wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Sunset Boulevard Athi River Apartments/ SheShe Gardens
Orionuer
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 9:58:01 AM

I have been staying at Sunset Boulevard for about 1 month now and it hasn't been a rosy experience. Don't get me wrong, the place is beautiful and houses have 'nearly' good finishes. They claim the taps are made out of stainless steel, mine started rusting just after about 2 weeks that I'd been there. My toilets were also leaking from the minute water was connected to the house and this still hasn't been fixed as well. The walls already have cracks and when moving in I pointed it out and was told it is not a big issue. Now to the big one, I am a commuter and the experience is just terrible. The road leading to the estate from Mombasa Road is horrible, they've tried to do a few things to make it better but for a commuter it is still horrible. When it rains the place floods up, which is simply not something I'd wish for anyone to expereince. It isn't any better at this time when its dry, the place is dusty and as vehicles zoom past they leave clouds of dust woe unto us commuters who have to walk on the same route. And the stage where matatus are taken you have to wait roughly 15 minutes to even 30 minutes to get transport. Long story short, I've decided it just makes sense to move and was looking at either SheShe Gardens or Olonyori. As someone who won't be getting a vehicle till probably end of the year, which of the two options is commuter 'friendlier' or if you do know any options around Syokimau or Mlolongo I would appreciate.
View the world as I do at http://bdettesphotography.blogspot.com/
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 10:07:17 AM

Can wazua spirit advise us on the number of new farers since the last usernames were blown. This is now alarming.
popat
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 10:13:52 AM

Is it your house or are you renting?
Orionuer
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 11:00:29 AM

popat wrote:
Is it your house or are you renting?

I am renting. Was actually considering buying, since I am in the market for that. However, based on my experience wouldn't want to buy there. But anywhere else that's much better particualry in Syokimau/ Mlolongo I am open to buying.
Orionuer
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 12:08:31 PM

Can wazua spirit advise us on the number of new farers since the last usernames were blown. This is now alarming.

Hi Alma, is there anything I should know? New here in case I am breaking any posting rules would be nice to know.
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 2:02:27 PM

Orionuer wrote:

Hi Alma, is there anything I should know? New here in case I am breaking any posting rules would be nice to know.

Relax, you have not done anything ......its all light hearted 'hazing'
Forester
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 2:09:01 PM

Orionuer wrote:
I have been staying at SunsetBoulevard for about 1 month now and it hasn't been a rosy experience. Don't get me wrong, the place is beautiful and houses have good finishes as well. However, they claim the taps are made out of stainless steel, mine started rusting just after about 2 weeks that I'd been there. My toilets were also leaking from the minute water was connected to the house and this still hasn't been fixed as well. The walls already have cracks and when moving in I pointed it out and was told it is not a big issue. Now to the big one, I am a commuter and the experience is just terrible. The road leading to the estate from Mombasa Road is horrible, they've tried to do a few things to make it better but for a commuter it is still horrible. When it rains the place floods up, which is simply not something I'd wish for anyone to expereince. It isn't any better at this time when its dry, the place is dusty and as vehicles zoom past they leave clouds of dust woe unto us commuters who have to walk on the same route. And the stage where matatus are taken you have to wait roughly 15 minutes to even 30 minutes to get transport. Long story short, I've decided it just makes sense to move and was looking at either SheShe Gardens or Olonyori. As someone who won't be getting a vehicle till probably end of the year, which of the two options is commuter 'friendlier' or if you do know any options around Syokimau or Mlolongo I would appreciate.

