wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Orange Unlimited - Internet on Mobile vs Internet 3g+
adventureke
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 3:59:10 AM

I am moving to Nairobi and looking at unlimited mobile internet options. Could someone please help with these questions:

1) What is the difference between
Orange 'Unlimited Internet on mobile' - 990ksh -30days
and
Unlimited Internet everywhere 3g+ - 5990 - 30 days

2) Based on the above can you not just get a mifi router with the unlimited 'internet on mobile' sim to use as internet on a laptop?

3)What is the different between orange everywhere 3g+ and orange everywhere 3g+ high speed?

Cheers
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 4:32:16 AM

Hi @adventureke, The difference is mostly in the FUP.

FUP stands for Fair Usage Policy.

For the internet on mobile (the one of 990/=), the data is "capped" at 2GB per month at normal speed, then its throttled to 16KBps for the remaining days of the month.

For the one modem (i.e. 5,990/=), data use is "capped" at 30GB per month at normal 3G+ speed, then throttled to 16KBps for the remainder of the month.

Thats my 2 cents.

#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 6:14:57 AM

adventureke wrote:
I am moving to Nairobi and looking at unlimited mobile internet options. Could someone please help with these questions:

3)What is the different between orange everywhere 3g+ and orange everywhere 3g+ high speed?

Cheers

The latter is based on HSPA (GSM) technology while the former is based on EVDO (CDMA) technology.

I personally use the 3G+ evdo (the white huawei modem) coupled to a WiFi router, 1200/= unlimited per week.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 8:19:06 AM

I use the 3g internet everywhere @ 2999 kes per month and capped at 20gb, I thought the @990 kes one is for a week not a month.

@rankaz has explained the difference, but selection between the monthly packages will basically depend on the network coverage, they claim the cdma network coverage is more, lakini my place has weak cdma and the gsm is ok to shika 3g, though I have to dangle the modem outside the window.

the speed I experience is sawa, and even after exhausting 20gb before month end the reduction in speed still allows me to perform basic tasks that do not require high bandwidth.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 12:01:48 PM

I use the 3g internet everywhere @ 2999 kes per month and capped at 20gb, I thought the @990 kes one is for a week not a month.

@nakujua, 990/- is monthly unlimited for mobile phones, and is capped at 2GB then 96kbps or 64kbps. Weekly "unlimited" for the modem is 1,200/- BTW.

I thought @adventureke wanted to know whether he/she can use the "unlimited" mobile internet (through tethering, WiFi routers or so) as opposed to the seemingly more expensive 5,999/- or 2,999/- modem packages. Hence my response of FUP and throttled speeds.

geofreygachie
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 12:21:24 PM

@nakujua, 990/- is monthly unlimited for mobile phones, and is capped at 2GB then 96kbps or 64kbps. Weekly "unlimited" for the modem is 1,200/- BTW.

I thought @adventureke wanted to know whether he/she can use the "unlimited" mobile internet (through tethering, WiFi routers or so) as opposed to the seemingly more expensive 5,999/- or 2,999/- modem packages. Hence my response of FUP and throttled speeds.

If you would like to use the Ksh 990 you have to remove the sim card from the modem and buy the package using a phone after which you remove the sim from the phone and into the router /modem.Using the phone you can use #123# to access the internet packages.This has always worked for me .
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 12:35:48 PM

sasawa, did not know of that, nitajaribu hiyo next time nione how the throttled speed zake ziko, if they serve me well then I will migrate to that.

but the 3g modem packages are as follows; as from my ka account purchase page;

3G Internet Everywhere monthly unlimited Ksh 2990
3G Internet Everywhere weekly unlimited Ksh 990.

#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 12:37:31 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

If you would like to use the Ksh 990 you have to remove the sim card from the modem and buy the package using a phone after which you remove the sim from the phone and into the router /modem.Using the phone you can use #123# to access the internet packages.This has always worked for me .

so tethering from an android phone should work, I always purchase the bundles via the web interface
geofreygachie
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 1:39:03 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

so tethering from an android phone should work, I always purchase the bundles via the web interface

Please clarify the web interface you are talking about.Is it
- myaccount.orange.co.ke
- Orange android app

My setup in the house is based on this router which works flawlessly.I managed to get an external 3g aerial which makes the signal superb.

Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
adventureke
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 3:28:11 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

I was referring to the Internet on Mobile which is 990 per month. Link - http://www.orange.co.ke/...p;id=187&Itemid=304

Your responses are very helpful thanks guys.
I will probably get a wifi 3g mobile (mifi), initially get a sim for 990 per month with mobile internet. If it works fine on my mifi device and not too slow after 2gb - job done. else, I can upgrade to the expensive option (which I can't afford :p)
Kihara joni
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2014 3:49:18 PM

The 5,999/- unlimited by orange is truly unlimited no FUP, good if you have good reception but for that I would rather get fiber if mobility is not an issue
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 5:59:44 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

- myaccount.orange.co.ke
- Orange android app

My setup in the house is based on this router which works flawlessly.I managed to get an external 3g aerial which makes the signal superb.

this one seemed to have escaped me, @geofreygachie which router is that and where did you get the external 3g aerial - the orange signals both (gsm and cdma) at my place are pathetic, and I would do with the eternal 3g antennae
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 7:55:06 PM

Meanwhile, Orange Internet down 5 hours now today and counting... Customer care lines down, loading, call services
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 8:43:36 PM

Hi @adventureke, The difference is mostly in the FUP.

FUP stands for Fair Usage Policy.

For the internet on mobile (the one of 990/=), the data is "capped" at 2GB per month at normal speed, then its throttled to 16KBps for the remaining days of the month.

For the one modem (i.e. 5,990/=), data use is "capped" at 30GB per month at normal 3G+ speed, then throttled to 16KBps for the remainder of the month.

Thats my 2 cents.

30GB si ni kidogo sana? that's like one week usage! !!
geofreygachie
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 9:00:20 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

- myaccount.orange.co.ke
- Orange android app

this one seemed to have escaped me, @geofreygachie which router is that and where did you get the external 3g aerial - the orange signals both (gsm and cdma) at my place are pathetic, and I would do with the eternal 3g antennae

HUAWEI B970b 3G Wireless Router is what i use at home.I didnt get the aerial locally but there is a guy selling the routers and aerials though they are clones from China i had his contacts i will check and post them if you need to buy a set.
ngapat
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 15, 2015 8:29:38 AM

Iam looking for a reliable service provider for a cyber cafe internet. Area is not covered by faiba network. Anybody with a recommendation
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
kayhara
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2016 8:24:46 PM

Recently moved to an area with no fiber and no sight of having one soon
I was shopping for a solution and came up with two

Orange Dual play-

set up is 9,000 for the router and 3k for a phone
which is optional, you get 50GB + 8 hours talktime
FUP of 256kbps applies after the 50GB, the cost per
is 4,000/-, I use about 15-30Gb per month so this looks
tempting plus I don't have to pay if I am out of the
country, speed is good about 10-18mbps.

Liquid kenya HI-Max-

set-up is 15k, 5mbps at 2,499/- if i buy wi-max
at 30k or add 1,500/- equipment rental to bring
the cost per month to 3,999/-
so wakubwa which option is better
To Each His Own
D32
#18 Posted : Friday, September 09, 2016 3:44:02 PM

kayhara wrote:

Orange Dual play-

Liquid kenya HI-Max-

Depends on how long you plan to stay at the new place. If its permanent or long-term, then Liquid def, that's because after the installation costs, monthly fee is cheaper and it's un-metered, you you can stream media without worry.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Museveni
#19 Posted : Monday, October 31, 2016 10:43:33 AM

D32 wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Orange Dual play-
set up is 9,000 for the router and 3k for a phone which is optional, you get 50GB + 8 hours talktime FUP of 256kbps applies after the 50GB, the cost per is 4,000/-, I use about 15-30Gb per month so this looks tempting plus I don't have to pay if I am out of the country, speed is good about 10-18mbps.

Liquid kenya HI-Max-
set-up is 15k, 5mbps at 2,499/- if i buy wi-max at 30k or add 1,500/- equipment rental to bring the cost per month to 3,999/-

Depends on how long you plan to stay at the new place. If its permanent or long-term, then Liquid def, that's because after the installation costs, monthly fee is cheaper and it's un-metered, you you can stream media without worry.

The Hai Max also seems very tempting for a home set up.

Any one who has been a client? Opinion on speed, uptime and any related issues very welcome.

Actually @kayhara, the options are 30K (or 1500 per month lease) for equipment, 15K installation fees and monthly fee of 2499.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 8:03:18 AM

kayhara wrote:

Orange Dual play-

Liquid kenya HI-Max-

location? i am sure there's a cheap wireless isp who can reach you.