wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Fiction novel by Wazauns
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 10:19:41 AM

Lets write a novel folks. All your creativity, story-telling prowess, command of the queen's language, real-life experiences....everything! - throw it into this novel that just might get published...

All u have to do is pick the story from the previous contributor and continue it in such a way that the story flows. If other writers are not happy with the direction your input is causing the story to follow, they will object and request you to delete the offending part. There are no limits to creativity! Who knows whether tyhis could end up a bestseller...

Here goes.

Peris sat at the rear corner of the bus next to the window, bored, reflecting on the unfortunate course of joblessness that her life seemed to have embarked on. She was not happy. Far from it. She badly needed to get a job. It must have been…what, 2 years now? since she had started earnestly searching for a job. But even the regrets had long stopped coming now, despite the hundreds of job applications she had been writing.

Suddenly, her cellphone rang, as an unfamiliar number flashed on her screen.

‘Yes?’ she answered, curious who it was calling on such a hot afternoon, despite the open window of the bus where she sat.

‘ Good afternoon. Is that Peris? ’

‘ Yes, it is. Who’s calling please?’ She asked.

‘ My name is Agnes and we have received your application letter for a job with us. We have perused it and are willing to offer you a job but you have to come see us first. I am calling from...’

It was at that very moment that a street boy who had been keenly following the bus snatched her phone and quickly vanished into the teeming crowds in the street.
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 11:03:42 AM

Peris for a split second sat frozen. 'Am I dreaming? Could this be happening to me?'. What jolted here to reality was a dark figure, about 6'2'' leaping from the bus. And ran after the street boy the figure ran - yes HE ran.

Peris quickly glanced around her, but everyone seemed oblivious. She quickly stared down the aisle looking for an exit route. 'Come on girl, think, think - get your groove on' she muttered to herself.

And only 6 secs later, she was standing on the pavement, looking at the mini-bus as it idled in the traffic. She thanked her stars God blessed her with an athletic build, and even more that she chose her pair of dark skinny pants from her wadrobe in the morning.

But what next? Where to turn to? It was a weekday about lunch time, and the crowds seemed to be moving about at a sedate pace. She lunged headlong into the teeming crowds in the direction she had seen both figures vanish.
anasazi
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 11:14:37 AM

* Suggestion to muganda - the "get your groove on", does it work in such a high pressure, high tension situation? Anyway, on to the story

As she ran along, she cursed her luck. "Why me? Am I cursed?" was what went on and on in her mind. "When I get hold of that stupid kid, haki leo atanitambua". That thought increased the adrenaline with her, and gave her the courage to start screaming "mwizi! mwizi! shika mwizi!". This kid had picked the wrong customer. She would not let it go without a fight.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 1:39:16 PM

Ever since he was a child, Jack Black was prone to action. His mum still muses how he would never keep still and his starting school teachers always disciplined him for playfulness. Jack Black standing a full 6'2'' considered himself an athlete: he was always first in the 100m dash, and last to leave the swimming pool when all his pals were exhausted by the laps.

Due to his impatience Jack always stood at the door of buses - any excuse to hop off, chase the bus, and hop on again. "The air is always fresher at the door, and it's less crowded" he often told his friends.

And so at 1.40pm on the hot Thursday, Jack found himself on a bus heading to town. As a student in the local university, the schedule always allowed for the off-day when no class was scheduled. Spare time was always better spent in town.

Human beings do not always give due credit to animal instinct. Jack notices the mini-bus slowing down as it approaches traffic and he spurts: 'Usiseme hizi mataa hazifanyi leo pia?'. 'Wacha maspeed, traffic kama kawaida' replies the bus driver, 'Magari nyuma si mingi hivyo'.

As Jack turns to confirm the drivers claim, he sees a streetboy lurch at the back window and emerge with a mobile phone. No questions asked; without even a single thought, he just jumps from the step and tears after the young chap. The street is teeming with crowds and the distance separating them is not more than 100m.

Only then does a thought pass through Jack's mind, and the single thought is "How many seconds does the poor boy have before I'm on his back?!!"
Mtu Biz
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 3:33:12 PM

Peris could not help noticing.... this tall guy.... don't i know this guy?
Is that you Jack ? Peris managed out of breath...

