Investor
Stocks
Drama at Equity Bank
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/10/2010 Posts: 73 Location: kenya
@vitus - PIN cert kwa ordinary Savings Account I dont understand why. But what is the history of your account before it went dormant? Could you have been operating it like a current account; were you banking on a daily basis?
If that is the case,it could have been noticed when it went dormant otherwise with time they would have noticed it when the account was still active and the bank would have adviced you.
If that is not the case, I want to believe that when you say it was a rainy day savings account, even if you were saving daily, your withdrawals were rare or very minimal. If you were depositing substantial amounts (ata kama ni 50K), your were NOT withdrawing the same within the week.
Banks siku hizi, especially foreign banks ziko na many policies kama Anti Money Laundering. PIN Cert is just a formal way of showing your Biz is legit.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,118 Location: Nairobi
@chali - My main broker was CFCFS. Very active 2-3 years ago (2007 boom years) then trading slowed down on NSE & the merger happened. I moved my main 'business' to I&M Bank thus this became my Account wa kando Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Much as EB has condemned and praised in equal measure, I would like to applaud it for demystifying banking and at least opening up the the industry to all and sundry. My experience with them was a pleasant one esp when I took a loan and had some difficulty in paying back.At least they had the courtesy of asking me how I plan to repay since I had given some security as lien.The kind of experience that ave heard from my friends of threats was nasty.I like the approach used since then I was able to repay the loan without intimidation. Now with such kind of an experience I believe that with time they can only be better.Am intending to really invest on this counter. Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
I agree with @Mukiha,All a bank needs to know from you is your ID. It is the duty of government to link the dots.Customers should not be made to pay/ inconvinienced for that.And by the way what is the Bank's business if your business is legit or not? All they need to confirm is that they money you bring is legal tender. The CID/KRA should verify the legitimacy of your money. Not the banks or the customer. The rest is just rubbish because the government is not willing to do its part. The KYC nonsense,was brought about to exclude the lower classes from Banking halls. Just wait and see. Who has power connected to their premises? ( The middleclass have power in the name of their Landlords if any ) Are the banks saying that only those connected to power or water can access banking? If you want to know where I live, I can draw you a map ( because the area chief has no clue what his job is apart from bursting changaa dens). The KPLC/Water bill is just a hallucination that any KYC has been done. I commend Dr Mwangi for taking it head on.We need new minds to manage banking!Minds that believe in inclusion not exclusivity. According to me, there is no difference between having an M Pesa account and a Bank account. So why I'm I not asked for a KPLC/Water bill to Join M Pesa/ ZAP? I Think Therefore I Am
a) How many individual PIN numbers are there in Kenya? b) How many 'unique' personal bank accounts does Equity have? I believe b > a thus opening banking to many more people... As some said... kwani, isn't the ID a unique document? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
There must be something otherwise they'd not be asking for your PIN. My guess is they are checking up on us. Imagine if they got hold of information like your tax returns and major assets - properties, vehicles etc. they will be able to easily come up with tailor made 'solutions' (read loans) that you'll find hard to say no to. BBI will solve it :)
@vitus - Just like I said, Your account was so active at one time to be classified as a savings account, since you were using it to bank cheques from your NSE trading on a regular basis. So your account HISTORY has made them request for your PIN cert to re-activate your account, which is just a formality not necessarily from CBK but from policies introduced by banks to to cover themselves against money laundering. I'm sure if you were to open another NEW savings account(just to save)they would not have asked for the same.
What do banks rely on to prove it is you they are transacting with? KYC.
Assume you are in fix and you need more cash than the ATM can provide urgently. Many are times people leave their IDs behind. A good bank will advice you to include any other forms of identification(DL,Passport)during account opening all for KYC purposes, just incase you leave one behind and you have to withdraw over the counter.You could be stranded.
Worst scenario - You loose both your ID and ATM(Yes, you will Block your ATM)but somehow they both find their way to River Road and the way you sign on your ID is the same way You sign In your account. OR A cheque you wrote(or a blank cheq) and misplaced and you forgot to stop it is presented for payment against your account.
If a fraudster were to present these in your absence, the bank has nothing to go by other than KYC. They will use the details you gave them to interview the fraudster. If your details are sketchy(or is just an ID) you can see the risk.
The information you give the bank is very important and CONFIDENTIAL especially if you transact heavily or you write cheques regularly.
Fraudters have become supersmart.They are even accessing credit(Loans) in other peoples names.
The small details that you take for granted can determine whether you will be hit or not.
KYC is useful to the bank as much it is useful to us as customers. Equity could be opening accounts using IDs only but I'm sure if you gave them more details they would gladly accept.
chaliwong wrote:@vitus - Just like I said, Your account was so active at one time to be classified as a savings account, since you were using it to bank cheques from your NSE trading on a regular basis. So your account HISTORY has made them request for your PIN cert to re-activate your account, which is just a formality not necessarily from CBK but from policies introduced by banks to to cover themselves against money laundering. I'm sure if you were to open another NEW savings account(just to save)they would not have asked for the same. Lakini this is HISTORY... I do not use it for much anyway... It is just a waste of time for me but I need to go in & close it... When I say dormant, I mean a few transactions a year... not zero transactions... Last time round, they convinced me to keep it open & now this... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
I would NOT be surprised if most of the 'private' information going to fraudsters comes from banks & brokers. They have copies of IDs, (now) PINs, full names, addresses, phone numbers, financial details, e-mails... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@Vitus - Could you be in the process of getting a Loan from I&M or you already have one?
Because that is where your HISTORY in a former bank also comes into play.
Those KYC requirements are crap.
Sample this: Stanchart - say you want to upgrade your normal diva/all-in-one account to excel or the X account.. they tell u to bring a photo again, and ID copy, and all those other things. Yet they already have your details... u want to open a savings account - same crap. NIC - You have an account there, even a credit card. You want to open another joint account, or say a dollar account, they tell u bring ID+passport+bill+new form.. Even worse, u decide to open a CDSC account using them, since you have a working relationship with them, they tell u same crap. Why do we give them those things in the first place, if they cant refer to them?
And that utility bill, hell if i just need an account, u want to know where i live, fine. I can move next month, and not update the bank. so how does it help? i always wonder what happens if i am living with my parents or my relatives, what "utility bill" do i provide?
Waste of time, and resources.. Dont i love Equity..
It helps because at one time you lived there which I dont think an imposter would know ten years down the line.
Its just a mater of time before equity starts implimenting the same once they hit the numbers they want. And remember with the numbers comes every Tom,Dick and Hurry some of whom want to reap where they never sowed.
After all, its the challenges in the market that make the banks impliment these policies,and Equity is a player in the same market, serving the same GOOD people and the same BAD people.
chaliwong wrote:@Vitus - Could you be in the process of getting a Loan from I&M or you already have one?
Because that is where your HISTORY in a former bank also comes into play. @chali - Nope, not looking for a loan either at any bank. CFC, I&M, NIC, no-one... And I think my relas know who I am...!!! No KYC needed there! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
Drama at Equity Bank