5 Pages<12345>
Strathmore or Mangu?
#41 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 12:27:17 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Strarhmore School has that classy swagg associated with cool guyz. When i was in UoN some 2 years ago, the Strath guyz always stood out to be cool. Mang'u is going to the bushes nowadays with a 'poor performance' as compared to their yester years.Being in a day school will also ensure that you are in close touch with your son, so he wont be exposed to gayism, cultism and alcoholism. Strath ni poa

Nimezeeka kweli!

Ha ha ha ha! I know!!

smile , thats why tolerance is needed on wazua, since tuko tofauti in very many aspects.
on the school issue, I don't know much about the 2 schools - never went near a district school myself, lakini huko strath it seems he will be more exposed to the current trends especially biashara wise, if they can fit into that class I demand apelekwo huko.
#42 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 12:28:53 PM

You learn something new every day. Today I have learnt that Thika is semi arid!!!

smile smile me too!

If you went to Mangu High School, you can easily identify with the guy. the 314 acres of land owned by the school 'was' always dry! By the way all coffee farms around that school in ndarugu & weteithie (sp) areas have irrigation springles through out. That was then though!

PO box 314 thika but acreage was approx 214
#43 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 1:08:44 PM

Let the kijana make the choice. Even if he chooses
Mathogothanio Secondary. No school will make him successful
#44 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 1:16:14 PM

Euge wrote:
Strathmore all the way. In the 4 years you get a well rounded man because they emphasize sports, leadership, character formation and of course academics.

Sounds like Mang'u. It was an offence to be in class between 4 and 6pm. That was strict sports time
#45 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 1:24:39 PM

I looked at the 2012 & 2013 exam rankings and was shocked to see that Mangu had dropped to No. 24 and 26 in those years. What happened to the former top school?
#46 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 1:26:40 PM

Let the kijana make the choice. Even if he chooses
Mathogothanio Secondary. No school will make him successful

Matho..what? The name betrays you!
#47 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 2:33:22 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Strarhmore School has that classy swagg associated with cool guyz. When i was in UoN some 2 years ago, the Strath guyz always stood out to be cool. Mang'u is going to the bushes nowadays with a 'poor performance' as compared to their yester years.Being in a day school will also ensure that you are in close touch with your son, so he wont be exposed to gayism, cultism and alcoholism. Strath ni poa

Nimezeeka kweli!

Ha ha ha ha! I know!!

smile , thats why tolerance is needed on wazua, since tuko tofauti in very many aspects.
on the school issue, I don't know much about the 2 schools - never went near a district school myself, lakini huko strath it seems he will be more exposed to the current trends especially biashara wise, if they can fit into that class I demand apelekwo huko.

iYawa, ulienda national schools ama community schools huko mayuu?
#48 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 2:48:10 PM

You learn something new every day. Today I have learnt that Thika is semi arid!!!

smile smile me too!

If you went to Mangu High School, you can easily identify with the guy. the 314 acres of land owned by the school 'was' always dry! By the way all coffee farms around that school in ndarugu & weteithie (sp) areas have irrigation springles through out. That was then though!

PO box 314 thika but acreage was approx 214

Wacha mchezo Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

How can one confuse postal address and acreage?
UpcomingPaperChaser
#49 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:24:40 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Nimezeeka kweli!

Ha ha ha ha! I know!!

I was in Kapsabet Boys High School in Nandi County. Last year they were position 4 nationally, with more than 95% of students securing vacancies in public universities!! Almost everyone scored an A or A-, if u scored a B+ u failed!!

The problem is the primivity of us Kalenjins! Very sharp and intelligent guyz but ushamba mtupu, porr networking, kushema and traditional mannerisms!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#50 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:28:51 PM

I looked at the 2012 & 2013 exam rankings and was shocked to see that Mangu had dropped to No. 24 and 26 in those years. What happened to the former top school?

Heard my former teacher claim that from the FPE batch there were issues as their entry to Seco coincided with affirmative intake for public school candidates. This would only make sense if it applied to all 'old' national schools.

The old boys blame the administration for eroding the culture and values.

I hear these days the boys there have full day preps on Saturday

But at least they're still a sports powerhouse...infact, better
#51 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:32:47 PM

Does anybody have info on Anestar high in Nakuru?
It was 3rd in 2013 KCSE rank of private schools.
streetwise
#52 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:37:29 PM

I like the way guys are discussing ..the school was number A, B, C etc.

Aren’t the guy supposed to work hard must he perform like the others. Is it a case of follow the follower.

limanika
#53 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 3:38:10 PM

If he chooses strath n the parents don't stay west of Uhuru highway, ask them to move those sides even if it means renting 4 the next 4 yrs - I know many who did that - otherwise traffic hassles will get the better of the boy
#54 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 4:15:10 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Nimezeeka kweli!

Ha ha ha ha! I know!!

I was in Kapsabet Boys High School in Nandi County. Last year they were position 4 nationally, with more than 95% of students securing vacancies in public universities!! Almost everyone scored an A or A-, if u scored a B+ u failed!!

The problem is the primivity of us Kalenjins! Very sharp and intelligent guyz but ushamba mtupu, porr networking, kushema and traditional mannerisms!!

Na Kutenda?
#55 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 4:17:23 PM

It all comes to leadership and management. Poor leadership or lack of it will bring the mightiest school to its knees.
KIKItheKING
#56 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 4:53:40 PM

Strathmore or Mangu... I say Kerugoya Boys High School. Though its reputation is now atstake after afew knockoheads set the school on fire sometimes back. BUT in my days that place was like a military camp. It taught me how to be a Man! The wardens of kerugoya prison which its shamba was next to the school used to know us by names even in the dark!
FEAR GOD
#57 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 5:46:45 PM

streetwise wrote:
I like the way guys are discussing ..the school was number A, B, C etc.

Aren’t the guy supposed to work hard must he perform like the others. Is it a case of follow the follower.

Applause Applause Applause Exactly!!

Back when I was in form one some boy opted to leave our school for some 'small' school in Ukambani

He told the teachers who called the parents. The dad almost killed the boy infront of the teachers. We were told he was fuming and shaking. He could not understand why the boy would want to leave a national school for such a school

I don't know how the guy fared. But I think some people thrive where they feel comfortable and recognised. They go to a place where star grades are looked as normal and their confidence goes...

Some rich parents would bribe to have their sons in those top schools so that they can pass like the rest. A good number walianguka mpaka wakainua miguu!
#58 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 5:47:09 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

Nimezeeka kweli!

Ha ha ha ha! I know!!

mimi nilienda independent school smile
#59 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 5:52:58 PM

quicksand wrote:
My nephew was ready to report to Strathmore School on Saturday but was pleasantly surprised to receive an admission from Mangu. Everyone caught unawares. Good Wazuans, please advise if he should proceed to Strathmore or change to Mangu.

Aaaah insomnia!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly did you mean nostalgia?

Or where does sleep come in here?
#60 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 5:58:31 PM

quicksand wrote:
My nephew was ready to report to Strathmore School on Saturday but was pleasantly surprised to receive an admission from Mangu. Everyone caught unawares. Good Wazuans, please advise if he should proceed to Strathmore or change to Mangu.

Aaaah insomnia!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly did you mean nostalgia?

Or where does sleep come in here?

Sleepless nights trying to make a decision........