I cant help but ask WAZAUNS ndo kina nani hivi ?
Sola Scriptura

tony stark
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 04, 2010 7:12:01 PM

As peris turned the corner the crowd had thinned and there was no one around. She suddenly heard voices and a shrill cry coming from the side street. She quickly rushed to the side street there stood the 2 figures she had been chasing down. The towering figure of jack stood hovering over the street boy who was begging and pleading from the ground. "shika simu pole sana, sitawai iba tena"
Jack had a smirk on his face, his breathing deep but regular looking down on the boy.
Peris could not peel her eyes away from him looking at his muscular build, sinewy muscles and his skin glistening from the small beads of sweat. All she could think of was the fateful day she met Jack Black. This guy can chips funga me again and again was the thought running through her mind.
Her mind snapped back to the situation at hand, her eyes turned red with rage her breathing hastened and she lounged at the young boy
#7 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:27:21 AM

(Tony stark, you are giving Peris a boyfriend too soon, ebu I extend from the matatu scene kidogo, with your permission to veto your “chips funga” version)

Jack bolted into the streets; crowds gave way as he dashed in and out of the pavement unto the road and back, between cars and jumping over curbs and hawkers wares. He took a backward glance at Peris and did not know what looked finer, her breasts or her hips; he instantly coined a name for her, “Miss boohips” for boobs and hips, giggled at his creativity as he run. Peris now run a good thirty meters behind him yelling “thief”.

Out of Peris’ sight but within earshot of her screams at the Nyamakima road junction, Jack turned left, as the pursuing group and yells soared, a fist landed on Jacks jaw, then a kick from a short bulky fellow who jumped from a flight of stairs at a shops entry, flooring him, and soon a crowd was upon him with clicks and blows. His pleas went unheeded, his life flashed past him, and he resigned himself to his fate with the thought “what goes around comes around”, “all those women I had played, are going to have their day”, the short bulky man was now pouring petrol on Jack.

Peris meanwhile had lost sight of the group and was headed towards river road. She changed tact walked to a payphone, made a call to her phone, it rang twice then gave a busy tone, She called again, and there was a response; “harro”, she thought to herself “it had to be a harro” and immediately went into negotiation mode, “please send a balance message to M-PESA from my phone I will call you back in a while”

A week later, Carol Mwegi gasped at the sight of Jack, she was his Personnel Director, and one of the sins that run through his mind as the petrol was poured on him. “what happened to your face”, she asked, “it is not only my face" Jack replied, “I have come for the interviews, I will be going back home immediately after, please have the lights in the board room dimmed and the table as stretched as possible the candidates will sit at the furthest end this time with you and the rest, I will sit alone”, as he left he caught the sight of some nice hips and boobs seated in the waiting room, “Its boohips” he thought to himself, she looked up and around but didn’t seem to recognize him. “You are going to pay”, he muttered below his breath “All this for a bloody Motorola C130”, “This will be easy, you are powerless before me, I will feast on you boohips and dump you without an explanation, kama ni kazi unataka, hautapata”. Seated next to Peris was Jim Ochieng, his eyes were fixed on Carol Mwegi”, he now wanted the job even more; “she is too hot a woman, real ‘cooperate style’ posh lady”, he thought “this is the company to be in”. “Carol” Jack called out, she strutted towards him and Jim almost stood up to clap “there will be no interview with me today, have them attach their photos to their C.V, give them the usual interview with your team, send the photos to my home, I mean photos plus docs, am off”
A New Kenya
Jangwa la Jangili
#8 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 9:34:08 AM

picking up from TONY STARK's rendition....

Just as she is about to grab the boy, Peris is frozen in her tracks when someone behind her excitedly screams "JACK!!!" which is quickly followed by the sound of high-heels approaching.

As Peris slowly turns, the strong perfume now wafting in her direction subconsciously uncovers bitter memories. She can barely control herself as she recalls the very same fragrance all over Jack's clothes a few months ago. Back then he explained it away as an air freshener he had tried out at Nakumatt.

Everything seemed to make sense now.

In a flash, she forgets about her stolen phone as she comes face to face with the obvious owner of that strange number on Jack's phone only saved as SUMTHUNG wa AID.

As SUMTHUNG reaches out to hug Jack, Peris is now trembling with rage.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
gathinga
#9 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 10:42:21 AM

LIMAO
oops
#10 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 11:38:26 AM

i love this novel. keep it going.
#11 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 11:44:30 AM

picking up where TONY STARKS and Jangwa la Jangili left off...

As an onlooker, it was easy to pick out the age-old quagmire manifesting itself. A good looking man in the middle of two women. Some say that even when man lived in caves, same situation presented the same problems.

Even more daunting were the profiles of the two women. You know the softer, nicer Peris - more sensitive, more attentive, more loving. Contrasted by the bolder "get-what-I-want-now" SUMTHUNG. If there's something Sumthung thought, she would speak it. 'Why bother keeping it in anyway?' And even in the caveman's days, a 'Sumthung' would be out getting her herbs and firewood at wee hours, never one to pay too much attention to rules. Men did not choose her, she chose her catch.

