5 Pages«<2345>
Strathmore or Mangu?
#61 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:01:01 PM

quicksand wrote:
My nephew was ready to report to Strathmore School on Saturday but was pleasantly surprised to receive an admission from Mangu. Everyone caught unawares. Good Wazuans, please advise if he should proceed to Strathmore or change to Mangu.

Aaaah insomnia!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly did you mean nostalgia?

Or where does sleep come in here?

#62 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:01:52 PM

quicksand wrote:
My nephew was ready to report to Strathmore School on Saturday but was pleasantly surprised to receive an admission from Mangu. Everyone caught unawares. Good Wazuans, please advise if he should proceed to Strathmore or change to Mangu.

Aaaah insomnia!!!

Wewe @Lolest!!!! Wacha kustress alumni wa Ofafa Jericho High School!!!
#63 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:06:51 PM

KIKItheKING wrote:
Strathmore or Mangu... I say Kerugoya Boys High School. Though its reputation is now atstake after afew knockoheads set the school on fire sometimes back. BUT in my days that place was like a military camp. It taught me how to be a Man! The wardens of kerugoya prison which its shamba was next to the school used to know us by names even in the dark!

Mungiki nao???

The number of murders in Kirinyaga/Kerugoya are scary. Or they are limited to business rivalry and 'machaba'???
#64 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:15:45 PM

My biased piece: Mang'u is a school of hard knocks located in a semi arid area with a strong focus on pure sciences and maths. Rugby, basketball and hockey do well (or did well, its been a while). The main pull was or is Aviation Tech; a kid who wants to go into arts, law or finance might not find many peers. My year, only 2 did law, about 10 BComm, another 10 BA,...the rest out of 120 did BSc, Engineering, Medicine, Pharmacy, Architecture, Comp Sci and the other assorted annoying technical courses where you get employed by rich entrepreneural BA people who you initially thought were dumb smile Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Some guys will never forgive teachers in that school for making them believe that science courses are everything and tough courses are the best

Some bright guy after missing Med by a point or two would opt for some 'tough' course in Maseno that's close to Med.

Then after campo stress and graduation there were no jobs. For quite sometime he had to work as a mortuary attendant

There was the other case of a bright guy who opted to do Bcom. The teachers couldn't take it and summoned him to try convince him to change his mind and pick Med/Pharm/Eng or other tough science courses. He refused. He knew what he wanted. He went to Strath College, did his CPA in 1.5 years, then started CPS as he joined THE, quit regular classes when he was hired by airtel in his year 2...the last I heard of him he was working in Southern Africa with some big oil company making good money

It's important to study the market instead of just going for what makes you look tough
Fullykenyan
#65 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:31:01 PM

Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:
Strathmore all the way. In the 4 years you get a well rounded man because they emphasize sports, leadership, character formation and of course academics.

How much is the school fees?

Fees???

Not sure but would estimate at 70 - 80k per term.

Hahaha, that is the total sum,you have to pay ,for a 3 year degree in a German University.
#66 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:35:45 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:
Strathmore all the way. In the 4 years you get a well rounded man because they emphasize sports, leadership, character formation and of course academics.

Fees???

Hahaha, that is the total sum,you have to pay ,for a 3 year degree in a German University.

Kama ile ya Baba......... (hides)
#67 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:45:51 PM

quicksand wrote:

Aaaah insomnia!!!

Meant insomnia chief, check the timestamp on my original reply, it was around 2:17 AM, couldnt sleep and was browsing here like a true addict.
Ofafa Jericho Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly thats a nice one.
#68 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:46:31 PM

My biased piece: Mang'u is a school of hard knocks located in a semi arid area with a strong focus on pure sciences and maths. Rugby, basketball and hockey do well (or did well, its been a while). The main pull was or is Aviation Tech; a kid who wants to go into arts, law or finance might not find many peers. My year, only 2 did law, about 10 BComm, another 10 BA,...the rest out of 120 did BSc, Engineering, Medicine, Pharmacy, Architecture, Comp Sci and the other assorted annoying technical courses where you get employed by rich entrepreneural BA people who you initially thought were dumb smile Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Some guys will never forgive teachers in that school for making them believe that science courses are everything and tough courses are the best

Some bright guy after missing Med by a point or two would opt for some 'tough' course in Maseno that's close to Med.

Then after campo stress and graduation there were no jobs. For quite sometime he had to work as a mortuary attendant

There was the other case of a bright guy who opted to do Bcom. The teachers couldn't take it and summoned him to try convince him to change his mind and pick Med/Pharm/Eng or other tough science courses. He refused. He knew what he wanted. He went to Strath College, did his CPA in 1.5 years, then started CPS as he joined THE, quit regular classes when he was hired by airtel in his year 2...the last I heard of him he was working in Southern Africa with some big oil company making good money

It's important to study the market instead of just going for what makes you look tough

unfortunately that's why we are still a developing country! Rapid development of the Asian countries incl India,Singapore,Malaysia ,Philippines has resulted from heavy investment in science and Technology.
Consequently we are not producing enough and no wonder it is now posible to hire a CPA(K) for 45K per month!