@Orionuer, how did you fit your fridge in that kitchen? Let's not even talk about those tiny bedrooms, hapa if you put your 6*6 bed unalala na miguu inje ya bedroom quite literally.What a rip off!
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Orionuer
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 4:02:18 PM

@Orionuer, how did you fit your fridge in that kitchen? Let's not even talk about those tiny bedrooms, hapa if you put your 6*6 bed unalala na miguu inje ya bedroom quite literally.What a rip off![/quote]

Forester, the postive side of mine is that it is actually one of the bigger units. Trust me I have seen other units and was appalled at how small the bedrooms are, and saw a 3 bedroom in particualr with the tiniest bedroom I think only a crib would fit in there. Mine, master bedroom I have a kingsize and it fits perfectly with ample space for other bedroom furniture. Though the 2nd bedroom is tiny. I can relate also on the kitchen. And all those 'quirks' hidden inside a beautiful exterior are the reasons why I've decided to up and move. Do you currently stay in Sunset?
Forester
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 4:50:54 PM

Orionuer wrote:
@Orionuer, how did you fit your fridge in that kitchen? Let's not even talk about those tiny bedrooms, hapa if you put your 6*6 bed unalala na miguu inje ya bedroom quite literally.What a rip off!

Forester, the postive side of mine is that it is actually one of the bigger units. Trust me I have seen other units and was appalled at how small the bedrooms are, and saw a 3 bedroom in particualr with the tiniest bedroom I think only a crib would fit in there. Mine, master bedroom I have a kingsize and it fits perfectly with ample space for other bedroom furniture. Though the 2nd bedroom is tiny. I can relate also on the kitchen. And all those 'quirks' hidden inside a beautiful exterior are the reasons why I've decided to up and move. Do you currently stay in Sunset?

No, was scouting to buy but still weighing my options between buying or building. Kenyans are being duped to buy a lifestyle (read those BIG names from majuu) in keeping up with the Jones' kumbe on the ground watu wanaumia kweli kweli. There's a thread someone was complaining about Olonyori blocked toilet drainage (mtu alirusha diaper kwa system) they had to use latrine za mjengo guys Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly while paying mortgage at 17%. Ouch!!!
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Orionuer
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 5:06:38 PM

No, was scouting to buy but still weighing my options between buying or building. Kenyans are being duped to buy a lifestyle (read those BIG names from majuu) in keeping up with the Jones' kumbe on the ground watu wanaumia kweli kweli. There's a thread someone was complaining about Olonyori blocked toilet drainage (mtu alirusha diaper kwa system) they had to use latrine za mjengo guys Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly while paying mortgage at 17%. Ouch!!![/quote]

Mind quickly changing, am a first time hopeful home buyer. I am thinking of going the building route, my parents did it anyway so can do the same. Woi, Olonyori - 'flying diapers' - moving on swiftly to another option. Thing is no 2 ways about it, I have to move from Sunset by end of Feb when I get back to the Nairobi commuter hustle. What of SheShe Gardens, heard any reviews about it?
Chaka
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 5:16:42 PM

@Orionuer,
Pole..maybe where you are staying was the show house to mislead buyers?I suppose they must have used those cheap Chinese elec fittings?I find that area around the railway station disorganized.
e,g houses behind industries,also
driving to estates on the RHS from town is tricky..
Forester
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 5:30:46 PM

@Orionuer,

Cannot comment on Sheshe since i haven't been there but IMHO where they've built looks like people might be submerged once there's a HEAVY downpour esp guys on ground floor. Try Prissy Apartments at Syokimau near the railway station next junction after Hotel 67, i found them quite spacious with great finishing but i can NEVER part with 45k as rent.

You commute from Sunset to CBD daily? Do you even have a life?

*Justasking.

#13 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 5:37:44 PM

Orionuer wrote:

No, was scouting to buy but still weighing my options between buying or building. Kenyans are being duped to buy a lifestyle (read those BIG names from majuu) in keeping up with the Jones' kumbe on the ground watu wanaumia kweli kweli. There's a thread someone was complaining about Olonyori blocked toilet drainage (mtu alirusha diaper kwa system) they had to use latrine za mjengo guys Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly while paying mortgage at 17%. Ouch!!!

malformed_markup wrote:

Mind quickly changing, am a first time hopeful home buyer. I am thinking of going the building route, my parents did it anyway so can do the same. Woi, Olonyori - 'flying diapers' - moving on swiftly to another option. Thing is no 2 ways about it, I have to move from Sunset by end of Feb when I get back to the Nairobi commuter hustle. What of SheShe Gardens, heard any reviews about it?