And so Sumthung was out on her lunch break, from her new management trainee gig. She was sporting a short curly bob-cut with a tinge of blonde; lilac blouse and a knee length pencil skirt. Her heels could not have been less than 6 inches high and yes; when she passed many twitched their nose on the scent of her fragrance. Jack hugged but held on a second, actually 5 secs too long.

But you would need to be a beggar, begging on the pavement, to notice the now forgotten street boy. Nobody knows his name, and he is used to being unseen. It takes a ghost to see another ghost. There's nothing so humiliating as not being visible in life. Put aside not having parents, fear of poverty, hunger and isolation, not having a name - nothing beats not being there.

The street boy would be noticed today with kicks and blows as is the custom. But life would go on. Or would he? The attention to him waned and he quickly put down the mobile phone and crawled away - unseen.

Nick was definitely not a beggar but he observed the going-ons unnoticed. He's only link to the equation was he was Sumthung's supervisor in her new job. He'd noticed her immediately she joined 2 weeks ago and he couldn't help leaving for lunch a few steps behind her every other day. Maybe a desparate act to pluck up his courage. Jack Black's tan, athletic body and height intimidated him.

Ric dees
#12 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 12:33:27 PM

Kagui sauntered across the road, holding his breath, not believing what had happened, for today the god's had surely smiled upon him.

Across the road from where he hid behind simu ya jamii stall, he watched Jack and could not help and admire the shiny watch he spotted on his wrist.In the mayhem and confusion he saw an opportunity and decided to go for it, he circled the group and smiled upon himself and thought to himself, maybe just maybe today was his day..

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
the sage
#13 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 1:23:46 PM

The shriveled girth, wrinkly silhouette and the dilapidated one-eyed midget of a serpent that represented Kagui, brought misery to the party. The foul smell, worse than a cat’s carcass, betrayed worse off sufferers from the City’s lack of water. To complete the misfortune the ingenious scallywag said with his serpent in hand, “Give me the watch or I spray the two ladies.”
#14 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 1:32:31 PM

(I am liking this) From where I left off, (if i have any readers)

Jack was a health fanatic, handsome and certainly wealthy. A bachelor at 36, the only woman he loved was his mom, and he often told himself that he stayed strong for his mother’s sake; she was a dedicated housewife and mother. Having been abandoned by their father for a working woman, John had come to despise working women and had a payback mission for every woman who wanted to work under or around him. Consequently they moved with his mother from Lavington, to Huruma, a house his mother had refused to leave now that Jack could move her back to lavington, and the only reason he would still ride in a bus, as driving his cars deep into the ghetto always carried a risk of attack. His mom had her friends in huruma, her vegetables stall and food kiosk.

Sitting in his lounge that evening, he dialed his mom’s number to say goodnight but there was a knock on his door and he terminated the call, “its late” he thought, and heard Carol shout out his name from the door as she let herself in. She was dressed seductively “the docs and photos” she said, “oh! I almost forgot” was Jacks cool response “you should have sent one of the drivers”. “Where is John” she queried though she already knew the answer, Jack knew she knew, but she had no idea that Jack new her plans inside out, he had her phone tapped, hacked her emails, heard her followed and knew she was here to pray on him with an offer to cook, “I gave him a few days off, his first born is going to high school”, John loved Carols cooking, and she had carried some Ethiopian injeera to eat with her stews, “Ngai fafa, nimeshikwa” he thought to himself, she had even carried a big spliff and a bottle of 1969 sauvignon for after diner.

Meanwhile Peris was back to her one room shack, the two thousand her sister had M-Pesad to prep herself for the interview was used to strike a deal with the same thief, and now it was back to survival, in Huruma. She felt the interview was a disaster, she was totally intimidated panicky and lost, and so she lit a small spliff and lay back on her bed to console herself. She checked the balance on her phone and it was 1bob so she dialed for Okoa Jahazi airtime incase she needed to make an emergency call that evening, and also sent a please call me message to Jim, the experienced candidate at the interview who seemed to know everything about jobs, he had bought her pizza for a whopping seven hundred bob so casually, he had then offered to take her out, but she declined. Then she thought to herself “I am hot, men want me, but this thing of being saved and spending the whole day praying for jobs in a tent is not working, maybe I should give up on some of these principles”, she drifted to sleep as some gospel tune played on her small radio
A New Kenya
Wakanyugi
#15 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 5:31:06 PM

And then she woke up to find that its was all a dream.

'Whew, thank God,' she sighed with relief.

Then her eyes landed on the little alarm clock by her bedside table, a present from her once high school sweetheart, Jack - the mind works in strange ways.

"My God, is that the time!"

Two hours to her interview.

"I will never be able be able to make it," she exclaimed as she bounded out of bed and sprinted for the bathroom.

It was going to be another one of those days.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)