KCPE 2014 Results Out Today!
#41 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:14:46 AM

Euge wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:
[quote=westkate]my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .

Your mistake if you enrolled her for class one at the age of 5. Why the hurry? My take:

1. Throw her back to class 6.
2. Dress making
3. Try a small business and if all these fail
4. Marry her off.[/quote]

This is sound advice. 99% sound, 1% advice.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly As in pang'ang'a?

Ndiyo hiyo.
#42 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:16:56 AM

Madam/Sir Westkate.
What was your expectation of your daughter.You knew she was below average and so it was incumbent on you to make plan A,B and C.

Life is more than good grades.We have many successful people who had low grades but were good in other things.

For now based on her age,I recommend you look for a private school and enroll her there.This will help her grow and learn afew other things eg Social skills,some extra english and swahili,create a network of friends she can relate with in future and broaden her angle of vision.

In the meantime observe what she likes and encourage her to excel in it.

After 4th form since you dont expect her to go to Uni...explore fashion and design(read tailoring),cookery,embroidery,housekeeping,trade(buy cheap at point A and sell at a commission at point B).

Do not give up.You must be strong for your child.
Forester
#43 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:33:30 AM

@ Westkate, take her back to class 7 then try those Peak Performance programmes and in 2016,come back and report here. They've been advertising so much lately,maybe they actually work.
Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:59:56 AM

#45 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 12:12:02 PM

Forester wrote:
@ Westkate, take her back to class 7 then try those Peak Performance programmes and in 2016,come back and report here. They've been advertising so much lately,maybe they actually work.

Am not against but not sure it will help.

She might improve from 160 to 200.No value add there.

Secondly and I stand to be corrected,the new education guidelines dictate that once you seat an exam,your original scores are what will count forever not those you get after rewinding.In short they are discouraging repeating.

I agree Peak performance may help her in life skills.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 1:09:35 PM

westkate wrote:
my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .

westkate wrote:
@MUTAFITI ARE You sure about your option. option 4 unless you propose her what kind of a wife can an under age be. option 3 bussiness are you kinding,
i need serious advice and this is not a joke .everyone parent out there might be in the same situation

Weeee westkate, wacha kutuenjoy,
though I understand there are kids out there suffering from academic malnutrition.
There's hope.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 1:16:31 PM

so KNUT is also vexed by this decision ? What's their interest?

they just thrive in chaos,
#48 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 1:25:47 PM

@Westkate, no need for repeating classes - as @Bigchick has advised above, get a private secondary school wacha she matures in school.

my advice, get a comp or tablet - create an account for her on wazua, and let her go through the investor section and test her on that. Then get her a portfolio (hope thats what its called huko) and let her be trading - ananunua anauza then keep her updated if she is making money or not.

It will be like a ka game but by the time she clears fourth form you might be surprised by her interest in the money market, and as they say the rest will be history.
#49 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 2:04:42 PM

Whether schools are ranked or not, when u read about the top students, you will obviously know the good schools.

http://mobile.nation.co....ml/-/tytprx/-/index.html
#50 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 2:11:15 PM

Madam/Sir Westkate.
What was your expectation of your daughter.You knew she was below average and so it was incumbent on you to make plan A,B and C.

Life is more than good grades.We have many successful people who had low grades but were good in other things.

For now based on her age,I recommend you look for a private school and enroll her there.This will help her grow and learn afew other things eg Social skills,some extra english and swahili,create a network of friends she can relate with in future and broaden her angle of vision.

After 4th form since you dont expect her to go to Uni...explore fashion and design(read tailoring),cookery,embroidery,housekeeping,trade(buy cheap at point A and sell at a commission at point B).

This is the best adviceApplause Applause Applause
#51 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 2:39:05 PM

sasa sikia how our leaders reason

Parliamentary Committee on Education vice chair Julius Meli said his group was not consulted.

This will definitely interfere with the quality of education and kill the spirit of competition,” he said.
- See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...on#sthash.VlQr2bwz.dpuf

yaani to this guys education (and pretty much everything else) is all about competition.

but at least some sober heads still exist,

Kuppet’s secretary general Akello Misori welcomed the ban.

“Let all schools be at same level in terms of teacher-student ratio and other resources. Without these, then ranking is a game of the rich,” he said.
- See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...on#sthash.VlQr2bwz.dpuf
#52 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 2:54:55 PM

westkate wrote:
my child got 160 marks she have repeated twice in class 7 and now thats the result. am in a dilema what to do with this teen girl of 13years of age. it seems masomo imekataa kuigia . guys advice .

Najaribu kutumia log tables, bodmas na Carey Francis.
If one goes to std 1 at 6 they will be doing std 8 at 14. Assuming they repeat std 7 twice, add 2 to 14.
By my Carey Francis maths, this ndito is 16 today - ama she started std 1 at 3? d'oh! d'oh!
For lack of a reasonable explanation as to why she is 13, can I assume baba yake ni dunderhead kama yeye?
#53 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 3:43:29 PM

#54 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 3:47:28 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
westkate wrote:

Najaribu kutumia log tables, bodmas na Carey Francis.
If one goes to std 1 at 6 they will be doing std 8 at 14. Assuming they repeat std 7 twice, add 2 to 14.
By my Carey Francis maths, this ndito is 16 today - ama she started std 1 at 3? d'oh! d'oh!
For lack of a reasonable explanation as to why she is 13, can I assume baba yake ni dunderhead kama yeye?

.....yeah right!!!
#55 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 4:25:20 PM

wewe @washiku we are moving away from ranking na wewe you have joined aki na sossion na gitahi and the other private schools in trying to force it back.
don't pressure the small ones, let them proceed to high school, college and then wakuje wajenge nchi.

all those kids are bright.
#56 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 4:26:39 PM

wewe @washiku we are moving away from ranking na wewe you have joined aki na sossion na gitahi and the other private schools in trying to force it back.
don't pressure the small ones, let them proceed to high school, college and then wakuje wajenge nchi.

all those kids are bright.

Hehehe...sawa mkubwa. I stand corrected.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 4:46:13 PM

Madam/Sir Westkate.

This is the best adviceApplause Applause Applause

@BigMama, this is the best advice, I'll definitely use with some of those I know who needs this.
#58 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 5:30:06 PM

PEOPLE GO TO SCHOOL TO BE EDUCATED, NOT TO COMPETE!!!!

#59 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 8:21:41 PM

westkate wrote:

@MUTAFITI ARE You sure about your option. option 4 unless you propose her what kind of a wife can an under age be. option 3 bussiness are you kinding,
i need serious advice and this is not a joke .Everyone parent out there might be in the same situation

Weeee westkate, wacha kutuenjoy,
though I understand there are kids out there suffering from academic malnutrition. There's hope.

smile smile smile
westkate
#60 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 10:22:29 PM

guys how do i thank bigchick for the worderful advice. you are the best i and after 4 years God willing i will post the development of my child here.