wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages«<2345>
Tetanus vaccine controversy
#61 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 2:43:50 PM

IMHO we are missing the point the minute we start side shows by questioning whether we need vaccines or not. Its simple really, we need vaccines and there is nothing wrong with asking our governments to be proactive in coming up with an environment and resources to be able to combat deadly diseases.
That said, the red flags are there.
During the early 1990s, the World Health Organization (WHO) had been overseeing massive vaccination campaigns against tetanus in a number of countries, among them Nicaragua, Mexico, and the Philippines. In October 1994, HLI received a communication from its Mexican affiliate, the Comite' Pro Vida de Mexico, regarding that country's anti-tetanus campaign. Suspicious of the campaign protocols, the Comite' obtained several vials of the vaccine and had them analyzed by chemists. Some of the vials were found to contain human chorionic gonadotrophin (hCG), a naturally occurring hormone essential for maintaining a pregnancy.

When the first reports surfaced in the Philippines of tetanus toxoid vaccine being laced with hCG hormones, the WHO and the Philippine Department of Health (DOH) immediately denied that the vaccine contained hCG. Confronted with the results of laboratory tests which detected its presence in three of the four vials of tetanus toxoid examined, the WHO and DOH scoffed at the evidence

By all means let everyone get vaccinated BUT there is nothing wrong with asking for transparency.

vky
#62 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 2:56:24 PM

neonatal tetanus is easily preventable, one only needs to ensure that the place where they will give birth is sterilized and the surgical tools used during birthing more so the ones doing any cutting are sterile and clean.
In some countries you will rarely hear of neonatal tetanus cases and its not because the women there were vaccinated but because of the highly hygienic birthing environment that eliminates neonatal tetanus infection risk.
the govt. would be better placed to ensure hygienic standards in maternal hospitals than peddling a disputed tetanus vaccine
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#63 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 3:02:20 PM

Nabwire wrote:
I have lived in the US for a very long time and I have never gotten a tetanus booster nor has any doctor prescribed it for me. About the contraceptive, I would have to ask her the name of it, it was a chip implanted into her arm and a friend who is a nurse said that that type of contraceptive was pulled by the FDA.Just the fact that the doctors and nurses were shocked should be a major red flag.

The implant is called "depo provera" hapa kenya.
#64 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 3:29:52 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Black people are almost out numbering Asians and you expect people to just sit? Something gotta give. Now all over sudden tetanus is an issue such that 15 - 16 year olds need to be vaccinated. If my memory serves me right we all got some tetanus injection when we were young. Sadly out doctors are in cahoots with this sheeple. Why is this vaccine only being administered in Africa? Nabwire are you getting it huko?

Nope, there is no such vaccine here! As far as I know the only vaccines administered are for children 0-5 years and then the flu vaccine which I never get! smile And I'm healthier than the average American.
Zile maajabu zinafanywa Africa, there was a lady who came over and after 5 years she was like there is this birth control patch that was INSERTED in her arm and she was meant to have it removed after 5 years. Anyways she goes to the hospital and the doctors and nurses are shocked, they had never seen anything like it. She had to be referred to a hospital that does surgery reason being that form of contraceptive is ILLEGAL in the US. She says that its usually given to women as birth control in Kenya Sad Africa is the testing grounds for so many medical devices and medications!

Mimi niliambiwa siwezi peana damu yangu kwa zile Blood drive, sikupimwa or any....tafakari hayo.

LOL Are you sure?! Si ungewasue smile Thats funny though.
Thanks Fikira I will check it out!

Haha,...nilishangaa nikaingia google then i came across some explanation that generally many blood banks do not take blood from people who spent most of their life outside USA. Ati in many developing countries like those from Africa, Central Asia South and east Asia, South America etc, (note hakuna EU) there are many common blood borne diseases which might become latent then they in turn end up transmitting diseases to others. Nikabaki nikishangaa dont they believe that the parasites die?

Anyway pia mimi flu shot wacha ikae, hio ni consumerism taken beyond

LMAO, Imagine ingekuwa saa hii, hosi ingewekwa on emergency alert coz wewe na hiyo damu yako kutoka Africa....LOL. But ulikuwa unapatiana damu kwa nini? I should try nione wataniambia nini

Na venye Africa saa hii = "Ebowler" Ata sikuwa nataka kupeana damu, wale nilikuwa nao ndio walikuwa na hio raha ya kudonate so mmoja akauliza swali then i was handed the bombshell. Anyway, that was my redemption though i dint have to make up an excuse.

