Atalaku wrote:Wendz wrote:This is a true lunatic train.... Has anyone been adventurous enough to try it?
Well, I reit isently did. It took us around 27 hrs from the time we boarded in Nairobi to the time we alighted at Mombasa station....
How now...I used to ride on it many years back from sultan hamud to mombasa....from 9 pm and arriving msa at 6 am. Kwani ulienda na ya mizigo... those are many hours! Can you put some description to the hours!
...But dear @wendz dont worry...reri nigwakwa!.. was in kibwezi yesterday and all the way to kiu...it is a beehive of activity. These chinese can be serious jameni...
boarded at 7pm
Dinner at 9 pm (still in Nairobi)
Slept at 10.30pm (at the train station still)
train left at 11pm.
when day broke and i took my book to read, it was 7am the following day and the train was stationary.
0900hrs, headed for breakfast. The captain sad, we had ABOUT 10hrs to go but we wouldnt be moving in the next two hours! And only then that i realised we were at Makindu.
From there, it was stops at each and every available station for the cargo trains to pass.... they were kind enough to serve us some coffees and lunches... the kids would alight and even play football as we waited at some stations...