wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

Pre Paid Power Cost
banyamulenge
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 8:35:26 AM

Did you know that....it is cheaper to buy small units of power than a single large amount.Sample this;

Kshs.1,000 =68Kwh
Kshs.4,000 =217Kwh
68*4=277
Difference=272-217=A whole 55Kwh more.This is about 5 days worth of power for an average house hold. Wats ur experience.
banyamulenge attached the following image(s):
j0438981rv2.jpg (16kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 11:14:00 AM

Were both lots bought on the same day? If not, unit prices vary due to fuel surcharges and forex rates.
Wamutonyi
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 9:47:53 AM

It is not cheaper. The calculation is not as simple as 68x4 and 1000x4. Please note the following facts.For Domestic Consumers (DC), the cost per Kwh varies as follows(Both Prepaid and Postpaid):

I. For 0 - 50 Units bought is KSh 2.00 per Unit;
II. For 51-1,500 Units bought is KSh 8.10 per Unit;
III. Above 1,500 Units bought is KSh 18.57 per Unit .

Even if you purchase power in small units within the same month, the units are cumulative since the systems keeps a record of all previous purchases within the month thus above charges will apply. Any power consumpttion above 200 units is also subjected to VAT @ 12% compared to units lesser that 200 where only the fixed charge is subject to 12% VAT.
Raven
#4 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 9:42:47 AM

very true i learned the hard way. better buy small
@wamutonyi, since you are prepay, ideally they cannot prospect how many units you can use in a month so if you buy in bulk they imagine that you are no longer a domestic user. in this era of technology random pricing based on imaginations of some whoever..really take my experience;
3000/ bought me 157 units
whereas 1000/ usualy gave me approx 95 units
The customer care people had the audacity to tell me that over 200 units you are charged VAT!!!! (nevermind they gave me 157)Bure kabisa.
a thief by any other name is just that a thief
#5 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 11:24:33 AM

Wamutonyi's calculation looks right. If KPLC is not doing it that way, then they are wrong!

The reason why they use the graduated scale is to ensure that small domestic consumers are subsidised by the larger ones. It is NOT intended to punish large consumers!

Whether KPLC and ERC have the authority to force some people to subsidise others is a moral question greater than the tariffs. Nonetheless, if there was no scale, everyone would be paying around sh12 per unit [before adjustments and taxes].
#6 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 11:26:08 AM

Raven wrote:
very true i learned the hard way. better buy small
@wamutonyi, since you are prepay, ideally they cannot prospect how many units you can use in a month so if you buy in bulk they imagine that you are no longer a domestic user. in this era of technology random pricing based on imaginations of some whoever..really take my experience;
3000/ bought me 157 units
whereas 1000/ usualy gave me approx 95 units
The customer care people had the audacity to tell me that over 200 units you are charged VAT!!!! (nevermind they gave me 157)Bure kabisa.
a thief by any other name is just that a thief

@Raven; Who is the thief? KPLC or Min. of Finance?
#7 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 11:53:22 AM

Weee... mukiha is right...

The Min of Finance (Not Yet Uhuru) & ERC forces KPLC to charge VAT on ALL units if u exceed 200 units. STUPID... lakini mta do?

They should charge 12% on consumption ABOVE 200 units lakini those idiots charge VAT on the 200 units if u consume 201 units!!!

Jamaa uses 200 units = No VAT
Jamaa uses 201 units = 12% VAT on 201 units.

Kumbafus!!! Wizi!!!

I will buy uhuru a calculator... from my own pocket lakini mta do?
#8 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 12:09:44 PM

Remember every month they charge a standing charge for the month meaning that if you buy units twice within the month then one purchase will look more expensive than the other, but to save some money....buy small!!!!
@Wamutonyi
"Even if you purchase power in small units within the same month, the units are cumulative since the systems keeps a record of all previous purchases within the month thus above charges will apply. Any power consumpttion above 200 units is also subjected to VAT @ 12% compared to units lesser that 200 where only the fixed charge is subject to 12% VAT."
.....this is not the case, you would know if you are already on prepaid!!!!!

#9 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 12:14:19 PM

According to the advert, the units are cumulative every month.

ERC needs to set up new (friendlier) easier rules for KPLC & consumers.

The standing charge should be paid 'separately' from the units.
Mo
#10 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2010 1:15:59 PM

The billing system is graduated, the higher your purchase the higher the cost/unit meant to subsidise low end consumers. I guess the only way to beat the system is to buy low units and keep total consumption per month to below 200 units....
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2010 10:34:05 AM

The marginal cost for the 1 unit above the first 200 is usurious coz of VAT
muzalendo
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2010 12:41:52 PM

I suggest we go the solar way. We use kplc power only as a back-up and save for an invertor to use all other 240v gadgets.We shall end up using less in overall cost. Mwaona je?
veteran
#13 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2010 9:24:08 AM

.. i think if your consumption per month is more than 200 units, just get another meter and subdivide you consumption between the two, you will reduce the cost by a bigger margin..,
moneydust
#14 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 5:05:53 PM

If u consume a given shillings worth of electricity in a month.It makes little difference if ur breakdown the purchases in whatever smaller amounts....
The total no of units u get is more all less the same..

The thing in single purchases is not to over estimate ur consumption in a month...It becomes disadvantageous in the more u consume in a month the more u pay..ie rate per kwh increases

however I wonder if one cant buy a little more in a month to hedge against the rising fuel cost at the beginnin of every month...

#15 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 12:05:37 PM

It is a fact the lower the denomination the higher you gain!!!!
SAMPLE THIS:
When you load 5sok you get 43 units
and for 1k you get 73units on your metre!!!
.....there is no rocket science here eti sijui cummulative, the lower the better!!!!