LOL You should have seen how people in my class were freaking out. Halafu huyo fala hapo juu anadhani just because amekuwa Uncle Tom, somehow ako part of the club. Hawa ndio hiyo type ya kukuja kubrag Kenya vile wanaishi ngambo when the reality ni a Devry diploma only gets you data entry in non descript firms, which basically means hustling 2 jobs. Ukiona mtu anakiss behinds sana, jua hakuna degree ya maana hapo. Anyways back to the thread, siwezi dungwa shot, end of story smile

Tru dat. Bado nashangaa kwanini sisi waafrika huwa tunaona mzungu tu ndio anaweza kuwa na solution. Angalia hii clip ya Dr Oz

Masukuma, do u believe those numbers? In our last census in 2009 we had such a controversy over the numbers we Kenyans who are deemed to be more educated, sumbuse elsewhere where illiteracy prevails? Do you indeed believe that us - who are of the belief that if we count our children, they will die? Africans die more of hunger and tropical diseases like Malaria than of dirty wounds. A vaccine cant stop hunger

As for doctors and pharmacists in Kenya, Where are your solutions? Where is your ingenuity? Why is it that it has to be Gates coming to the rescue with his bags of medicine and money?
Muriel
#65 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 3:35:41 PM

Ubaya wa waafrika is trying to do 3 things at the same time.. Make it, Master it and Mattering!

We want to someone within us to Make some vaccine, to master the making of vaccine with the end goal not being to treat diseases but rather to be seen as 'people'. Kusema ukweli - people really don't care about these diseases... until Ebola knocks your door then you start asking stupid questions like....
Why didn't some african come up with the vaccine? not that the vaccine from the west is any 'badder' but rather because we want to be seen as 'people' too. Once we have a vaccine for disease that kill us left right and center we shall cry.... why are they giving us these vaccines? they want to reduce our numbers NEWS FLASH DISEASES ARE REDUCING YOUR NUMBERS....YOU NUMBSKULLS! Some fellow will get vaccines for Malaria soon and we shall hear all this nonsense yet again... why? it's because we really don't care about the 32k children who are shipped to the hereafter everyday... it's because we WANT TO BE SEEN AS PEOPLE TOO!

Liar, liar! Pants on fire!

(Thank your Hamburglar for this poetic atheistic expression)

Humour me over Kenya population figures.

1990 - ?
2000 - ?
2010 - ?

If there is a decrease I am the liar (in all caps).
Fikira
#66 Posted : Friday, November 14, 2014 5:26:32 PM

Depo provera is NOT an implant. It's an injection that's given in three month intervals.

Some info on different birth control methods since people are a bit confused.

Nabwire
#67 Posted : Saturday, November 15, 2014 1:02:16 AM

Fikira wrote:

Depo provera is NOT an implant. It's an injection that's given in three month intervals.

Fikira I think in Kenya the implant is called Depo provera coz thats what that lady called it too.
#68 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2014 2:25:43 PM

Rollout wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Rollout wrote:
Fikira wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Black people are almost out numbering Asians and you expect people to just sit? Something gotta give. Now all over sudden tetanus is an issue such that 15 - 16 year olds need to be vaccinated. If my memory serves me right we all got some tetanus injection when we were young. Sadly out doctors are in cahoots with this sheeple. Why is this vaccine only being administered in Africa? Nabwire are you getting it huko?

Nope, there is no such vaccine here! As far as I know the only vaccines administered are for children 0-5 years and then the flu vaccine which I never get! smile And I'm healthier than the average American.
Zile maajabu zinafanywa Africa, there was a lady who came over and after 5 years she was like there is this birth control patch that was INSERTED in her arm and she was meant to have it removed after 5 years. Anyways she goes to the hospital and the doctors and nurses are shocked, they had never seen anything like it. She had to be referred to a hospital that does surgery reason being that form of contraceptive is ILLEGAL in the US. She says that its usually given to women as birth control in Kenya Sad Africa is the testing grounds for so many medical devices and medications!