Fullykenyan
#69 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 6:47:14 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:

Fees???

Baba went to east Germany. Please note the difference. Germany's education is quality yet almost for free. Where i did my Bachelor, we had two Professors, who were proud holders of nobelpreis. Any Kenyan Uni with such a prof?
KIKItheKING
#70 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 7:09:58 PM

KIKItheKING wrote:
Strathmore or Mangu... I say Kerugoya Boys High School. Though its reputation is now atstake after afew knockoheads set the school on fire sometimes back. BUT in my days that place was like a military camp. It taught me how to be a Man! The wardens of kerugoya prison which its shamba was next to the school used to know us by names even in the dark!

Mungiki nao???

The number of murders in Kirinyaga/Kerugoya are scary. Or they are limited to business rivalry and 'machaba'???

Thats true mungiki huko walikua wengi. That was mainly due to JOBLESSNESS abuse of cheap drugs among the youth down there. Then later followed kidnappings. But learning enviroment of those areas is perfect
FEAR GOD
#71 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 7:16:15 PM

quicksand wrote:

Aaaah insomnia!!!

Meant insomnia chief, check the timestamp on my original reply, it was around 2:17 AM, couldnt sleep and was browsing here like a true addict.
Ofafa Jericho Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly thats a nice one.

Checked, you're right!smile Sorreee
#72 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 11:00:33 PM

The mention of ofafa reminds me of those days they used to twaga us in football during a ka certain tournament huko mfa.
very good school in soccer, at least back then.
#73 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 12:51:08 AM

The mention of ofafa reminds me of those days they used to twaga us in football during a ka certain tournament huko mfa.

Siku za Musa Otieno?

But those guys were good in football - even after Musa Otieno left. They were a permanent fixture in the Nationals!!!

Are they still that good? Do they have any products in Harambee Stars?
#74 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 7:19:08 AM

Fullykenyan wrote:
Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:

Fees???

Baba went to east Germany. Please note the difference. Germany's education is quality yet almost for free. Where i did my Bachelor, we had two Professors, who were proud holders of nobelpreis. Any Kenyan Uni with such a prof?

prof olago, UON geology department, won a nobel, in conjunction with the IPCC.
#75 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:46:04 AM

Siku za Musa Otieno?

But those guys were good in football - even after Musa Otieno left. They were a permanent fixture in the Nationals!!!

Nope,The last time I was following high school football,It was Kamukunji and st.Anthony's kitale
kamundu
#76 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 11:56:04 AM

Mangu Anyday
Well Rounded kids si mambuku tu
Sports Powerhouse (Rugby, Basketball, Hockey)
Best boys School in music fests from Central
Science congress etc..
Peace in our Homeland.
#77 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 1:15:15 PM

Siku za Musa Otieno?

Nope,The last time I was following high school football,It was Kamukunji and st.Anthony's kitale

siku hizi wamelemewa kiasi, especially with mysa also not getting along as strong as they used to be back then, before the middle class flooded their kids huko to get them go to europe. smile

but back then guys used to be admitted to ofafa or kamukunji just for football - jama anatokezea tu jioni saa ya tizi.
tukienda game one kept asking kiyana, how many years have you been in form 1.
but the 2 schools have produced some big names in football, good ambasadors for kenya.
Fullykenyan
#78 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 2:14:05 PM

kyt wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:

Fees???

We are not talking here of "in conjunction with ". We are talking of indivuals winning nobelpreis on their own because they are soo good in the field
#79 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 4:00:31 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
kyt wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:

Fees???

We are not talking here of "in conjunction with ". We are talking of indivuals winning nobelpreis on their own because they are soo good in the field

Most Nobel laureates were not taught by Nobel laureates. And quite a good number of people who were taught Nobel laureates didn't amount to much. It is very sad if your only 'claim to fame' is that you were in a University with TWO professors who were holders of the Nobel Price.

If you were working directly with one of them - maybe he was supervising you as you wrote your thesis for an Advanced Degree then you can talk. Hiyo ingine yote ni kelele!!!
Fullykenyan
#80 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 7:04:53 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
kyt wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
Euge wrote:
Euge wrote:

Fees???

MaichBlack, please dont turn green with envy because black is beauty :). I did not lay claim to anything and am not the type that does that. The point of discussion here was, the quality of education in Germany bearing in mind its relative low cost. By the way,the two proffs were in my department and a former vicepresident of the European Central Bank did supervise my paper. The fact that i was in that Department, has openend doors :)

Most Nobel laureates were not taught by Nobel laureates. And quite a good number of people who were taught Nobel laureates. It is very sad if your only 'claim to fame' is that you were in a University with TWO professors who were holders of the Nobel Price.

If you were working directly with one of them - maybe he was supervising you as you wrote your thesis for an Advanced Degree then you can talk. Hiyo ingine yote ni kelele!!!