There is a long thread on buying versus building, mortgages and stuff. I invite you to read:
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=28798
Orionuer
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 5:57:57 PM

Forester wrote:
@Orionuer,

Cannot comment on Sheshe since i haven't been there but IMHO where they've built looks like people might be submerged once there's a HEAVY downpour esp guys on ground floor. Try Prissy Apartments at Syokimau near the railway station next junction after Hotel 67, i found them quite spacious with great finishing but i can NEVER part with 45k as rent.

*Justasking.

Actually, I work along Ngong Road Sad . I go till Nyayo and connect via Mbagathi way, but it is quite the hustle I tell you. I was recently transfered to Nairobi and thought it's time I bought a house, but in the mean time I urgently needed a place to stay and stumbled upon Sunset. Grabbed lifts a couple of times and situation is much better, I get to the office in about 30 to 40 minutes, that is with minimal traffic. Unfortunately, I gave up on having a life a long time ago, lol.
Forester
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 5:59:15 PM

quicksand wrote:
Orionuer wrote:

[quote=malformed_markup]

[quote]There is a long thread on buying versus building, mortgages and stuff. I invite you to read:
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=28798[/quote]

@quicksand, easier said than done but great thread! So many things to look at when buying/building a home difficult to make the ultimate decision.

@Orionuer,

AM TIRED OF PAYING RENT is one of the best threads on Wazua

Forester
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 6:16:29 PM

Orionuer wrote:

Forester wrote:
@Orionuer,

*Justasking.

Actually, I work along Ngong Road Sad . I go till Nyayo and connect via Mbagathi way, but it is quite the hustle I tell you. I was recently transfered to Nairobi and thought it's time I bought a house, but in the mean time I urgently needed a place to stay and stumbled upon Sunset. Grabbed lifts a couple of times and situation is much better, I get to the office in about 30 to 40 minutes, that is with minimal traffic. Unfortunately, I gave up on having a life a long time ago, lol.

@Orionuer,

If you work along Ngong Rd, makes perfect sense to move to a house on Ngong Rd. Will save you time commuting to work meaning you'll be better organized, have more family time, probably engage in a hobby maybe one that can earn you extra cash that you will invest (stocks, land etc) and have some good returns, that will help you put a depo for your house and probably buy it cash and one glorious day, wake up and sack your employer and live happily ever after etc etc. Basically, get some work/life balance or you'll grow old VERY fast!
Orionuer
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 7:43:32 PM

Chaka wrote:
@Orionuer,
Pole..maybe where you are staying was the show house to mislead buyers?I suppose they must have used those cheap Chinese elec fittings?I find that area around the railway station disorganized.
e,g houses behind industries,also
driving to estates on the RHS from town is tricky..

True quite misleading. But I also guess priority for me right now should also be to get a car. Commuting is just not working out for me.
Orionuer
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 8:55:51 PM

Forester wrote:
Orionuer wrote:

Forester wrote:
@Orionuer,

*Justasking.

@Orionuer,

If you work along Ngong Rd, makes perfect sense to move to a house on Ngong Rd. Will save you time commuting to work meaning you'll be better organized, have more family time, probably engage in a hobby maybe one that can earn you extra cash that you will invest (stocks, land etc) and have some good returns, that will help you put a depo for your house and probably buy it cash and one glorious day, wake up and sack your employer and live happily ever after etc etc. Basically, get some work/life balance or you'll grow old VERY fast!

Great advice, but I'm actually that sort of person who likes to live in a serene environment, out of the city so to speak. That's why I am adamant on sticking with the Syokimau/Mlolongo area. Trust me I do enough extra work, with the target of owning a home and now quite soon a car smile
Pesa Nane
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 10:46:12 PM

@Orionuer, your troubles are over. Welcome to GreatWall Apartments Phase 3- 3Bedrooms, Master ensuite, spacious, free hotwater, plenty of open space (green and cabro)... All these for 30k a month. If interested post your email or send to wazua@googlegroups.com

Operation get your life back!!
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
propertyvaluer
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 11:27:39 PM

Its quite shocking for me that you paying a rent of almost 30k, yet you are still using Footsubishi or Route 11!!! Or is it me that my priorities are not upright?