This CDC table shows recommended immunization for adults by age. You'll notice that they recommend Tetanus booster shot every 10yrs (The vaccine exists they just don't say its for women only).
http://www.cdc.gov/vacci...-schedule-easy-read.pdf

Are you referring to Implanon? There is now a new version that can be located via x-ray so its easy to locate when you need to remove it. It is NOT illegal in the US and in fact is commonly used in Europe and Australia too. Like other forms of birth control it does come with side effects so it's up to you to decide what you want to put into your body.

@Fikira, I think you're sober on this and on point.

@ Nabwire, I think it's irresponsible to make wild claims about Africa being testing grounds for biotech if you indeed understand clinical phases of biotech and biotech markets in general.

First. Most drugs in pipeline are not meant for emerging markets therefore testing it in Africa won't lead to commercialization. Infact the problem being solved for within biotech industry is not prevalent in Africa.

Second. For a device like eSVS Mesh to be insert to a patient for trial, you need a reowned doctors, patient and a state of art facility, it's hard to find all that in most African and developing countries, thats why you find most bio tech companies doing Clinical trials in Europe and Australia. The data is available.

Thirdly. The notion that biotech companies/countries come to Africa to administer drugs as a testing ground is very much inacurate and is mainly repeated by people with no knowledge of the matter.
I have followed pharmaceutical and biotech for a couple of year and I have never come a cross a clinical trial done in an African country.

Yes there are fake brand drugs, we all know that but most of them come from shady named company in China or India and yes the sell them in Africa and thats a different matter all together.

Just a quick question, do you think anyone would admit to testing vaccines or carrying out eugenics in Africa if indeed they were doing it?
So just because you have not come across any clinical trials in Africa, we should take your word for it?
Yes only India and China are out to finish us with fake drugs, not the loveable Americans and Europeans.

Did you know that the mighty US has laws that allow eugenics on its own citizens without their knowledge and consent? This has been practiced on the mentally ill, poor people, people deemed not very smart, criminals etc..

Wachana na huyu, the most brainwashed negro I have ever come across. Just ignore and move on, I'm sure he has never heard of the Tuskegee Airmen who were purposely injected with the Syphillis virus, sembuse Mwafrika!

Lol! Tuskegee Airmen thing thought to have happenned 70yrs ago! Haha! Very small brain!

@Nabwire... you're just mad because I never gave you some money to invest when you ask me sometime back, I didn't give you any money because I knew you were dumb; if you went to a community college in US, it's like going to village polytechnic in Kenya, not worth anyone's time!

how do I connect this with the subject at hand coz I got lost right in the middle of community college?
#69 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2014 3:09:48 PM

And i found this.... probably the catholic hasn't gone crazy....

"[i]According to Brian Clowes of Human Life International, the United Nations is not refuting the laboratory testing and confirmation of HCG in the vaccines. Instead, it claims some vaccines were "contaminated" in the manufacturing process -- an absurd claim that no reasonable person would believe because HCG should never even be anywhere near a vaccine manufacturing operation unless someone put it there deliberately.

Learn more: http://www.naturalnews.c...ide.html##ixzz3JKKTLacy[/i]"

Fikira
#70 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2014 5:47:33 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Fikira wrote:

Fikira I think in Kenya the implant is called Depo provera coz thats what that lady called it too.

That doesn't make any sense ... giving the same brand name to two different medications could cause havoc! Here is contraceptive info from an org that offers services in Kenya. You'll notice they have Depo provera in the injectibles section.
http://www.mariestopes.or.ke/contraceptives
Rollout
#71 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2014 6:45:16 PM

Rollout wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Rollout wrote:
Fikira wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

This CDC table shows recommended immunization for adults by age. You'll notice that they recommend Tetanus booster shot every 10yrs (The vaccine exists they just don't say its for women only).
http://www.cdc.gov/vacci...-schedule-easy-read.pdf

Are you referring to Implanon? There is now a new version that can be located via x-ray so its easy to locate when you need to remove it. It is NOT illegal in the US and in fact is commonly used in Europe and Australia too. Like other forms of birth control it does come with side effects so it's up to you to decide what you want to put into your body.

@Fikira, I think you're sober on this and on point.

@ Nabwire, I think it's irresponsible to make wild claims about Africa being testing grounds for biotech if you indeed understand clinical phases of biotech and biotech markets in general.

