Culture
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
KulaRaha wrote:Last night was a nightmare...hours to get to Westlands.
Got up this morning, and found Chiromo Rd full jammed...
When will this end? i think the starting point would be to move all govt functions to another city. i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/24/2011 Posts: 407 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
Instead of spending all those billions trying to congest an already congested CBD,why not create another CBD somewhere else? Because,frankly,you expand Ngong rd,juja rd etc..then bring more people into the CBD -which you cant expand because it has reached its limits.Afew days later traffic starts building up already and we are back to square 1...What kind of planners do we have??nktiest!! Hope is not a strategy
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
ZZE123 wrote:nakujua wrote:It'd be easier if private cars were banned from the cbd. I have never understood why people living around the city have to move into the cbd with their private vehicles - I mean, eastlands, places like nairobi west, langata, westlands ... those are areas that are well served by matatus for the better part of day and night. This will never work unless public transport is taken over by the government. I rarely see traffic jams in Nairobi on sundays, its the private cars that cause the jams, as of matatus - most areas around nairobi are well served, its just that watu wa pesa hawataki ku mix with the poor. imagine, if there were no private cars in the cbd and the matatus were allowed to ferry people around, moving from one end to the other would be easier for the hundred of thousands who throng the cbd searching for their daily ugali and ma-sukuma .
nakujua wrote:ZZE123 wrote:nakujua wrote:It'd be easier if private cars were banned from the cbd. I have never understood why people living around the city have to move into the cbd with their private vehicles - I mean, eastlands, places like nairobi west, langata, westlands ... those are areas that are well served by matatus for the better part of day and night. This will never work unless public transport is taken over by the government. I rarely see traffic jams in Nairobi on sundays, its the private cars that cause the jams, as of matatus - most areas around nairobi are well served, its just that watu wa pesa hawataki ku mix with the poor. imagine, if there were no private cars in the cbd and the matatus were allowed to ferry people around, moving from one end to the other would be easier for the hundred of thousands who throng the cbd searching for their daily ugali and ma-sukuma . True,Apart from outering road which is worseon saturdays and sundays which I believe is due to the fact that the married men from the westside usually jam eastlands on saturdays to visit and pick their mipango wa kandos and return on sundays to drop them If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
harrydre wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Last night was a nightmare...hours to get to Westlands.
Got up this morning, and found Chiromo Rd full jammed...
When will this end? i think the starting point would be to move all govt functions to another city. Kiserian,Kitengela,Ngong,Thika..na huko kwingine. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Mwendia wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6DO2ydBzCkk hehehe, at around 3:53 - "they might start stoning you"; "it's so biblical";
funny video @ 5.35.. "everyone is yelling at me calling me mzung', what does it mean"? "White Man" "ha ha ha, white man?" if it was a black man, in white man land, angelia racism. @21... to make the mAtthree come to a stop, you must first accelerate a bit. The mzungu was lost i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
24 hour economy can decongest the city, half the people work 8pm to 4am there will be no peak hours and no congestion. This can start in gov't offices. Life is short. Live passionately.
Mwendia wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6DO2ydBzCkk nice one Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
FancyFace wrote:Mwendia wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6DO2ydBzCkk nice one Look for others in the series ujionee. Some are shocking, to say the least. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
harrydre wrote:funny video @ 5.35.. "everyone is yelling at me calling me mzung', what does it mean"? "White Man" "ha ha ha, white man?" if it was a black man, in white man land, angelia racism. @21... to make the mAtthree come to a stop, you must first accelerate a bit. The mzungu was lost He he he... that was funny. You want to stop but you must accelerate a bit to stop. Lol
Naskia watu wamelala mombasa road If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Reports of folks being stuck for last 11 to 16 hours. Surely... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:Reports of folks being stuck for last 11 to 16 hours. Surely... Wapi huko?
washiku wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Reports of folks being stuck for last 11 to 16 hours. Surely... Wapi huko? Somewhere on Mombasa Road it seems. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Swenani wrote:Naskia watu wamelala mombasa road Which part of MSA road? Lord, thank you!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
Euge wrote:Swenani wrote:Naskia watu wamelala mombasa road Which part of MSA road? From cabanas all the way to lukenya hill...two trucks collided pangalapangala...lucky enough I had passed that area with my sack of cassava flour from shags!!!
Euge wrote:Swenani wrote:Naskia watu wamelala mombasa road Which part of MSA road? Hapo daystar,a lorry/trailer overturned and blocked the road.I hear the effects were felt hadi huko yukos If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
The hotels around Yukos must have made good money overnight.
Culture
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!