wazua Tue, Jan 7, 2025

EQTY Joins the race
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:07:14 AM

70k supply versus 550k demand...touched 17 bob but eased off to 16.80

I joined this members' bus at an average of 15.50 [inc comms] and I'm not in a hurry to jump off! Should wait for year-end numbers
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:23:10 AM

My average price (including a purchase made at ksh 200 then) is now 17.89. I'm not complaining. Got some NIC at 29 and no one seems to notice the stealth turbo of this one.
Wa_ithaka
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:35:52 AM

My new "high" target for Equity in 2010 is Ksh23.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:47:48 AM

When does Equity announce their results?

Normally they are #1 but last time KCB beat them to the punch. BTW, KCB is also up today to 23/-
Wa_ithaka
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:51:38 AM

Equity results will be out late Feb
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 8:13:34 AM

@Wa

For Equity, late Feb seems quite late... Before the Uganda acquisition they used to release results in less than 6 weeks (unless I am mistaken)...

Last year they delayed (not late just later than normal) but I wrote that up to the consolidation 'problems' with the takeover of the Uganda locations/business.

I expect most banks will be flat (except StanChart) meaning no more than 10% of 2008 numbers. Considering how 2009 was for banks... even a flat result will be commendable...
Gatheuzi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 2:02:33 PM

My average purchase price was 16.45. I will make a determination of exit price once they announce the QTR 1 results of 2010 in say May. That will help in anlysing if the new branches have started contributing to the bottom line. By then I guess the drought will be over and hopefully more economic activities will raise demand for credit.In the meantime I want to increase my positions.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Wa_ithaka
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:13:58 AM

Equity will recover but last yr proved JM was human after all. One, the IB-venture was a vanity project since there are very few pure IB deals in Kenya and Equity could happily earn cash of the custody business. As the decision not to write-off more loans in 2008 when it had the artificial high from Safcom's IPO.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 11:04:31 AM

Well... before we get to 1Q 2010, we need 4Q 2009 numbers.

BTW, Equity at 17.50 already.
Wa_ithaka
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 11:59:11 AM

VVS- the Q4 numbers were average to bad but they are history and the important thing for you as an investor should be its future prospects.
Ama?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 12:10:04 PM

@Wa -

That is true... but I am interested in the Balance Sheet much more than the P&L for Equity Bank... It shows the level of loans & provisions...

#12 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 8:34:45 AM

EB shares worth 177m traded as at now...That sounds huge!
cnn
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 9:57:17 AM

@simonkabz,foreigners buying in droves,i am hoping it stays stable but some 15% up would do lots of good!
#14 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 9:42:05 AM

Down 50cents but 43% buyers are foreigners...
#15 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 10:31:30 AM

Supply (1.02m) is about 10 time the demand (105k)
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2010 12:13:25 PM

Safaricom seems to have found its 'bottom' for now... 5.50
Now we await the results which will probably be in May.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2010 2:16:28 PM

Too many sellers cf. buyers. Indeed 5.50 seems to be the bottom for now
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2010 4:50:44 PM

@mukiha - The sudden rise was pegged on the Morgan Stanley 'buy' recommendation & price target of 6.40

Watch MJ being interviewed by Aly-Khan Satchu.

The next huge gains are in data considering 3G remains Safaricom domain for now. Add M-Pesa & you are talking of decent gains in profits.
#19 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2010 2:49:53 PM

What was that?

Did see a deal struck on EQUITY at sh9.80 this morning? See the expert board on www.richlive.co.ke

www.live.mestocks.co.ke shows lowest price was sh15.80.
#20 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2010 8:25:15 AM

It must be an error... No news on Equity so the 10% rule applies...

Kwani @mukiha leaves nothing to chance! Uses both mystocks & rich!!!