First. Most drugs in pipeline are not meant for emerging markets therefore testing it in Africa won't lead to commercialization. Infact the problem being solved for within biotech industry is not prevalent in Africa.

Second. For a device like eSVS Mesh to be insert to a patient for trial, you need a reowned doctors, patient and a state of art facility, it's hard to find all that in most African and developing countries, thats why you find most bio tech companies doing Clinical trials in Europe and Australia. The data is available.

Thirdly. The notion that biotech companies/countries come to Africa to administer drugs as a testing ground is very much inacurate and is mainly repeated by people with no knowledge of the matter.
I have followed pharmaceutical and biotech for a couple of year and I have never come a cross a clinical trial done in an African country.

Yes there are fake brand drugs, we all know that but most of them come from shady named company in China or India and yes the sell them in Africa and thats a different matter all together.

Just a quick question, do you think anyone would admit to testing vaccines or carrying out eugenics in Africa if indeed they were doing it?
So just because you have not come across any clinical trials in Africa, we should take your word for it?
Yes only India and China are out to finish us with fake drugs, not the loveable Americans and Europeans.

Did you know that the mighty US has laws that allow eugenics on its own citizens without their knowledge and consent? This has been practiced on the mentally ill, poor people, people deemed not very smart, criminals etc..

Wachana na huyu, the most brainwashed negro I have ever come across. Just ignore and move on, I'm sure he has never heard of the Tuskegee Airmen who were purposely injected with the Syphillis virus, sembuse Mwafrika!

Lol! Tuskegee Airmen thing thought to have happenned 70yrs ago! Haha! Very small brain!

@Nabwire... you're just mad because I never gave you some money to invest when you ask me sometime back, I didn't give you any money because I knew you were dumb; if you went to a community college in US, it's like going to village polytechnic in Kenya, not worth anyone's time!

how do I connect this with the subject at hand coz I got lost right in the middle of community college?

@ Wendz
Welcome back, I haven't seen you in wazua for over a year. Again if you don't remember me, this is Drunkard 10k Rollout. To answer your question, the above comment has not connection with the subject but I had a big fight with Nabwire, she called me every name I can think of so gloves were off. Nabwire has this narrow mind about everything but apparently she thinks everyone but her somehow have narrow mind.

Sorry Nabwire, I don't wanna start a fight with you again, just saying.

Wendz, welcome back again, I truely miss your sober mind!
Rollout
#72 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2014 6:54:44 PM

Fikira wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Fikira wrote:
[quote=jaggernaut]

That doesn't make any sense ... giving the same brand name to two different medications could cause havoc! Here is contraceptive info from an org that offers services in Kenya. You'll notice they have Depo provera in the injectibles section.
http://www.mariestopes.or.ke/contraceptives[/quote]

@ Fikira

You cannot squeeze sense to Nabwire, you can give her a full well documented Journal of Medicine and she will still disagree and point at shadows.

In her mind, some white men in some western country are sitting in boardroom right now strategizing on how to sterilize africa.

The story about someone with Depo inplants do not make sense because it's not true, it's a made up story to convience people who don't have knowledge about the issue.

Rollout
#73 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2014 7:07:02 PM

Before we even think about someone strategizing on how to sterilize africa, first think about what the benefit that would be for the said sterilizer!

Economically population growth is good because you're looking at growth in consumer base, you're also looking at growth in human capital, so why would anyone want reduction in population?

If any, a whitemen would benefit more if Africa population double because they'll be looking at China-like market in the next couple of years.
#74 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2014 12:53:05 PM

Doctors want the Tetanus Jab halted
Muriel
#75 Posted : Thursday, November 20, 2014 1:20:29 PM

Rollout wrote:
Before we even think about someone strategizing on how to sterilize africa, first think about what the benefit that would be for the said sterilizer!

Economically population growth is good because you're looking at growth in consumer base, you're also looking at growth in human capital, so why would anyone want reduction in population?

If any, a whitemen would benefit more if Africa population double because they'll be looking at China-like market in the next couple of years.

