wazua Mon, Aug 25, 2025

Xmas @ coast
#41 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 11:45:52 AM

Muriel wrote:
callaspade wrote:
The ultimate goal of a terrorist is to instill fear,to stop you from leaving your normal life,to make sure you merely exist.
...after 9/11, did people stop flying?
...after,gikomba ,did people stop trading?
...After boston marathon ,did people stop running?
...After westgate ,did people shun malls?
...people still ride matatus

Going hiding is the cheapest thing you can do as a man

The cycle is more vicious if people don't head coast.
Job looses for traders,dancers,waiters,suppliers,fundis,etc etc meaning more despair,more radicalization,more brain washing
Tilapia comes from lake Victoria to coast,potatoes ,carrots from nyandarua to coast,pork from Limuru,means farmers / transporters ,traders also loose out.

Lack of foreign currency from incoming tourists spells disaster to importers...think before you act...

I have a different perspective on the profile of a terrorist.

He does not think that highly of you to want to instill fear in you. You are incidental to his ideal, you are a supporting prop. Whether you are there or not will not change the direction of his course. He is driven by a desire to satisfy something within him, like we all do.

He believes it, knows it, lives it, acts it and does it. That is his ultimate goal.

Hence the best way to cope with such a person in the society is to ensure your paths do not cross. If they do, he will 'gain', you will 'loose'.

Economy & commerce cannot & must not override personal and occupational health safety - if it does, you are not thinking.

What you are saying in essence is that we should stop living?

#42 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 11:54:14 AM

callaspade wrote:
The ultimate goal of a terrorist is to instill fear,to stop you from leaving your normal life,to make sure you merely exist.

Job looses for traders,dancers,waiters,suppliers,fundis,etc etc meaning more despair,more radicalization,more brain washing
Tilapia comes from lake Victoria to coast,potatoes ,carrots from nyandarua to coast,pork from Limuru,means farmers / transporters ,traders also loose out.

Lack of foreign currency from incoming tourists spells disaster to importers...think before you act...

Yeah right just as you also know that taking care of yourself is partly your responsibility!!!!

...so u no longer fly?u no longer enter malls? Answer my questions wachana na euphoria(not the cologne)
...cowards actually die a painful death ....and I always remind u guys,it's better to die standing,than ....?

Hahaha, eti cowards die a painful death, si wewe uende kufanya kazi Mandera saa hii tuone how you will die a blissful death?
#43 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 11:58:10 AM

I avoid malls like the plague after Westgate.

I'd go to the Coast, but South Coast, and stick to my hotel, where security is usually high. Those al kebabs dont holiday much, its hard to get a suntan in a bui bui.

And when flying or crossing the ferry, I'd pray hard and try to time myself to low rush hours, when kebabs can't do so much damage.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:03:20 PM

I'm going. South Coast largely safe.

Likoni Mbaya. Be ready to queue for ferry 3 hrs in scorching sun. If going south coast Go direct UKUNDA..
#45 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:06:35 PM

sipiti mlolongo,limuru and meru.

smile smile
#46 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:12:30 PM

Am wrote:

Likoni Mbaya. Be ready to queue for ferry 3 hrs in scorching sun. If going south coast Go direct UKUNDA..

price diff in tickets is huge: 9k to Moi Intl opposed to 22k to Ukunda.

Just catch the early morn red eye, cross ferry easily, return at 8pm for 11pm last flight.
Muriel
#47 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:21:32 PM

Kratos wrote:
Muriel wrote:
callaspade wrote:

He does not think that highly of you to want to instill fear in you. You are incidental to his ideal, you are a supporting prop. Whether you are there or not will not change the direction of his course. He is driven by a desire to satisfy something within him, like we all do.

He believes it, knows it, lives it, acts it and does it. That is his ultimate goal.

Hence the best way to cope with such a person in the society is to ensure your paths do not cross. If they do, he will 'gain', you will 'loose'.

Economy & commerce cannot & must not override personal and occupational health safety - if it does, you are not thinking.

Absolutely.

If by living you mean the YOLO type of living.
#48 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:27:45 PM

Muriel wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Muriel wrote:
callaspade wrote:

Absolutely.

If by living you mean the YOLO type of living.

Am sure you will agree with me that you can hide from "those" places and still get blasted at your work place which would render your argument ineffective.

#49 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:27:47 PM

Am wrote:

Just catch the early morn red eye, cross ferry easily, return at 8pm for 11pm last flight.

@Am was it your first time there? Likoni ferry is just a question of correctly timing your arrival or exit.
Atalaku
#50 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:28:14 PM

Am wrote:

Is there a detour road so that you dont drive through msa...like go through kwale county from Taru or Samburu or those other small towns?
#51 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:32:07 PM

I avoid malls like the plague after Westgate.

I'd go to the Coast, but South Coast, and stick to my hotel, where security is usually high. Those al kebabs dont holiday much, its hard to get a suntan in a bui bui.

And when flying or crossing the ferry, I'd pray hard and try to time myself to low rush hours, when kebabs can't do so much damage.

True, the ferry crossing remains the weakest link. That and walking around with a person of EU or American looking descent.
#52 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:35:56 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Am wrote:

Is there a detour road so that you dont drive through msa...like go through kwale county from Taru or Samburu or those other small towns?

If you're driving from Nairobi, turn right at Samburu town and follow mpaka Kwale. I haven't used it, but a pal has done it twice now no problems.
callaspade
#53 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:39:57 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Am wrote:

If you're driving from Nairobi, turn right at Samburu town and follow mpaka Kwale. I haven't used it, but a pal has done it twice now no problems.

... Fantastic road through national park,
#54 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 12:42:30 PM

Am wrote:

@Am was it your first time there? Likoni ferry is just a question of correctly timing your arrival or exit.

No, been there before. I agree Could be timing I didn't observe.
Muriel
#55 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 1:10:43 PM

Kratos wrote:

Am sure you will agree with me that you can hide from "those" places and still get blasted at your work place which would render your argument ineffective.

Hhhhmmmm.
Atalaku
#56 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 1:17:29 PM

Muriel wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Hhhhmmmm.

...@Kratos...if you pass by a beehive ypu are likdly to be stung by one or two bees. If you keep off a beehive you are safe from stings!!!
#57 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 1:20:55 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Hhhhmmmm.

...@Kratos...if you pass by a beehive ypu are likdly to be stung by one or two bees. If you keep off a beehive you are safe from stings!!!

The thing is we don't know where the beehive is...

#58 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 1:24:14 PM

Funniest thing is, despite most Coast hotels showing really low occupancy, prices for the holidays are sky high!

Talk about being short-sighted.
Atalaku
#59 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 2:16:28 PM

Funniest thing is, despite most Coast hotels showing really low occupancy, prices for the holidays are sky high!

Makes me wonder! If a bed is not occupied today kwisha... that is a loss. I thought they would adjust the prices so that they make a little profit and entice people to flock down there; the insecurity notwithstanding. Let them wait for mzungu... ( wating for Godot by Samuel Becket exolains the situation better)
#60 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 2:21:32 PM

No. Review your network of tour firms. This December has some of the lowest rates in years for the peak season!!