wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

What to do with 1.5M?
Baraza
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 6:15:48 PM

Hello Wazua. I have 1.5M to invest. I am looking for high returns and willing to take some risk. I can manage to put away another 100k every month. I have access to loan at 5% interest.

Where should I put my money? Biacara, property, shamba??Please advise. d'oh! d'oh!
Bachuma Gate
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 7:54:11 PM

mumias sugar. hope it is not to late.
DOH
Thitifini
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 9:20:02 PM

Would tell you to diversify, but 1.5m might be small for that. Anyway, consider property in growing town (bout 600k) and stocks. Start small investment if not very familiar na stocks (that's what I've been doing). Mumias sugar though. ....this is playing with fire and needs caution.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Thitifini
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 9:21:33 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
mumias sugar. hope it is not to late.

Approach carefully hii...

#5 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:31:38 PM

Baraza wrote:
Hello Wazua. I have 1.5M to invest. I am looking for high returns and willing to take some risk. I can manage to put away another 100k every month. I have access to loan at 5% interest.

Where should I put my money? Biacara, property, shamba??Please advise. d'oh! d'oh!

information is power

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
ayushnehra
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 11:10:47 PM

Baraza wrote:

Hey there,

My suggestion would to diversify..I'm no expert but from wise readings in wazua forums and other sources do not put all your eggs in one basket especially not with the kenyan economy we have.Not too much but not too little.. Maybe buy some bonds with 8%+ return. A nice 6months fixed deposit account. Invest in shares at the NSE. maybe buy some land. Naturally there maybe other ways you can invest which others may tell you better about. I share the little I know.

Random Outlook:
Bonds - 250,000(8%+)
Shares - 250,000 (Varies on your choices and timing)
Savings Account - 500,000 (4-4.5% for 6 months & 8-9% for a year)
Land - 500,00 (naturally growing or even start a small business if you have the right idea..maybe work with partners)
Dreams are not the thing you see in your sleep..it's the thing that doesn't let you sleep. - A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
Thitifini
#7 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 11:35:59 PM

ayushnehra wrote:
Baraza wrote:

Hey there,

My suggestion would to diversify..I'm no expert but from wise readings in wazua forums and other sources do not put all your eggs in one basket especially not with the kenyan economy we have.Not too much but not too little.. Maybe buy some bonds with 8%+ return. A nice 6months fixed deposit account. Invest in shares at the NSE. maybe buy some land. Naturally there maybe other ways you can invest which others may tell you better about. I share the little I know.

Random Outlook:
Bonds - 250,000(8%+)
Land - 500,00 (naturally growing or even start a small business if you have the right idea..maybe work with partners)

'saving Account, at 5-10% per year.' Don't think it's the wisest at the current economic growth.

Thitifini
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 11:38:05 PM

Thitifini wrote:
ayushnehra wrote:
Baraza wrote:

Hey there,

Random Outlook:
Bonds - 250,000(8%+)

'saving Account, at 5-10% per year.' Don't think it's the wisest at the current economic growth.

projected inflation 'might' wipe out any gains.

#9 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 10:09:25 AM

Baraza wrote:

If you have no idea where to take the money, do a wedding.
Ceinz
#10 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 10:24:47 AM

Baraza wrote:

Don't take the loan if unsure where to take the money. Otherwise if you can put aside those to thaos every month, follow the advice of gurus here and build yourself a decent long term stock portfolio.
“small step for man”
Ceinz
#11 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 10:31:33 AM

Thitifini wrote:
ayushnehra wrote:
Baraza wrote:

Hey there,

Random Outlook:
Bonds - 250,000(8%+)

Taking a loan @ 5% p.a + attendant costs AND putting it in a savings account earning (8-9)% p. a vs inflation = Zero sense.
“small step for man”
Thitifini
#12 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 11:41:01 AM

Baraza wrote:

#13 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 12:13:54 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Baraza wrote:

Uhondo
#14 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 2:58:45 PM

Thitifini wrote:
Baraza wrote:

Baraza
#15 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 6:17:11 PM

Baraza wrote:

Im really considering this, funny as it sounds. I have kept the missus waiting for a while now.
Blessed Gem
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 4:06:59 PM

smallfama
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 4:21:02 PM

Baraza wrote:

Im really considering this, funny as it sounds. I have kept the missus waiting for a while now.

So you consider a wedding an investment? How do you measure the rate of return? By the frequency of landing ama children borne? Kindly educate us.
mugz
#18 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 4:24:30 PM

smallfama wrote:
Baraza wrote:

So you consider a wedding an investment? How do you measure the rate of return? By the frequency of landing ama children borne? Kindly educate us.

Boris Boyka
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 6:39:41 PM

smallfama wrote:
Baraza wrote:

ROI = Value of presents received.
NB : Apana ita wanjiku kwa harusi. use 250k kutengeza good "mega" friends in a month or two. call them kwa wedding. utapata nyumba,gari,furniture,electronics....e.tc uza some ulipe loan.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 7:29:48 PM

Baraza, how is it that you have 1.5M and don't know what to do with? How is that even remotely possible? i find it odd, very odd!!