Rapidly growing populations are always thought of as vermin. Its just human nature to.
chepkel
#76 Posted : Wednesday, November 26, 2014 3:04:53 AM

Muriel wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Interesting, I have no problem being vaccinated. But when I learn that the vaccines are laced with contraceptives which make you temporarily infertile, and then learn that the same drive was sponsored in 1995 but was pulled because government officials demanded transparency, then learn that the vaccine is only given to women, to be specific women of child bearing age, I would be a fool to line up and get my shot.

Yes.

Its good to ask questions no doubt. Things must be transparent.

Kenya has a huge problem of child delivery. Many women die or get infected when giving birth. This is because health facilities are far away or ill equipped thus many women give birth at home, on the road side or in a very dingy health center.

The instruments used during child birth, if not properly handled, can infect a mother with Tetanus. When a woman is pregnant she must take a Tetanus shot before her due date when she attends her clinic sessions. I was given one too while pregnant (I am still fertile by the way smile ).

Unfortunately, in this country, (and by that I mean Kenya...lest our brothers and sisters in the diaspora get confused...) many women do not go for those clinic sessions. They just tafuta a mid-wife or a dispensary on the final day.

So, in this scenario, Tetanus is a threat to women and their unborn children. The reason why the Tetanus vaccine is being given to the women of child bearing age is because they are the ones who are most at risk without even knowing it. Of course if you are cut by a mabati or seng'enge you will go for a Tetanus shot but it is the last thing you will think about when you get pregnant, sio??

No, such a campaign cannot be done in America or any other dveloped country because healthcare there is top notch, at least as compared to Kenya.

I am not saying that am sure there is nothing fishy about the Vaccine neither am saying that there is something wrong with it. But I understand why it is being given to women of child bearing age. I mean lets face it..how many 14-15 year old girls are having babies nowadays??!!

My very long 2 cents
Muriel
#77 Posted : Wednesday, November 26, 2014 9:51:36 AM

chepkel wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Interesting, I have no problem being vaccinated. But when I learn that the vaccines are laced with contraceptives which make you temporarily infertile, and then learn that the same drive was sponsored in 1995 but was pulled because government officials demanded transparency, then learn that the vaccine is only given to women, to be specific women of child bearing age, I would be a fool to line up and get my shot.

Yes.

Its good to ask questions no doubt. Things must be transparent.

Kenya has a huge problem of child delivery. Many women die or get infected when giving birth. This is because health facilities are far away or ill equipped thus many women give birth at home, on the road side or in a very dingy health center.

The instruments used during child birth, if not properly handled, can infect a mother with Tetanus. When a woman is pregnant she must take a Tetanus shot before her due date when she attends her clinic sessions. I was given one too while pregnant (I am still fertile by the way smile ).

Unfortunately, in this country, (and by that I mean Kenya...lest our brothers and sisters in the diaspora get confused...) many women do not go for those clinic sessions. They just tafuta a mid-wife or a dispensary on the final day.

So, in this scenario, Tetanus is a threat to women and their unborn children. The reason why the Tetanus vaccine is being given to the women of child bearing age is because they are the ones who are most at risk without even knowing it. Of course if you are cut by a mabati or seng'enge you will go for a Tetanus shot but it is the last thing you will think about when you get pregnant, sio??

No, such a campaign cannot be done in America or any other dveloped country because healthcare there is top notch, at least as compared to Kenya.

I am not saying that am sure there is nothing fishy about the Vaccine neither am saying that there is something wrong with it. But I understand why it is being given to women of child bearing age. I mean lets face it..how many 14-15 year old girls are having babies nowadays??!!

My very long 2 cents

Yes, sister.

It is true that the ordinary folk prefer 'traditional birth attendants' to conventional pre and ante natal facilities. Many varied reasons are given such as cruel nurses and midwives.

Anyway, rather than opt for turn-key approaches, it would be a far much better option to have these traditional birth attendants much more aware of these things.

Rather than wait for salvation from abroad in vials, redemption can be worked out here by us on our own.
D32
#78 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 7:01:14 AM

Busted!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/14b27xk/-/index.html
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
chemirocha
#79 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 7:22:10 AM

[quote=D32]Busted!

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/14b27xk/-/index.html[/quote]

Lazy irresponsible journalism. What the anti-vaccination nut jobs run wild with this one.

Is the issue at hand the lab results or the contract dispute?
#80 Posted : Friday, May 27, 2016 9:23:35 AM

The "they are out to get us" mob will really run with this one.