#741 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 6:47:04 PM

TheGeek wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
littledove wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
TheGeek wrote:
Watching COOP bank if it will print 17.55

Mchawi wewe NKT!!!

I held this share for around two years and it was all stress, it was dancing between 14 and 16 , I sold and vowed never to touch it again in near future, its sad its retreating to those levels again!

Am begining to be emotional on this one! NKT! i just returned in this shit. wacha nione this week. nktesticles..

@boris I hope you calmed down and waited for this seesaw.

I doubt 21 will be breached.

@The geek yap i calmed down and am hoping to exit at my entry point as you said before hii edited yako..
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Elephant Man
#742 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 6:49:13 PM

@mlennyma - my financial adviser tells me that many of these trades are 'across the books' at heavily discounted broker commissions.

The buyer and seller in each trade is the same person, so that CGT when it arises will be calculated on these trades, hence there has been insignificant change in price despite the heavy volumes in turnover.
#743 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:20:36 PM

Quick question, Do you think that CGT will slow down selling hence making the price of some entities to go up?
#744 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:31:37 PM

Quick question, Do you think that CGT will slow down selling hence making the price of some entities to go up?

Prices are determined by demand and supply. If CGT kills supply, prices go up. If it kills demand, prices collapse.
#745 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:33:20 PM

Prices are determined by demand and supply. If CGT kills supply, prices go up. If it kills demand, prices collapse.

We might have the latter, IMO.
#746 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:39:50 PM

hii 5% si pesa mingi.. tutawalipa hawa watu wa serikali, wakule, wanone..

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 544,100 ABP 7.15; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#747 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:47:30 PM

I tend to think people will hold. Liquidity will be costly
#748 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 8:13:57 AM

Let me hope that the CGT will not result to claims and claims of refunds resulting from poor calculations of a broke gvt taxing pples operating capital instead of gains.
The optimist
#749 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:11:05 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Let me hope that the CGT will not result to claims and claims of refunds resulting from poor calculations of a broke gvt taxing pples operating capital instead of gains.

Friday is the d-day. Let's see how they'll do it.
Metasploit
#750 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:37:20 AM

hisah wrote:
December jumbo turnover madness...!!

Scom, kcb, eabl, centum, eqty, scan, pan africa, kenya re etc...

The next market move will be spectacular whether upside or downside. Get ready for serious madness if those two words can be in the same statement!!?

Amazing you've not taken a break this year. smile

Too much going on from a global scale e.g. oil producers fat discounts/volatility, US equities awesome meltup, record IPOs everywhere, fx volatility coz of USD and NSE having the busiest Dec on record etc!?

Not conducive for a proper holiday mood Sad

@metaspoilt - check out nmg. I think the shift is suggesting long scangroup.

Thanks!I will be watching both for an explicit trend change.

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
Metasploit
#751 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:39:01 AM

I tend to think people will hold. Liquidity will be costly

I like your thinking Murchr,That is a possibility

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
theking
#752 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 10:19:21 AM

i totally disagree with the theory that people are selling stocks pre-CGT and buy them back post-CGT. doesn't make economic sense.

say u bought 10,000 shares of stock X at 50/=, current price is 100/=. if you sell that stock pre-CGT, cost incurred (brokerage fee) is say 2% of the revenue which is 10,000*100*0.02=10,000/=. If you decide to buy back the same shares post=CGT, you'll incur another 2% cost of brokerage of 10,000/=. total cost 20,000/=.

the other scenario is holding onto the shares and selling them post-CGT. costs incurred in this case will be the 10,000/= brokerage fee,plus 5% CGT. profit will be (10,000*100/=)minus(10,000*50/=)=50,000/= less brokerage fee of 10,000/=,net profit of 40,000/=.CGT will be 0.05*40,000=2,000/=. total cost incurred 12,000/= compared to 20,000/= above. also please note that i have not deducted the brokerage fee for buying the shares which should further reduce the taxable profit
#my2cents
mkonomtupu
#753 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:00:25 AM

theking wrote:
i totally disagree with the theory that people are selling stocks pre-CGT and buy them back post-CGT. doesn't make economic sense.

say u bought 10,000 shares of stock X at 50/=, current price is 100/=. if you sell that stock pre-CGT, cost incurred (brokerage fee) is say 2% of the revenue which is 10,000*100*0.02=10,000/=. If you decide to buy back the same shares post=CGT, you'll incur another 2% cost of brokerage of 10,000/=. total cost 20,000/=.

the other scenario is holding onto the shares and selling them post-CGT. costs incurred in this case will be the 10,000/= brokerage fee,plus 5% CGT. profit will be (10,000*100/=)minus(10,000*50/=)=50,000/= less brokerage fee of 10,000/=,net profit of 40,000/=.CGT will be 0.05*40,000=2,000/=. total cost incurred 12,000/= compared to 20,000/= above. also please note that i have not deducted the brokerage fee for buying the shares which should further reduce the taxable profit
#my2cents

The theory is that if you bought your shares in the 1990's when they were dirt cheap CGT uses the year of purchase as the base year to calculate the 5% capital gains. It is much easier to sell and buy back to make 2014 your base year for CGT
theking
#754 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:25:08 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
theking wrote:

#my2cents

The theory is that if you bought your shares in the 1990's when they were dirt cheap CGT uses the year of purchase as the base year to calculate the 5% capital gains. It is much easier to sell and buy back to make 2014 your base year for CGT

it'll still be more expensive to sell and buy back even if the shares were free. do the math
#755 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:40:43 AM

theking wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
theking wrote:

#my2cents

it'll still be more expensive to sell and buy back even if the shares were free. do the math

Sell to another company that you own. The second company will still be able to deduct brokerage paid. Bear in mind that CGT applies for longterm purchases.
#756 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11:51:46 AM

theking wrote:

#my2cents

Think simple. If you sell pre CGT, CGT=0. If you sell post CGT, CGT= 25,000. Brokerage paid is a recoverable cost while CGT isn't.
streetwise
#757 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 12:03:03 PM

I totally agree with you.

When one sells to avoid CGT the implication is that they can tell what will happen to the share in 2015 i.e. become cheaper. In which case you sell any way and buy in 2015.

CGT is just an excuse and simplicity in analysis in the selling behaviour.

One needs to compare what happens each end of year and then a trend may appear
theking
#758 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 12:24:01 PM

theking wrote:

#my2cents

Think simple. If you sell pre CGT, CGT=0. If you sell post CGT, CGT= 25,000. Brokerage paid is a recoverable cost while CGT isn't.

my point is not selling, my point is selling to buy back, doesn't make economic sense even if BP is 0
The optimist
#759 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 1:50:19 PM

theking wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
theking wrote:

#my2cents

I think MkonoMtupu's theory makes sense. If I bought shares back in the 90s at those rock bottom prices, I'd simply sell and buy back pre-CGT.
#760 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 2:39:36 PM

The optimist wrote:
theking wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
theking wrote:

#my2cents

I think MkonoMtupu's theory makes sense. If I bought shares back in the 90s at those rock bottom prices, I'd simply sell and buy back pre-CGT.

Is the CGT being back dated? I doubt! How do you tax gains that were made before the tax was operational. That would not make sense and would be grounds for numerous court cases. But this is Kenya. anything is possible and people in certain offices are bloody lazy!!!

Have they decided on the base year in any case? Last I heard, brokers were saying they didn't have records on when shares were bought and at how much!