal in this day and age.

The reason some schools (national) get more funding and resources from the government is outrageous, we should make the secondary schools to be like primary schools, where its the parent who tafuta the schools for the kid not the government placements.