wazua Sun, Aug 24, 2025

Maurice Odumbe on Citizen TV
marex
#1 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 6:25:39 PM

Who saw that feature?...It realy touched me..thats guy has hit rock bottom!
The way I am
suwan
#2 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 6:32:56 PM

what feature...more info please
anasazi
#3 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 6:53:14 PM

Check it here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzWfT9RJ0Yg
Form is temporary, class is permanent
DonBen
#4 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 9:49:30 PM

marex wrote:
Who saw that feature?...It realy touched me..thats guy has hit rock bottom!

Odumbe was found guilty by the ICC and banned for five years! His own wife implicated him in the whole saga. Match fixing, especially in high profile international events is a serious offence. Cricket is a leading sport in the world and in this era of professionalism, people like Odumbe have a duty to show good example to younger players and youth. This is why they are paid crazy salaries.

Rather than cry of spilt milk, Odumbe should work hard and recapture the form that made him a world class player. He can still earn a living in the Kenyan league if indeed he has the psyche to play the game.

If you look at this wiki page on banned cricketers, Odumbe is not the only player banned or suspended by the ICC. For others like Hansie Cronje of South Africa he never recovered from his life ban and it ended quite tragically. Cricket, like Rugby, is a much bigger sport in South Africa than in Kenya.

Match fixing should be made a criminal offence rather than just suspend th guilty players, the culprits should be held criminally liable, after all it is FRAUD and in Odumbe's case, it cost some people a lot of money. I have no sympathy for people who defraud others.

Odumbe's experience should be a lesson to Kenyan professional sportsmen and women (... like McDonald Mariga, Samuel Wanjiru, Denis Oliech, Pamela Jelimo and Conjestina Achieng) who should improve their education, make smart investment choices and ultimately increase they chances in life should an injury, a ban or even loss of form result in the end of career as professional sportsmen as is already happening to some of these mentioned.

Odumbe unfortunately only made a choice of chasing white women......yaani Kenyan girls were not in his class, until the ban brought him down.. right down to earth!!!
JkMwatha
#5 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 10:37:22 PM

DonBen wrote:

....found guilty by the ICC and banned for five years! His own wife implicated him in the whole saga. Match fixing, especially in high profile international events is a serious offence. Cricket is a leading sport in the world and in this era of professionalism, people like Odumbe have a duty to show good example to younger players and youth. This is why they are paid crazy salaries.

Rather than cry of spilt milk, Odumbe should work hard and recapture the form that made him a world class player. He can still earn a living in the Kenyan league if indeed he has the psyche to play the game.

If you look at this [url=http://en.wikipedia....
Match fixing should be made a criminal offence rather than just suspend th guilty players, the culprits should be held criminally liable, after all it is FRAUD and in Odumbe's case, it cost some people a lot of money. I have no sympathy for people who defraud others.

Odumbe's experience should be a lesson to Kenyan professional sportsmen and women (... like McDonald Mariga, Samuel Wanjiru, Denis Oliech, Pamela Jelimo and Conjestina Achieng) who should improve their education, make smart investment choices and ultimately increase they chances in life should an injury, a ban or even loss of form result in the end of career as professional sportsmen as is already happening to some of these mentioned.

Odumbe unfortunately only made a choice of chasing white women......yaani Kenyan girls were not in his class, until the ban brought him down.. right down to earth!!!

@DonBen - you're not mincing your words , eh?
#6 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 11:53:01 PM

@ donben spot on for sure.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 9:46:37 AM

Donben,
You cant be more right, the guy was floating in cash, in five years he has hit rock bottom, surely he can only blame himself!!!!!!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 9:53:45 AM

@Mc u are peeping here.
smile smile smile

cmk
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 12:16:23 PM

ako na hope kweli??
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 29, 2010 12:53:55 PM

Never saw it. Lesson to be learnt 'Do not share everything with your wife!'. This is the fury of his jilted lover or so the rumour went. From memory, the guy was fixed. Proceedings were unproceedural and the Judge was just out to finish him. The Judge must have been sent by the guys who control the betting houses.
#11 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 10:39:25 PM

Met this guy repeatedly at the top and at the bottom. It's beyond words. Like most great men, the lasses in his life sealed his fate.
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 8:55:19 AM

Donben,
You cant be more right, the guy was floating in cash, in five years he has hit rock bottom, surely he can only blame himself!!!!!!

I can see 5 years down the line you have changed your perception!!!
#13 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 9:46:59 AM

Donben,

Drool Drool patikana!
#14 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:30:14 AM

Kumbe this Odumbe guy has been on national TV "shedding tears" since 2010. Five yrs is a long time to tell the same story. No need spending each day reminiscing on his glorious past and high life. Even if they were to let him play again, he is quite old and out of shape. The past is gone and gone forever. He should move on and start rebuilding his life. Let him look elsewhere outside cricket. As @makerege has said hapo yuu he had the opportunities but he squandered all his cash. You make your bed you lie on it.
#15 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:34:22 AM

Donben,

Drool Drool patikana!

The internet never forgets. Seems makerege was very objective kitambo before acquiring ethnic goggles.
#16 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:36:35 AM

Donben,

Drool Drool patikana!

ni mjinga tu habadili nia! time passes people become older and possibly wiser. it's fine to change your mind as time passes bwana. you don't have to be coherent throughout your life just because you have to be coherent! don't fear changing your mind...fear not being able to.
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:53:06 AM

Donben,

Not talking.

#18 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 10:53:14 AM

http://mobile.nation.co..../-/11lrwrk/-/index.html

Sad story of Henry Omondi. Unlike Odumbe his only glory was playing for AFC.
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2015 11:09:32 AM

Donben,

Drool Drool patikana!

ni mjinga tu habadili nia! time passes people become older and possibly wiser. it's fine to change your mind as time passes bwana. you don't have to be coherent throughout your life just because you have to be coherent! don't fear changing your mind...fear not being able to.

Is @washiku listening to this?